We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay in KL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #3 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to stay in KL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location of this hotel is ideal. It is next to KLCC and the Peronas towers.
The night life is a 5 minute walk

KLCC is a very high end mall where the world is at your fingers

Tours of the Petronas Towers are fun albeit a bit short
I like the place and rec it

Room Tip: get a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Neil S

Thank you for staying with us at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to receive your positive comments about the hotel and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,258
    887
    220
    80
    48
See reviews for
882
1,693
251
1,037
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staying in MOKUL is a pleasant experience where the hotel gives a calm, warm and cozy room. Their breakfast is amazing and I never forgets the smile from the receptionist upon checkin. Their staff is excellent and the checkout process is as smooth as butter. I will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Take room further away from guest lift - less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melzphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear melzphoto

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note that you had a memorable stay experience with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. We arrived early and were treated to breakfast while we waited for our room to be ready. Our room had a stunning view of the towers. The room was large and the bed was amazing. Our toddler had plenty of room to run around while we were in the room. The staff were extremely polite, in particular the team at the entrance. They always remembered our baby's name and had plenty of advice on where to visit during our limited stay. Location was perfect for shopping! Right next door to KLCC and a walk or short cab to Pavillion and other malls.

Breakfast was amazing! We looked forward to it each morning... So much to choose from.

I can't wait to return, loved our time at MO and loved KL.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny_sandy_seashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sunny_sandy_seashore

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note that you had a pleasant experience with us. Your positive observations will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at Mandarin Oriental KL to celebrate my wife's birthday.
Somewhat to my surprise, shortly after we checked in the desk staff called to ask if it was convenient for them to bring up a birthday cake. It was a very nice gesture, totally unrequested (perhaps I should have.... but I didn't). After blowing out candles, they sent the cake to the pool deck, and we were able to enjoy with a relaxing drink.
A super start to a very enjoyable stay. Comfortable, relaxing - and just what we wanted.
I just wish I had more reason to stay at the Mandarin Oriental KL - since I live only a few KM from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJAML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear PJAML

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note that you had a memorable experience with us. Your feedback will certainly motivate our colleagues further especially our colleagues from Guest Recognition.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumper
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The mandarin oriental is a lovely calm and tranquil hotel. The lobby is beautiful and the doormen are very nice as they greeted my family and I in. We ate in the lobby and the food was nice. Although what really made the night was the band. Their guitar solos were beautiful and I really enjoyed them. However the hotel is quite expensive and the staff were a bit slow on brining the food and taking our orders. Other than that the mandarin oriental was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidg44421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear davidg44421

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note on your comments about the promptness of service. We have highlighted this matter to our Director of Food & Beverage and that rebriefing has been initiated to ensure that there are no recurrences in the future.

Thank you for your kind praise. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The location of the M.O. is great - by the KLCC shopping centre, the park and the Petronas Towers.

But the hotel is looked quite tired now internally and a bit grubby externally. The lobby areas were being redecorated, but they will always basically be a big daylight-free corridor due to the design of the hotel.

The guest rooms also really do need refurbishing with stained carpets and dated furniture but the beds are comfortable and the rooms are a good size.

They hotel refused to honour their own scheme (BA Executive Club Silver Satus room upgrade) despite having the next tier available (a club floor room) although this 'rule' is not published anywhere. The wifi is expensive. And breakfast (also expensive) on the ground floor is crowded and frenetic - not a relaxing start to the day.

The poolside service was good but elsewhere this is not any more a model of 5* service and welcome. I think the hotel may be resting on its laurels (or it's location).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear LondonTravel1

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

We have taken note on your comments about the room. Please allow us to share that we have plans for a complete renovation of all our guestrooms and that the new design will complement the needs of discerning travelers such as you. Further, we are also in the midst of upgrading the hotel’s exterior façade and this is estimated to complete by end of 2014.

With regards to the scheme, our apologies for the inconvenience caused. Please allow us to share that the room upgrade is subject to availability. It was unfortunate that the hotel was running on high occupancy during your stay which resulted in us not being able to extend the privilege to you.

Further, in reference to provision of complimentary WiFi service, we would like to share that due to the high cost of quality bandwidth in Kuala Lumpur, most hotels charge for WiFi accordingly. Guests who choose to stay on our Club Floors do receive complimentary internet access. On this note, our hotel provides by far, the highest level of bandwidth in the city and once logged in you may use up to 6 devices on your account. In addition, you will be pleased to know that Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group has recently launched an initiative in regard to WiFi costs whereby effective 14 October 2013, all bookings made via our website are inclusive of free WiFi for all the various packages available on our website.

We hope that we will be given another chance to be of service to you, next time for a better experience.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

First trip to Kuala Lumpur & the Mandarin Oriental set the bar rather high in terms of places to stay. From front desk through to elevator assistants, everything was run smoothly & with a genuinely welcoming demeanour & an good eye for detail. Good layout of the room, clean, tidy & quiet, with a large comfortable bed & spacious bathroom. Internet access is good, although television could have better variety, but this has more to do with respecting cultural norms than anything else. Breakfast is a feast here but I also used Room Service on a number of occasions and received prompt attention from the manager when an order was mixed-up. I checked out at lunch time & was able to use the well equipped spa to both rest & freshen up before my evening flight. My room was on the 22 floor overlooking the pool, KLCC & the adjacent park- great for times when you may experience 'cabin fever' as I tend to do. There are swanky bars in the hotel (MO bar) & in the locality (Marini's on 57) to sample. Excellent shopping to suit all budgets is literally a stone throw away. The only thing I'd change next time is to have a room facing the magnificent Petronas Twin Towers. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PANbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear PANbi

Thank you for choosing to stay with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note on your comments about having more TV channels to accommodate the different cultures of our guests. We will include your comments into our next in-room entertainment review to affect any needed enhancements.

We are happy to receive your glowing praise and trust that it will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#1 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing