We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Nearby Hotels
$146
$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$103
$91
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$171
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$154
$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Furama Bukit Bintang(Kuala Lumpur)(Great Value!)
$83
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunway Putra Hotel(Kuala Lumpur)(Great Value!)
$64
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,349)
Filter reviews
5,349 results
Traveler rating
3,959
992
242
92
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,959
992
242
92
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetronas towersmosaic restaurantthe club loungeklcc parkpark viewinfinity poolour honeymoonchinese restaurantluxury hotelwonderful hotelshopping mallbuffet breakfastbukit bintangmosaicsmoklheenkeiko
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,047 - 3,052 of 5,349 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Have been to KL many times but this is the first time my husband and I stayed at the Mandarin. Booked the club floor and must say that this is one of the, if not the best executive floors we've been to. The service was fantastic --- friendly, warm, highly efficient --- certainly exceeded expectations. And the food, what can we say, the quality and the choice available was just impressive. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boop2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear boop2008

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your kind praise. They will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

It is very rare to have a good five star hotel in top location, but Mandarin Oriental KL proved that it is possible. Lobby is vast with double circular stairs with back door taking you to the KLCC park. Room is decorated nicely of the style popular 6-7 years ago- they don't go to the recent minimalistic style. There is always a fresh fruit on the plate. Bathroom is always generously provided with toiletries in both shower and bath tub. Water-bottles are provided twice a day - you don't have to call House-keeping for extras like in some other hotels. The Gym at the 3rd Fl is rather big- imagine doing sit up on the ball with PETRONAS Towers as your view ! Swimming pool, Spa and café are next to the Gym. Pool is not that big but it is beautiful with infinity look. Hotel has several excellent restaurants with Mosaic which is wonderfully decorated- serving good buffet breakfast with variety of dishes. I would recommend to try the national dish : Nasi Lemak : they serve good tasty rendang, papery crispy anchovy that not many local outlets can outdo.There are a Japanese, Chinese , Egg stations- unfortunately Mandarin Oriental( unlike her cousin : Excelsior HongKong) does not have fresh fruit juice maker counter instead you shall find five colourful jars of juice fresh from the boxes. Also unfortunately tea are served from either red or orange container and it is luke warm. Service is good and efficient. If you prefer to have breakfast outside; there are plenty of choices : exactly next to the hotel there are Starbuck Coffee which opens at 7 am, huge DOME restaurants next to Starbuck and the entrance to SURIA MALL. Downstairs there is Cold Storage with its limited sweet pastry- but with a good counter of fresh fruit juices 7-11 Malaysian Ringgit a cup! Upstairs there is a food court with selection of local delights and on 45th floor there are several restaurants serving lunch and dinner. I would recommend the well known Madam Kwan with average 15 Ringgit per plate. ' The Apartment ' next to an Irish pub serve wonderful choices of dishes- a relaxing atmosphere in door & out door with view of the amazing Symphony water fountain choreographed attractively even better than Bellagio's.
Attractions such as PETRONAS Twin Towers, with its Sky bridge & 86th Observation Deck , Philharmonic, Petrosains are all next door to the Hotel. Public Transport- from basement of the Mall there is a red line train station that can take you to Gombak M$2.10/ person then take a taxi M$10 to Batu Cave. ( Hotel taxi M$ 80 per hour - it is NOT worth $240 or $320 to Batu Cave ).
AQUARIA ( aquarium similar to the Sydney one with local tropical fish ) from underground Suria Mall/KLCC - or from the back door Htl straight along the Convention Hall- 5 min. walk ! Further up- along the aircond walkway for 10 minutes- you ll end up at Bukit Bintang with its colourful night life: pass the H&M corner with snake men- cross the main road pass some stores- go to Ceylon Rd with rows of restaurants and bars.
We found Mandarin Oriental has a high standard of service although on our last night stay we had next door at 1525 and 1522 ( we were at 1524 ) booked by the daughter of an MP who was having a big party at hotel. 15th Fl is a Non Smoking Floor- but the MP's daughter entourage were smoking and left doors open resulting smokes permeated into our room. It took two complaints to get the management to finally put air cleaning gadget on the floor near our door. It was rowdy between 1-2 am. I guess even a five star hotel will have trouble with MP's daughter's entourage ?We just hope hotel takes note that we are also paying guests and we have been returning not once not twice to Mandarin Oriental. All in all I would recommend Mandarin Oriental for its great location and service.

Room Tip: We have enjoyed the corner room- facing the symphony fountain and park provided you don't end up getting a rowdy neighbour- with connecting door - it could get noisy. Some rooms have PETRONAS Twin Tower View.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank budgy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear budgy26

Thank you for staying with us.

We are delighted to receive your great feedback and useful information for other visitors to the area.

We have taken note on your comments about the disturbance encountered and we apologize for the inconvenience. Please allow us to share that we treat all guests equally however, we will highlight this matter to our managers in charge to ensure that there are no similar occurrences in the future.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013 and came back before my return to the UK. I love the Mandarin Oriental Hotels and KL is no exception. The SPA treatments are divine and I had to make a second visit :-)

Located right in the centre of KL you can roll straight out of the hotel into the malls and attraction of KLCC.

The concierge were fantastic with my random treasure hunts for tea pots and bells. I managed to find everything with their help.

The restaurants in the hotel are amazing and offer great selection, quality and I can still taste the steak from the grill restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the towers are the best for views and shower water pressure.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SROBINSONUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear SROBINSONUK

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note of your glowing praise and they will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We LOVED staying here - everything was so elegant. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were particularly lovely to my daughter. The food was delicious the one time we ate there but overall we had a wonderful stay. The highlight was the fabulous infinity pool especially in the evening. I don't know if it is true but a taxi driver told us President Obama had stayed there when he visited the city. If so, I would imagine he would have been impressed as us!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PitawayirpurseJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear PitawayirpurseJean

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to note of your positive observations and agree with you on the wonderful pool area, as we receive many compliments about it.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Overall an average experience due to unpleasant experience with the door man and conceirge, they are proud and unfriendly.

Hotel rooms are a bit tired compared to our last stay here 3 years ago.

Rooms service still good in terms of food quality but the waited for 55 mins before food arrived.

I would recommend Shangri-la and Traders.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Datin Gin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Datin Gin H

Thank you for choosing to stay with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note on your comments about some of our colleagues who did not deliver the ‘wow-factor’. We have highlighted the matter to our Front Office Manager and re-briefing has been initiated to avoid any similar occurrences in the near future.

Further, we have addressed the room service delivery speed to our Director of Food & Beverage and re-training on our normally high standards is taking place.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future next time, for a better experience to restore your confidence in our hotel.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews