We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but no free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Mandarin Oriental is perfectly located for a visit to the Petronas Towers and adjoining park.
BUT the lack of free wifi is an insult with room rates like this.
The spa offering was average, but my hot stone massage was the best i'd had for years.
Overal though, i wish i'd stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear D W

Thank you for staying at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note on your comments on the provision of complimentary WiFi service. Due to the high cost of quality bandwidth in Kuala Lumpur most hotels charge for WiFi accordingly. We have recently completed a survey of the 8 top rated Luxury hotels in the city and 7 out of 8 charge for in-room internet access for regular room accommodation. Guests who choose to stay on our Club Floors do receive complimentary internet access. I am pleased to share that on this note, our hotel provides by far, the highest level of bandwidth in the city and once logged in you may use up to 6 devices on your account. We will continue to review our pricing policy on a routine basis as part of our benchmarking analysis to ensure we are in keeping with the market situation.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed your hot stone massage and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,730 - 2,736 of 4,946 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We'we been very dissapointed by this hotel. We have booked to city view rooms, but under check in we'we been "upgrated" to the pool view rooms. Even the great location just next door to Petronas doesn't weight poorness of the rooms. They were old fashioned and we didn't enjoy them. We could see straight inn to other rooms as well as others could do the same, we had to close curtains and it was not so fun at all.
We never got informed about lught&water shows in the garden and other small advantages that as a guest at this hotel would appreciate. "Upgrading" of our room does work like "downgrading" for us.
The good things about hotel: good restaurants, best location in KL.
Bad things: rooms, service.
There are lots of hotels placed near to Petronas, I would choose another one on my next trip.
Sorry, but I can not recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JurgaJurgita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear JurgaJurgita

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note on your comments about the room and service. You will be pleased to note that we have plans for a complete renovation of all our guestrooms and that the new design will complement the needs of discerning travelers such as you.

Further, we have re-briefed our colleagues on the importance of extending the renowned Mandarin Oriental service to all our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future, next time for a better experience.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We went there on our honeymoon after we escaped from Kuantan The Legend Hotel, it was heaven after that hotel for us specially in our honeymoon! The hotel is quite old but really well maintained. the room was nice with amazing view of the park. The hotel is really walking distance to a lot of the main attractions in KL. also we used to take the magic bus from the hotel so it was very convincement. The pool of the hotel is infinite pool, nice and also the have Jacuzzi outside. We tried the breakfast and it was one of the best, allot of options.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sima_Droubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Sima_Droubi

Thank you for choosing to stay with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note of your positive observations and they will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

It was quite an experience knowing the Mandarin group, typical 5 star as we know it but the thing is, the hotel is next to a shopping mall(Suria KLCC), so it's a plus factor for the Hotel for we had a great time shopping for cheaper Louis Vuittons, well at least, for a few cents compared to the Singapore LV stores, plus the amenities are truly 5 star, restaurants are fabulous, pool is great though small, but overall, it was good.

Room Tip: choose the rooms that are facing the twin towers for a breath-taking view, it's a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm222_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear jm222_12

Thank you for your kind praise. They will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again should your travel brings you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

During the Xmas holidays we returned to Mandarin for the 3rd time. This time I was unfortunate to become ill and be admitted to hospital. The care from the Mandarin was extraordinary!! Their visiting doctor was professional and assisted in our admittance. Management rang my husband regurally asking for updates on my progress. Upon returning from hospital they provided a staff member to be with me so my husband and young daughter could get some time away from the hotel. Complimentry breakfast and xmas dinner free of charge was offered. Fruit baskets and afternoon tea daily delivered. Management instructed kitchen staff of my very strict diet after I was discharged and were over and above in accomodating us. Thankyou to the staff at the Mandarin oriental you made our stay as enjoyable as it could be under difficult circumstances

Room Tip: Instead of paying extra for a standard room with view of KL tower upgrade to suite instead. Views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear sace1

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note your glowing praise and it will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to Kuala Lumpur, next time for an illness-free stay we hope!

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is my second time stay at this state of the art hotel with the astonishing customer services experience. Suprisingly the world class services hotel available in Kuala Lumpur. Compare with my experience staying at other hotels in KL this hotel always giving you a new and fresh customer experience while staying.

The customer experience continuesly at the excellent level which impress me al the way. Keep up the good work!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank visitoradvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear visitoradvise

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to note of your glowing praise and they will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A true 5 star hotel, compare to hotels in the area. Close to Suria KLCC. One of the favourite hotel, quite difficult to get the room if there is event in the KLCC. Very recommended to tourist as well as businessman.
Great place to stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank AndreNjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear AndreNjoo

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note of your positive observations and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
9,968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
7,231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
869 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $158 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing