We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I spent 2 night during the month of august at Mandarin Oriental.. I have just good things to say about this hotel: great customer service, wonderful architecture, amazing rooms with a breathtaking view of downtown KL and the best position next to the Petronas. Go there with no doubts! ;)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SerenaPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear SerenaPh

Thank you for staying at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us in 2012. Your comments especially on our customer service will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,978 - 2,984 of 5,154 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was my tenth stay.it is great so close to KLCC.there is great service, excellent breakfasts. We had a wonderful afternoon tea. The service is finely and helpful.
I felt having to pay extra for WiFi lets it down. It is now provided free in most hotels

Room Tip: Go high and at the back overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthamptonStarlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear SouthhamptonStarlight

Thank you for staying at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note of your comments on the provision of complimentary WiFi service. Due to the high cost of quality bandwidth in Kuala Lumpur most hotels charge for WiFi accordingly. We have recently completed a survey of the 8 top rated Luxury hotels in the city and 7 out of 8 charges for in-room internet access for regular room accommodation. Guests who choose to stay on our Club Floors do receive complimentary internet access. I am pleased to share that on this note, our hotel provides by far, the highest level of bandwidth in the city and once logged in you may use up to 6 devices on your account. We will continue to review our pricing policy on a routine basis as part of our benchmarking analysis to ensure we are in keeping with the market situation.

Thank you for your kind praise about our service, breakfast and afternoon tea and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked the romance package which is fantastic value for money. As well as a room upgrade, welcome champagne or sparkling juice, butler drawn bath, complimentary fruit and macaroons, the package also came with breakfast and dinner at the Mandarin Grill.

Let’s start with the negatives

Received a call asking which night we preferred dinner, opted for Friday then following day whilst on route to airport we get an email to say that there is a private function so we will have to dine on Saturday. Having made plans for dinner with friends on Saturday night we had to change everything which resulted in not meeting our friends, which was part of the reason for being in KL. At check in we advised the staff of this and the manger wrote a letter of apology and sent us some free shoe protectors. The gesture was appreciated.
Breakfast is good but having ordered tea and coffee, we waited 15 minutes, reminded the staff again, it arrives missing tea spoons so go looking for spoons and by the time you get to drink it, it’s cold. Seems that there is insufficient staff at breakfast as this was a daily occurrence and hot drinks are only ever luke warm.

Now for the positives.

Fantastic modern rooms which are clean, spacious and great views on the twin towers. The beds are comfortable and the toiletries are of a good quality. Staff are polite and professional. Good selection of food at breakfast and the Mandarin Grill has a great menu with attentive staff. Being vegetarian they offered a very good alternative menu given that the Grill is a meat eaters paradise. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, why would you stay anywhere else? We will be returning soon and where possible the Mandarin has become my hotel of choice when on business.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear tinys

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note on your comments about your dinner reservation and less than pleasant breakfast experience. We have addressed the matter with our Director of Food & Beverage and re-training has been initiated to ensure that there are no similar occurrences in the near future.

We are delighted to note of your positive observations and they will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to Kuala Lumpur.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fantastic hotel in the heart of Kuala Lumpur

Pros

Honeymoon Benefits:
- Room was upgraded to a deluxe park room
- Complimentary roses on arrival

Best location for a hotel, in the heart of Kuala Lumpur. Literally next door to the Suria KLCC Mall.

Generally, our room was excellent, as it was spacious and had nice furniture in it.

The room had a desk, which was very useful since we had a laptop.

The bed was so comfortable, it had a pillow top mattress and nice big fluffy comfy pillows.

Great tv in the room, access to rear panels to allow us to plug our Laptop in.

The room also had a DVD player.

Service from the staff was excellent, Thank You Razman.

The views were stunning, our room was on the corner, hence had 2 large windows, one of the Petronas towers (very close to towers though, hence it was difficult to see in full) and had a great view of the park. At night time they have a Light Show at Suria KLCC park, and it looked amazing from our hotel room.

Also, the views from the swimming pool were also amazing - it was a shame that it rained every afternoon.

Cons

Internet is not free, here are the costs:

1 Hour Internet Access RM30
1 Day Internet Access RM68
3 Days Internet Access RM170
7 Days Internet Access RM380

Breakfast is RM72, exclusive of 10% Service Charge and Government Tax

All the restaurants in the hotel were quite dear - this forced us to venture out into the city and experience some local cultures.

There were no powerpoints in the bathroom

There was no door for the toilet i.e. the bathroom was more like an ensuite.

Room Tip: It's better to go for a park view room, as the views are nicer. You wont be able to see the Pet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Nicholas M

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note of your comments on the provision of complimentary WiFi service. Due to the high cost of quality bandwidth in Kuala Lumpur most hotels charge for WiFi accordingly. We have recently completed a survey of the 8 top rated Luxury hotels in the city and 7 out of 8 charges for in-room internet access for regular room accommodation. Guests who choose to stay on our Club Floors do receive complimentary internet access. I am pleased to share that on this note, our hotel provides by far, the highest level of bandwidth in the city and once logged in you may use up to 6 devices on your account. We will continue to review our pricing policy on a routine basis as part of our benchmarking analysis to ensure we are in keeping with the market situation.

Further, the overall pricing for all our outlets are competitive and in line compared to the other 5-star hotels. However, we will include your comment into our regular market analysis.

We have also taken note of your feedback about the bathroom. We are pleased to share with you that the hotel has plans for a complete guestroom renovation which will complement the needs of discerning travelers such as you.

Thank you for your kind praise about our colleague, Razman. Compliments such as yours will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the Mandarin mid March 2013 , Have stayed here previously several times.
Good business establishment in my opinion.

Conclusions - Room, Tidy and well serviced by the cleaning staff, Hotel wifi was fine in the room,
Stayed in a club room so had the pleasure of using the Club for breakfasts and evening Happy Hour.

This hotel is very well situated next door to Suria KLCC and shopping areas and the Central Park for jogging or just a morning walk.

The service from check in to the staff in the Club room was first rate and it was good to catch up with staff I have met from previous visits that still remember ones name.That is a big plus and makes one more comfortable and at home.

I love relaxing after work at the pool and having a beer at the cafe beside it.

I believe the Mandarin is certainly one of the finest hotels in Malaysia.

Room Tip: If you are able to afford try the Club rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxyboy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear maxyboy888

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We have taken note of your positive observations and thank you for your kind praise about our colleagues and the hospitality that they've rendered. Your feedback will certainly motivate them in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to Kuala Lumpur again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I travel to KL on business a few times a year and always stay at the Mandarin. It is in an excellent location - adjacent to the KL City Center mall; Petronas Towers & a great park. The value for the monet is exceptional & the servce is excellent. This is a great hotel for business travellers as well as people on holiday

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Tom F

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note that you had a pleasant experience during your stay with us in February. Your comments will motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again should your travel brings you to Kuala Lumpur in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for three nights on business, location is very central. Decor was very grand, service first rate. The rooms were a good size, but starting to show a touch of wear and tear. Will make sure I stay there again next time I'm in KL.

Also had dinner in the restaurant buffet was fine, nothing to get too excited about.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franknbetty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Franknbetty1

Thank you for choosing to stay with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note about your comments on the interiors of our guestroom. You will be delighted to learn that the hotel has a complete guestroom renovation which will complement the needs of discerning travelers such as you.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
10,143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
7,411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
4,412 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
980 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $164 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing