We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It´s hard to keep it short and concise with this great hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“It´s hard to keep it short and concise with this great hotel...”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our stay for 2 nights in the MO KL was probably the best part of our SE Asia 2 weeks trip...and we did see a lot of great places. After reading the many excellent reviews before booking this hotel, I already had my expectations high up, and I was wondering whether the hotel will be able to deliver accordingly. To our good fortune it still managed to exceed a bit our high expectations.
From the moment we arrived until we left, the service was truly a class act. The staff of the hotel is very polite and attentive with all the guests, making sure not to keep them waiting. It was very nice to see that attention to details goes a long way at the MO: the hotel rich surroundings were perfectly matched by the staff elegant "uniforms".
The breakfast would probably need a review on its own, it was that good and diverse. This is really the place where you can combine on your plate Japanese specialities with oriental hummus, a tasty Malay satay and fresh backed mini-muffins.
One of my main goals for visiting KL was to get more than a good glimpse of the amazing landmark that are the Petronas Towers. For this purpose, the MO has the best location in the city, with part of the rooms facing directly the 2 towers. It is exactly what we booked, and it provided us with the setting for some unique pictures, that almost look like photoshoped.
The hotel pool is another highlight of our stay there. It´s a lovely infinity pool facing the KLCC park and the skyline of the city.
Final thing to mention (other people as well mentioned it in their reviews and it kind of kills the surprise factor, so I will be very generic) is that I received an unexpected (partially unexpected because I read in other people´s reviews) surprise for my birthday from the hotel staff.
Dear MO staff, thank you very much for our great stay with you and for making my birthday unforgeable.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view of the Petronas Towers. On the other hand, I don´t think the higher price fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorandeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear BorandeL

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant and memorable stay with us. Your positive observations will certainly further motivate our colleagues especially colleagues from our Guest Recognition Team in our mission to continuously delight and satisfy our guests.

Thank you for your kind praise on the hotel which includes the breakfast showcase, location and pool.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,475
    931
    225
    82
    50
See reviews for
941
1,799
273
1,090
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Spent four nights with my husband and six year old daughter at the mo in kl and a cannot fault it. Great pool, lovely gym with fab equipment, lovely big room with everything you need. But what made all the difference was the service. From the concierge for restaurant bookings, to the service at the bar, the helpful staff at breakfast and even the duty manager when my husband dropped his credit card in the hotel, the staff could not do enough for us. The location is also excellent, with lots of food option within walking distance, shopping at Sufis klcc, the aquaria and the fabulous splash pool and playground nearby. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelB_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear DelB_London

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to note of your positive observations and will share this with our colleagues. We trust that they will further motivate them in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here for a week on a business trip. As usual the hotel in KL are 5 stars. I have only given this a 4 due to very worn out mattress that gave me a sore back due to sinking in like a hammock. Service, room, atmosphere is 5 star quality. Lots of in room dining options (more that similar hotels in area). Internet on VPN was sufficient for checking emails but otherwise slow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jws_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear jws_7

Thank you for staying at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note about your comments on the condition of the mattress and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have addressed this matter with our Director of Housekeeping and have initiated a thorough inspection on all rooms to affect any mattress replacement.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

MO properties are some of my favority locations around the world. Impeccable service, wonderul location next to Petronas Towers, and an amazing pool and gym (with a view of the Towers). Breakfast buffett is exhaustive across multiple tastes and MO Grill provides a great dinner option if you don't want to leave the property. It is also next to KLCC where it seems every store on earth exists. As a frenquent business traveler, I also like that it is walking distance to the subway, providing an option to get to KL Sentral and the non-stop train service to the airport. This avoids the 2 hour trek to the airport via taxi during rush hour and guarantees an on time arrival at the airport - 28 minutes from KL Sentral to KLIA!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear willia15

Thank you for choosing to stay with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to note of your pleasant experience and will certainly share your positive feedback with our colleagues. We trust that they will further motivate them in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

In the meantime, we certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have stayed in the Mandarin Oriental every year for the past 10 years or so, it deserves a mention. The property is in excellent repair, in a perfect location overlooking KLCC and beside the PETRONAS Towers and KLCC shopping centre. Lots of restaurants around the park just a stroll away.
Excellent staff, with attention to detail. Could not fault the staff here.
The décor is amazing and the roof top pool and bar is just amazing.
Great Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidpfellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear davidpfellis

Thank you for staying at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are pleased to note of your positive observations and trust that they will further motivate our colleagues in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent location - accessible to business and social - walking distance to malls and shopping centres. Extremely comfortable and luxurious room - fabulours amenities, had an excellent nights sleep, beautiful view. Service is excellent and staff are so helpful. Makes being away from home easier.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Jasmine P

Thank you for staying at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience with us in your recent visit. Your positive feedback will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Given its rather tired look, this hotel cannot afford to be slipshod on customer service. However, it is barely passable. A request made online at the time of booking for synthetic pillows rather than feathers (allergy) was simply ignored and the repeated, prolonged attempts by front desk/house keeping to sort out the oversight would have been amusing had I not been checking in at midnight and keen to get to bed. Housekeeping also forgot to put any milk in the minibar as I discovered the next morning. As others have noted, wifi charges are exploitative at around £15 a day. There is no free wifi in the lobby or bars either. The management has replied that the charge is consistent with other hotels in this class in KL. The problem with this is that a) it isn't true - wifi is free in the Shangri-La - and b) even if it were true, saying "We gouge you because our competitors do" is, well, a little short in the delighting-the-customer-department. The breakfast was decidedly second-rate and really no better than an average 4 star. The hotel has many good features, including its location, but it is difficult to resist the conclusion that it is living off the capital of a fabulous brand rather than adding to it. The hotel is having a somewhat overdue renovation next year. If someone can get some sort of management grip on the place as well, it might be worth another visit after that. In the meantime, I would avoid it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dccch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear dccch

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your experience on Tripadvisor.

We have taken note about your comments on the pillow request and milk provision in the minibar. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. We have addressed the matter with our Director of Housekeeping and re-briefing has been initiated to ensure that there are no similar occurrences in the near future. Delivery of such personal requests is usually one of the hallmarks of our service.

We have also taken note of your comments on the provision of complimentary WiFi service. Due to the high cost of quality bandwidth in Kuala Lumpur most hotels charge for WiFi accordingly. We have recently completed a survey of the 8 top rated Luxury hotels in the city and 7 out of 8 charges for in-room internet access for regular room accommodation. Guests who choose to stay on our Club Floors do receive complimentary internet access. I am pleased to share that on this note, our hotel provides by far, the highest level of bandwidth in the city and once logged in you may use up to 6 devices on your account. We will continue to review our pricing policy on a routine basis as part of our benchmarking analysis to ensure we are in keeping with the market situation.

We have also taken note on your comments on our breakfast experience which we have shared with our Director of Food & Beverage. We will include your comments in our next breakfast menu review analysis and ensure that our normally well-received breakfast is always operated to the finest standard.

Please rest assured that we are not resting on our laurels, but work towards improving ourselves everyday… thank you again for your valuable feedback which is taken and will be acted upon.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future, so we may restore your confidence in our hotel.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
9,741 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
7,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
727 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing