We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant hotel and sure v good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #3 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
130 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel and sure v good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

U r just beside the petronas famous twin towers sure in one of the best hotels of malaysia perfect location good service clean luxury .it a good choice u will not regret u r steps away from shopping center from the lovlely fountain and every thing is in between hands

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maninblackthe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear maninblackthe1

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to note of your pleasant stay experience and we hope to welcome you at the doors of Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,336
    898
    220
    81
    49
See reviews for
896
1,728
262
1,055
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Makati City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

In an excellent and convenient location between The Petronas Tower & Suria Mall/restaurants and the KLCC convention center is the Mandarin Oriental Hotel; behind it is a bonus treat -- a sprawling green park. From check-in to check-out, the members of the staff were seconds away from anything you need. My room had a close-up view of The Petronas, a wonderful sight especially at bedtime when its lights illuminate like the Eiffel Tower (not blinking, though). Well-furnished rooms, complete with everything, your clothes are all you need to bring. (the iPod dock was not functioning, though). The beds are big and comfortable, there are plenty of pillows, and a generous supply of toiletries and towels; and a daily supply of complimentary coffee and tea, bottles of mineral water more than enough to quench your thirst after a full day out in the sun, plus a plate of different fresh fruits. The cleaning lady was very courteous and hardworking, and very sensitive to the needs of the hotel guest -- one day, i happened to start sneezing while she was cleaning the room, and she asked if I was allergic to goose down, and she offered to change my pillows to polyester right away!!! Buffet breakfast had a variety of asian and western meals to choose from. I like the freshly-squeezed orange juice, served with a smile by the staff! Amazing! The concierge is also very commendable -- I requested for a last-minute ticket to the Philharmonik, and she did her best to try to get a ticket for me; I asked for a tour of the Royal Selangor pewter factory, and in less than an hour, she was able to arrange for a free pick-up at the hotel!!! She even walked me to the back of the hotel where I can catch the hop-on hop-off bus. The staff members are trained very well to please the hotel guests. The only thing that is not complimentary -- wifi.

Room Tip: Request for a room with the view of The Petronas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maridel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Maridel S

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to learn of your positive observations and will share this with our colleagues. We know that they will further motivate them to continuously delight our guests.

We have taken note on your feedback about free WIFI. Please allow me to share that due to the high cost of bandwidth in the city most hotels charge for WIFI accordingly. However, guests who opt to stay on our club floors receive complimentary internet access. On this note, our hotel provides, by far, the highest level of bandwidth in the city.

Thanks again for your comments.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We recently stayed here as part of a 'round the world' trip and the hotel didn't disappoint. We were celebrating a special occassion during our trip here and the hotel went out of its way to make our day special. The hotel is well situated next to the Petronas Towers and is an easy walk to shopping centres and the easy to use metro.
The pool area is a delight in the heart of the City and a great place to chill out and freshen up.
The gym was as good as any I've been to, plenty of machines!
Drinks may be on the expensive side but this is a 5* hotel so you sort of expect it.

Room Tip: Overlooking the towers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithY651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear keith Y

Thank you for choosing to stay with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant experience and we will definitely share this with our colleagues. We believe that it will further motivate them to continuously delight our guests.

Lastly, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here with the Mrs. for 2 nights. Received a lovely upgrade to a very comfortable room on the Club Floor. Overall, the room is starting to show its age and could do with some refreshing and modernising but in general it makes for a very comfortable stay and great night's sleep. The breakfast in the Club Lounge is excellent, helped by stunning views over KL. Here is something that I don't say too often; I had truly outstanding scrambled eggs! The rest of the breakfast selection was very good and with plenty of choice.
Service in the hotel is fine, but not memorable. I had a meeting the Lobby Lounge where, in contrast to the Club, they served a poor cup of coffee to my guest; cold and messy. Not very good.
On the other hand, we enjoyed a drink in the MO Bar and followed by dinner at the Grill, which was very nice indeed. The only comment on the restaurant design is that it is very loud due to all the hard surfaces and you hear everyone throughout the dining room. Food, however, was all very good.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senninha888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear senninha888

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor.

In reference to your comment on the room condition, we are pleased to share with you that the hotel has plans for a complete renovation for the rooms which will give it a more contemporary interior that complements the needs of a discerning traveler such as you.

Thank you for your kind comments about the scramble eggs, sometimes the simplest things are the best.

We are concerned to note of the coffee that was served at the Lounge on the Park and we apologize for the less than satisfactory encounter. We have highlighted this matter to the respective manager and rest assured that re-training has been taken to avoid similar reoccurrences in the near future.

Lastly, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

It is fantastic feeling to sit in the edge of the infinity pool and enjoy the view of the big beautiful city. Exellent service and cleanliness everywhere. Welcoming flowers and fruits in the room. SPA is highly recomended :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sofia M

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to note of your enjoyable stay at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur and we certainly look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel and it was just as good as the first. The staff are wonderful without being too personal.

Breakfast was really good, plenty of choice.

One huge criticism is the ridiculously expensive internet charge.

I`m sure we`ll be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sara E

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us. We have taken note on your comments with regards to our internet charges. We wish to inform that internet bandwidth in Kuala Lumpur is expensive and despite the high cost to the hotel, we offer by far, the fastest internet bandwidth in the city. On this note, rooms that are booked on our Club floors will enjoy complimentary internet access throughout their stay with the hotel.

Lastly, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon on new years eve. We only booked a normal room however it was rather small and nothing special. As we spent new years eve in the hotel the staff convinced us that we needed to buy a table for the lobby party. This was actually just the hotels attempt to rip off its guest, as it happens most the tales where not sold and given out free to guests walking in on the evening. I seem to be one of the few people stupid enough to part with £500 for a table. I moved to the shangri la the next day which was under half the price and offered a better room.

However the location is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CzechDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear CzechDoc

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments on Tripadvisor about your visit in 2011.

We were most concerned to note of your experience with the New Year’s Eve celebration at our lobby. Allow me to share that our pricing during the festive seasons are competitive amongst the other five star hotels in the city.

Our team certainly does recommend guests staying over 31st December to reserve a table in advance as the hotel does fill up all of its outlets for their busiest night of the year. I would appreciate any further information you may have on your New Year’s Eve event in the lobby, as we did not have a lobby party on 31 December 2011. The Lounge on the Park (at the lobby) did host dinner, but a table for 4 was only priced at RM888++ (£182) including a bottle of champagne.

Please feel free to contact me at mokul-gm@mohg.com if I can be of any assistance.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#1 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing