We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I spend a weekend in the hotel. I enjoyed the location and service but given the price I paid for the room (and being one of the the most expensive hotels in KL), I was disappointed that there is no complimentary internet or a coffee machine. They still provided a kettle with sachets of coffee powder. The rooms look dated and tired as well. Best thing for this hotel were the staff who were very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KittyCatSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,061 - 3,067 of 5,046 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

The view from the club rooms facing the Petronas towers cannot be beaten in KL! The comments on tripadvisor about the annoying light from the towers surprise me as the room's curtains are thick enough and the lights are off before midnight anyway. However I must say that the furniture gets a bit tired and some renovation would be welcomed.

The location is very convenient. Next to KLCC and 5 minute-drive by taxi to Starhill Gallery where lots of nice restaurants can be found.

The Staff was amazing. We received a very thoughtful surprise on my fiance's birthday. They also anticipated our needs on several occasions.

The breakfast buffet is great with many choices from various regions of the world.

I also strongly recommend the afternoon tea in the cosy lounge. Unfortunately the best tables next to the windows are situated in the smoking area...

Lastly the swimming pool is great with nice view on the KLCC gardens, although again the furniture is not the trendiest.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globexplorer399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Fantastic location, easy walking via KLCC convention centre walkways to the Pavilion so you have the choice of two malls if you are in need of some shopping. Best of all the pool provides a breathtaking view of the KLCC Fountains, which are just amazing at night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matlockmahers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great hotel right in the heart of KLCC, stone throw from Twin Towers. If the location was not enough, the staff is courteous and very helpful. I had to make some booking changes and they were very helpful is doing the same on short notice.
I also had to do a early check in at 10 and there was no extra cost attached to it.

Rooms are big enough with a good view and nice big bed. The TV channels are scarce though.

Food is good with an excellent spread across their restaurants.

Quick checkin, checkout process... Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KunalM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Oh dear! I was hoping I would never have to write this review. Firstly, I have to say that I'm a great fan of the Manadrin chain having stayed at several of their hotels. This was my fourth stay at the Mandarin KL and I've never considered stopping anywhere else in town, but now I'm not so sure!
We stayed on the club floor and straight away felt that something was different. While the canapes and refreshments on offer were as excellent as ever, the lounge itself felt tired and a little dated. I also found the staff not so attentive as on previous visits, preferring to concentrate on a large group of businessmen than us. Previously,you were always left with the impression that the staff working in the club lounge were among the best and most experienced on the team, I no longer felt that this was the case.
Our room had a stale smell eminating from the bathroom that became worse. we reported this to reception who sent someone from maintenence to resolve the issue by spraying air freshener liberally. It was no suprise to find that as soon as the air freshener faded the smell returned. We reported this again and were offered another room which was fine. We later learned from a member of staff that issues with smells from the drains was not unusual.
To be fair to the hotel there are still many excellent points such as the Mandarin Grill which was excellent in all aspects. The location of the hotel is still unbeatable and, as mentioned in earlier reviews, the complimentary 5 garments cleaned per day(club floors)is very welcome! However you can't help but feel that what was the Only place to stay in KL has slipped a little!

Room Tip: Upgrade to club roms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a review i should have written a long time ago.. nearly a year ago!
Anyway, my wife and I went to KL for our honeymoon, as well as a couple of other places.
The first hotel we stayed in was the Mandarin Oriental in kuala Lumpur. I had informed them earlier that we were on honeymoon.
The car they sent to pick us up from the airport was a 2011 model Mercedes Benz,,, considering it was January 2012.. that was a good start.
When we got to the hotel, the service we got, from stepping out of the car until being left alone in our room, was exemplary. as were the customary chocolates waiting in the room. delectable.
As is usually customary after a long flight, we ordered room service, tom yum goong .. Sushi.. and something else.. I forgot... it was all great tasting though.. really good food.
We also went to the grill restaurant, i forgot its name, but the chef is world class, so therefore the food is too.
One night we had food from the Chinese restaurant, some duck as a matter of fact. Scrumptious.


Due to the proximity to the KL towers the view from the wall to wall, floor to ceiling window was breathtaking, worth spending a few hours gazing at during sunrise.....
Then there is the shopping center next door, the KLCC. many nice shops there, yes, but the most important place to visit in the shopping mall is NANDO's chicken, on the ground floor. Good chicken.

One of the best things about this hotel though, that puts it head and shoulders above many other hotels, is the service they provide. there is nothing they cannot do for you, all service with a smile. at whatever the hour.
Now that is what makes you keep on coming back to an already impressive hotel. Super Service.
We'll Be Back.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the towers, is never a bore to be in , no matter what the time. ask for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sportsfan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in the club level, and were upgraded to a fantastic 2 bedroom suite. We looked onto the towers from our room, and from the club lounge. The club lounge served breakfast, lunch and canapes - the lunch was called a deli lunch but it did include a hot selection of noodles, spring rolls etc. The canapes also included hot fish or steak etc. The afternoon we booked the high tea in the garden lounge (the club lounge also had a free afternoon tea with cakes etc), we ducked in for a light lunch after shopping and then was so full from the high tea, we just had the 'canapes' for dinner. Great value - you also get 5 pieces washed daily, which is great if you've been travelling for awhile.
Really lovely hotel - old school oriental glamour. The pool is outdoor on the third floor, overlooking the greenery of the park. I loved heading there to relax after traipsing around the busy city. It is so peaceful and pleasant.
The location is perfect for the Towers, Suria, Skybar and an easy walk to Pavillion, Starhill etc.
We could also watch the light and water show from our room.
If travelling with a family, the 2 bedroom appt also has a kitchen, as well as a large lounge room, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms.
The only problem is the hotel is so appealing that it made it hard to go out to explore the town...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariadne282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
10,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
7,329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
930 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4,304 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $156 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing