We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #22 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2006

This hotel is in a great location - walking distance to the Petronas Towers.

It is slightly dated but still quite impressive. Unfortunately for us when we stayed the swiming pool was closed for renovation (and that had been one of our reasons for chosing it!) and we hadnt been forewarned about this, nor was there any apology.

Some random points:

The breakfast is great!

The bathroom is huge but slightly dated and a tad mildewy....

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cath_Shuttlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,300 - 3,306 of 3,896 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2006

I was quite disappointed overall. It says it is a 5 star hotel but it didn't look & feel grand at all. The design was big old fashioned. The bathroom was terrible. Luckily I only stayed for 1 night. The only thing that I like was the breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MasCharmedOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2006

Family of 4 stayed in the hotel istana, great location, 1 child had to sleep in mattress on the floor dispite booking 5 months in advance saying we had 2 children not 1. 1st room had one bed for 4 people, second room had no pwer, whilst it was fixed within the hour it was not needed after 8hr flight and arriving at midnight wilth tired children. never again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michellekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2006

We chose the Istana because we were late with our booking and at that time almost all the good hotels we called had only suites left. We came to the hotel from Borneo where we were accustomed to customer friendly service, so the first shock was the unfriendly staff at the front desk! We arrived very late at the hotel and were extremely tired from waiting for our delayed flight for 5 hours and not in the mood for bad service. When checking out we were greeted with the same behaviour, very disappointing!

The 2nd glitch was when we were shown to our room. Our bellboy told us that he was “(---) tired” (!!) and managed to drop our bags from the trolley on the way to the room. Thankfully he opened the door because we were in for a huge surprise!! The room was already occupied and there was a man inside watching television. The bellboy made his excuses and left us waiting in the corridor while he ran to change our room. We were upgraded to the 20th Floor, which is a Club Floor. We didn’t ask if we’d be entitled to the club floor privileges but the Club Room (where evening coctails are served) is due to be opened in the Fall anyway.

I have no complaints about the room - our room was a newly renovated room – spacious, beautifully furnished and clean. There was a separate bath and shower in the bathroom. There was a safe in the room as well.

The buffet breakfast was really good with lots of variety. I had to wait for a cup of tea for 10 minutes though. I guess they were overwhelmed by the amount of people, high season had just started. If the hotel is full they have 2 restaurants which serve breakfast, and on our first morning we made the mistake of going to the smaller restaurant – the breakfast there had less things than at the main restaurant, so make sure you go to the bigger one which faces the pool.

The pool was very drab and uninviting, I saw many people swimming there though. A typical city hotel pool, nothing special.

If you need a taxi, don’t take one from the front of the hotel, because they will rip you off. In KL taxis are supposed to use the meter but if you take a taxi from Istana, they’ll have hidden the meter and they will ask double the price. They must have an agreement with the doormen and give a share of the money to them. Remember anywhere in KL when getting into a taxi, ask them if they will use the meter and refuse to get in if they won’t. If staying at the Istana, just go stand by the road and wave when you see a taxi or use the monorail which is just across the street.

The location of Istana is great, it’s near KLCC and the KL Tower, as well as the Bukit Bintang area where you’ll find lots of shops and restaurants. But then again, there are many hotels in the area to choose from. So I’d say that if you’re going to KL, you should try an other hotel, Istana was quite a disappointment!

8  Thank pinkilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bangkokmetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eurydice123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Rooms
1  Thank SteveC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
793 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#21 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
3,440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#24 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
1,791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $66 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing