We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you know the feeling of missing home once you step into a hotel room - this was what I feel.”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #20 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
2 reviews
“Do you know the feeling of missing home once you step into a hotel room - this was what I feel.”
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Despite my aspiration to conduct a stand-up comedy act, the following is not script to one but a real life situation I was confronted with. Hotel Istana is not a 5-star hotel even though some sites tell you that they are.

Once I got into my room, I could not insert my key card into the switch inlet because it was spoilt. I had to try a few times. The room was crappy with dirty walls, lights in the bathroom making more noise than the traffic outside. There were spiderwebs beneath the bed. There was an old fridge but nothing inside. Not even a complimentary bottle of water.

Opening the cupboard doors felt like moving a piece of big rock and the TV was located at the side and i have to turn to my right while I am on the bed causing muscle aches. I did complain to the manager on the first day. His response was that he would ask Housekeeping to come but no one turned up. And did I mention about the brick hard pillows?

Breakfast was mediocre and predictable and staff was discriminatingly friendly and warm (if you know what I mean - I guess I did not fit in the demography). Pool was not maintained and water was more yellow, like swimming in a pee pool. Floor around the pool was dirty. I even saw cat's poo lying around. Staff at the pool was not there when he was supposed to be and fellow guests could be competitive in terms of getting the deck chairs. They would just place a piece of towel and ran off for their breakfast - this is nothing new. Whats the huge deal with the suntanning anyway?

I am about to check out in a few hours and I cannot wait for more misadventures. Yeah right.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hikess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,659
    1,346
    473
    183
    136
See reviews for
875
1,304
266
622
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I stayed at this hotel after a week in Bali.

The rooms were clean with nice big bathrooms and a decent view on the twin towers.

The staff were really helpful and provided us with a packed breakfast when we were leaving for Singapore too early for the breakfast buffet.

In a decent location with a short walk to the main shopping and eating area of Bukit Bintang.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chad_2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

I stayed here on business for a month and so got to know the hotel at length! The hotel has many strengths: 1. Staff are very friendly and helpful; 2. The location is good; 3. The breakfast is extraordinary with an almost overwhelming choice and as much as you could possibly eat; 4) The outside areas are well kept and very pleasant. 5) Although the gym was small, it was well equipped and staff were always present and keen to advise. However, a few areas could be improved: 1) There was some vagueness over use of the internet and how much this costs; 2) When I first checked into my room, the bathroom clearly had not been cleaned, although staff arrived promptly when asked; 3) Rooms are variable in size and style, so there's an element of luck involved as to where you're allocated! In general, a very pleasant hotel with a truly impressive reception area; I would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella_Italia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

I stayed in Istana Hotel KL after my trip to Genting Highland last month, I am happy that I made a right decision to pay a little bit more compare to Radius which I used to stay in KL for holidays. Room is clean and comfortable, breakfast provided is delicious and the staff from front line to room service are all friendly and efficient, location is even better than Radius if you prefer to shop along Bukit Bintang area.
lastly, I would like to recommend a seafood stall at Imbi food center (First stall at the corner without signboard) if you walk down from side lane next to KL Plaza, Must try their crabs, prawns and lala, its really cheap and good taste, worth trying.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yklimSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Stayed here for a week over Chinese New Year. Extremely pleasant staff. Breakfasts are the best in Asia. Room service is consistently excellent quality and good value for money. Rooms are spacious with double sliding wardrobes with drawers and extra cupboards under the tv for clothes etc. Tea/coffee making facilities/safe. Five minues walk to the centre of things and the Pavillion Shopping Mall has great eateries, bookshops and the usual brand names of the world. Fifteen minute walk to the Towers with another huge shopping mall underneath.
ALL staff we encountered at the Istana from doormen - to executive chef were incredibly pleasant and welcoming. Rooms were cleaned throughly and well stocked - I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of my family or friends who are making a trip to Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnyasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

This hotel is excellent. AAA+ Stayed here with my wife and 15 year old daughter for 3 nights. It is located within easy walking distance (10 min) to the major shopping area (Golden Triangle). The rooms are large and very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

We are a family of four and had booked two suites for three nights and have nothing, but good things to say about the Istana. The welcome on the club lounge floor was personal and professional. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable with very spaciaous lounge rooms, office area and ensuite. Cocktail hour was just what was needed after hot days out and about in KL and the pool staff always catered to our needs. Breakfast was a huge affair and there is something for everyone. We could not fault this hotel and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carmel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#21 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#34 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#23 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.3 mi away
Impiana KLCC Hotel
Impiana KLCC Hotel
#38 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Property: Hotel Istana
Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing