We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location, Great service”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #20 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Location, Great service”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in January during my first trip to KL. It's located bang in the center of the city and is very close to metro/railway stations.

Rooms have a great view of the city and Changkat is in the adjacent lane, incase you just want to get out and party. Theres a pool in the center quadrangle but its tiny considering the size of the hotel. The buffet is simple, although I was expecting a lot more asian food.

One thing that this place definitely lacks is wifi in the rooms. I had to sit in the coffee shop every time I needed to use the internet on my phone. That and better content on the TV.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roycin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel - good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely hope that we have given you our instinctive and renewing experiences during your stay.

Once again, we sincerely appreciate the great feedbacks and look forward to your return soon.

Best regards.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,638
    1,337
    471
    181
    130
See reviews for
861
1,294
262
614
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having read reviews of this hotel before travelling I was a little on edge at what to expect. When arriving at the hotel I had soon made my mind up that some people just like to moan. The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and were always on hand to help. We stayed on the 18th floor which comes with a separate lounge for breakfast. I would definitely recommend the istana for short stays. It is conveniently located close to many tourist attractions, shopping malls and the monorail station is a 2 minute walk away.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review.

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to welcome you - it's always good to hear our guests enjoy themselves during their stay.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience and look forward to your next stay soon.

Thank you & best regards.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

There was no wifi in the rooms. We called 22 and they very kindly brought a Wif Router and plugged it in the available T-lan plug. However this didn't work and after at least 3 engineers (all very nice) tried to fix it, they decided to give us another room (slightly smaller, but that's fine). Finally we managed to use the router in the new room, but the speed/quality of the Wifi was very poor. The A/C is super cold, we actually never had to turn it on! A detail, but the cable to the water kettle is so small that it doesn't reach the plug! It is beyond my understanding why a hotel of this standard tries to save money in such mean ways! The bathroom needs repair (especially the bathtub which looked really old) and the toilet doesn't flush well. However staff were all really kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to ask a room with Wifi if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Your feeedback is always greatly appreciated and helps us to constantly strive to improve our services.

Rest assured we have taken note of all your challenges and comments and we looking into them with the departments concerned and all efforts will be placed in rectifying our shortfalls.

Should you have any comment, do drop us a note at clement@hotelistana.com.my

We look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just returned after spending 3 nights then another 3 nights in this fantastic hotel.........Dont look anywhere else- the hospitality is amazing....Rooms large and spacious- exceptionally clean- housekeeping great- Quality of food superb.....
I was ill during my stay and had to have a Doctor......The Duty Manager Lily came to my room and invited us to have dinner on the house.....This was an amazing gesture and very much appreciated.
Left our bags between touring visits and they were returned to us with no problem at all- fantastic buffet breakfast included in room rate for deluxe room............ Superb buffet dinner with a fantastic choice at a realistic price.....You can upgrade to a Club room with free internet -refreshments- cocktails in evening and afternoon tea......this is available at a suppletment usually
200 rh.(approx £40.00)per day.........We in fact were given a suite the second time when we had to have a club room as no deluxe rooms available........the Deluxe rooms are very comfortable and perfectly adequate.......
The hotel is very good value and in a superb position for sightseeing....

Room Tip: Ask for a Towers view..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marymair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Your praise and recognitions goes a long way and our team is thrilled to hear such positive feedbacks.
We delighted to know that you enjoyed everything Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre has to offer during your recent stay.

We surely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back again.

Thank you & best regards.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I had been to Kuala Lumpur & stayed for 3 nights in Hotel Istana.

Location: Simply Great. Close to market (5min walk) & adjoining to Restaurants, Clubs & happening night life of city. Connected with all mode of transportation.

Lobby: Welcoming with express check-in & check-out procedures. Elevator services & indication for rooms are very convenient.

Room: clean & very hygienic bathroom.
Good bedding & awesome view of Petrona Twin towers.
Sleep quality was good with all amenities well kept including iron board, tea/coffe maker.
Some basic amenities were missing in the bathroom & as I have mention to get it serviced was a challenge.
I ordered for shower gel & it took them 45min to deliver. For getting water bottle in room it took me 4 calls & wait time of 1hr.

Restaurant/food service: POOR.
Even though breakfast was widely arranged but taste was not up to mark. When I asked the staff to service my egg omlet on my table he got angry & asked me get it self serviced. When I asked a staff for water he pointed me to the juice section & asked to get it serviced from there.
Rude & unethical staff.

Suggest to go for some other hotel where the food & services were served with a smile.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank YoloPrashant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Your feedback is always greatly appreciated and helps us to constantly strive to improve our services.

We have taken note of all your challenges and comments and all efforts will be placed in rectifying each an every points that you have highlighted.

Do drop us a note at clement@hotelistana.com.my and we look forward to see you again soon.

Thank you & best regards.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Ladies travelling with a kid. This was a 2nd visit! Overwhelm with services and room. Staff ever so friendly, beeakfast was always great! Never been enough...will definitely return! ♥♡♥♡♥♡♥♡ shopping n chillax!

Room Tip: Club floors are always a better choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeNada78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Your praise and recognitions goes a long way and our team is thrilled to hear such positive feedbacks.
We surely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back again soon.

Do drop us a note should you have any comment or question at clement@hotelistana.com.my

Thank you & best regards.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Good location...short walk or taxi ride to all the hot spots , shopping malls etc
The reception by the foyer staff was extremeley warm and welcoming. Cannot fault the staff at all here.... always willing to help with a smile.
They helped us with reservations...trips ...taxi's etc
We didnt eat or drink there so cannot comment on the food
There was a nice pool area there that seemed popular. ,,,we didnt frequent the pool.
The room ?....Well....it was just ''ok''...
The room has some minor faults to it ....small wall light was broken .
Seal at the bottom of the shower door leaked somewhat...so a towel had to be placed at the bottom to stop the water flowing out on to the floor.
room service was a touch tardy...
I would return if we were to do a one night / weekend visit only because it was a reasonably cheap in price and ok location
. However if I were there for a week...I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Higher the better ...road noise can be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment here. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Should you have any comment or idea that you might want to share with us, do drop us a note at clement@hotelistana.com.my

We look forward to see you again soon.

Best regards.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
9,721 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#34 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Property: Hotel Istana
Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing