We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Although average ... We enjoyed our stay ....”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #24 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Good location...short walk or taxi ride to all the hot spots , shopping malls etc
The reception by the foyer staff was extremeley warm and welcoming. Cannot fault the staff at all here.... always willing to help with a smile.
They helped us with reservations...trips ...taxi's etc
We didnt eat or drink there so cannot comment on the food
There was a nice pool area there that seemed popular. ,,,we didnt frequent the pool.
The room ?....Well....it was just ''ok''...
The room has some minor faults to it ....small wall light was broken .
Seal at the bottom of the shower door leaked somewhat...so a towel had to be placed at the bottom to stop the water flowing out on to the floor.
room service was a touch tardy...
I would return if we were to do a one night / weekend visit only because it was a reasonably cheap in price and ok location
. However if I were there for a week...I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Higher the better ...road noise can be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheGeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment here. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Should you have any comment or idea that you might want to share with us, do drop us a note at clement@hotelistana.com.my

We look forward to see you again soon.

Best regards.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,880 - 1,886 of 3,926 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

I arrived the hotel at night, from the back entrance on basement. (strange). Quite entrance, nobody there, no signs showing me where the lobby is (maybe have but I was not aware of). The main entrance is nice, grand, staff wearing beautiful Malay costume to greet you on the main entrance. Check-in was fast.

Location- The hotel is located in a good location, big shopping malls are within the walking distance.

Room- Normal, very normal.
No in-room wifi, but you have to use cable. The internet is really high speed like what they mentioned. The cable is not long enough for you to surf on the bed.
No face cotton provided, no weighing scale in the room like what normal 5 stars will have.
Very dissapointed on the in-room TV channels: 10 channels only, no kids channel, no Asian channels, astro guide provided in your room but no astro channels! Boring!

Breakfast- Provide wide range of variety but I loose my appetite. Too crowded.

Lunch- Buffet lunch was good.

Wifi- high speed wifi on public area: such as restaurant and meeting rooms.

Facilities- No kids club. Pool looks good but a bit small. Have to access the pool from hotel lobby. Do not surprise to see somebody with towel is wating for the lift with you. Gym is ok but you can expect more people from 6pm-9pm as they offer membership to outsiders.

Lift- My experience is, I almost need to wait long every time.

View- If you have a chance to stay at this hotel, please ask for the room facing the twin towers. Remember to get a room at higher floor as I can only see a very small part of the structure from 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Facing to twin towers, higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank datin_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment here. We acknowledge your concerned and we are improving our services and weaknesses as we speak. We view our guests comment seriously and there is no room for error in what we do especially on service and our commitment.

Should you have any further comment that you would like to share with us, do drop us a note at clement@hotelistana.com.my

We look forward welcome you again soon.

Best regards.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

On the 04/04/14 we stayed here for 9 nights we were given room 1507 , our room was large enough and clean, the hotel is right in the heart of The shopping malls, the Monorail is 5 minutes walk away, The Petronas towers 10 Minutes walk away you really don`t need any taxi transport at all, the hotel main entry is huge and laid out with marble tiles the staff at the hotel can`t do enough for you, always welcoming you with a smile when ever you see one, the rooms are very large and quite, the breakfast restaurant at Taman Sari Brasserie is 5 star quality and so much variety to choose from and the Songket Lounge is good place to lay back have drink, Free wifi is available all around the hotel and free Internet in the rooms , our special thanks goes to Amin & Mutalib in theTaman Sari Brasserie Restaurant for a job well done and to Nantha at the front desk for taking care of our booking and to the front desk manager Lily Baharom for leading a great team , looking forward for our next stay.
Mr & Mrs Faisal Lakmas

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. You have given me great pleasure to share this with the team.

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to welcome you at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur and it's always good to hear our guests enjoy themselves during their stay.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience and look forward to your next stay soon.

Thank you & best regards.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed at the Istana for a week over the Christmas holidays and the experience was very pleasant. The hotel is fantastically located, in walking distance from major attractions, restaurant/bar areas, and shopping malls and just across from a rail station. The staff was friendly, though the check in process was long and seemed overly complicated- the reception staff helping us out immediately offered an room upgrade which included access to a "members lounge" on one of the top floors. We decided to do the upgrade but it was definitely NOT WORTH IT. The lounge was just another place to have breakfast, and while more "exclusive and personalized" not worth the money. The general breakfast buffet was incredibly well-stocked, an extensive selection of dishes and a good schedule with a few hours to make it down to if you like sleeping in. The most inconvenient thing about the hotel is no wifi in rooms. There is wifi in the lobby but with such a large hotel, it's a pain to have to go to for internet access. Otherwise, the hotel is elegant and very clean. The rooms were large and comfortable and the bed were great. Overall, a good hotel experience with a great location, but some downsides to consider.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your lovely comment in here. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Do drop us a note should you have anything to share at clement@hotelistana.com.my

Thank you & best regards.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel is nice. The staff is friendly. The pool is beautiful to look at... the bar is nice .. not a lot of people at least when I was there -- but hey did have a buy 1 get 1 free :). Food was reasonably priced and portions were suitable. The shower was FABULOUS =- it was like an in house massage. My only REAL complaint is the NO wi-fi in the room. If you have a lap top you can use a dial up with a cord but that doe snot help fro tablets or smart phones. It was a real pain to have togo down in the lobby or bar to use internet wi-fi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive and lovely comment here. We are thrilled and excited the know that you and your family enjoyed every moment with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Thank you & best regards.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Loved the pool area, it's very luxurious. Thought the breakfast was right up there with the best. Not everything is quite perfect. We had to wait ages for check-in and though the staff kept apologising, we still had to wait. There was no free Wi-Fi which is a pain. The room was above average size but could do with a bit of a refurb. Bathroom bordered on luxurious. The location is good walking distance to Bukit Bintang, the most interesting part of KL. All in all a good experience

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Your praise and recognitions goes a long way and our team is thrilled to hear such positive feedbacks.
We are delighted you have enjoyed everything Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre has to offer and we are always committed to give our guest a five star standards of service at all time.
We surely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back in soon.

Thank you & best regards.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel has a very grand and flamboyant entrance with bar lounge and restaurant plus lovely pool. The bedrooms are generous in size and well appointed with all facilities. No wifi in rooms but LAN access for laptops. Well located with many bars and restaurants nearby with cheaper options

Room Tip: All rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parry005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. You have given us a moral booster to continue serving our guests with high standards and quality. It's always good to hear our guests enjoy themselves during their stay.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience and look forward to your next stay soon.

Thank you once again.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#25 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,606 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#17 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
887 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
3,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $65 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing