We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Istana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Kuala Lumpur Journal(Kuala Lumpur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Al Jafs(Kuala Lumpur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mesui Hotel(Kuala Lumpur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Attapsana Guesthouse(Kuala Lumpur)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ambassador(Kuala Lumpur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,217)
Filter reviews
4,217 results
Traveler rating
1,873
1,469
533
194
148
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,873
1,469
533
194
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungetaman saribukit bintangpetronas towersmonorail stationbuffet breakfastpavilion mallrotanashoppingklsinksfoyertaxisindianasiachinatown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,158 - 2,163 of 4,217 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We went for our honeymoon starting in Malaysia for 4 nights b4 moving onto Thailand, the Istana upgraded us to a club suite from a club room as it was our honeymoon which was sweet, as we arrived my Husband got ill very quickly, turned out to be food poisoning from the plane!! I hoped it was a few day thing but unfortunately it turned out to be quite bad, first they called a doctor for me who was there within 20mins & from that point on they were bringing my husband especially prepared food by the chief that wasn't even on the menu that was better for him, they would bring me things too to make sure i was eating! Non-stop water, fruit, supplies... They had told all staff that he was ill, nothing was too much trouble, they all knew who i was, knew my name, and would ask how he was all the time... the day we were supposed to leave he was worse so they called a doctor again, and then we couldn't fly on to Thailand, they extended our stay with no problem, sorted things so we stayed in the same room, the managers came to visit that eve to check everything, gave me a comp meal and brought my husband some Malaysian remedies to try and help... :)
things didn't improve so they contacted the doctor again and we were advised to go to hosp for a drip, they arranged transport there and back and rang us a few times when in hosp to see if we were ok. They would let me tell them a day at a time how long we needed to stay and helped me with all the hassle with the insurance, and trying to get a flight home.
Everyone there spoke brilliant English and made a not nice situation to be in in a foreign country excellent, every member of staff is polite, attentive, kind, helpful, speedy, and so friendly. I can not express how brilliant they were and how they looked after us and made us feel so at home. I am sooo grateful to them and can't recommend them more highly.
They said when we left that they were my new Malaysian Family, and they are! :)

Room Tip: If you can stay in a 'Club' room and you get the use of the personal club lounge where there is complementary food and drink all day, breakfast with less people around, use of computers/wifi and own personal staff.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlyEm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comment here and it is indeed given us the motivations to continue to serve our guests with high standard of service quality. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and the food that we served at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur.

Should you have further comment, do drop us a note at clement@hotelistana.com.my

We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Thank you.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here during our vacation and we were extremely satisfied with Istana. Excellent Service, Courteous Staff, Spacious Rooms, and Good Breakfast.

All amenities were decent and loved the view around. Nice hotel to stay in Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikitever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us to host your stay and we truly appreciate your kind recommendation. It certainly brings great motivation to our fellow associates to further serve our guest with high standard of quality. We look forward to your next visit and do drop us a note at clement@hotelistana.com.my

Best regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Istana for 3 nights before moving onto Borneo. The hotel is lovely although abit dated in places, very clean and well organised, the staff are wonderful, cheery and polite and always willing to help. We stayed on the 19th Floor had a great view of the towers. We were Club lounge guests, which I must say was a waste of time for us, you had to go to the 20th floor to gain any of the perks and as one of the lifts was being maintained it was abit of a pain so we didnt bother. Plus the one time we did go up their unfortunately to put it politely the guests there seemed to like the sound of their own voices and thought they were a cut above the rest... so as I say we didnt bother after that... The hotel is well placed and a word of warning book your tickets for the towers as we walked there in the scorching heat and couldnt get in as they had sold out... The pool is very nice, could do with some more sunbeds... The food was great, lots of choice, try the burger and Club Sandwich - delicious... All in all we liked this hotel it had all we needed for our short break...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinsterEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre.

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased to have served you well during your stay with us recently. Your valued feedback surely will give the extra boost to the team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon and continue to serve you our award winning services.

Best regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Spent a week here. No problems whatsoever. Some parts of hotel are beginning to look a little shabby but this was more than compensated for by the wonderful staff. Everyone went out of their way to help us. Very good breakfast. Excellent same day laundry service. Worth upgrading to club class.

Room Tip: Go for club class. Floor 18 is a non smoking floor. Club class lounge is excellent and staff are super helpful
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 76JEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre.

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased to have served you well during your stay with us recently. Your valued feedback surely will give the extra boost to the team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon and pampered you with our award winning services.

Best regards.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Istana during MIFF 2014. The hotel's location is perfect, close to Bukit Bintang and also close to the KLCC walkway. Hotel's lobby is huge and quiet tastefully decorated and designed.
We had upgraded our 3 rooms to the club benifits and therefore were allocated rooms facing the towers on the 18th floor. Our room had a leaking shower which was not fixed for the entire duration of the stay even after reminding them and asking them to change the room. We used to leave after breakfast and only come back to the room late evening after the cocktails and canapes in the lounge. The club floor lounge was excellent with very good services provided.
Breakfast - both at the lounge and the restaurant was extensive and of good quality. Beds were ok. Some updating needed in the rooms. Bathroom was big but again the leaking shower and chipped tiles wasnt a good impression.

All in all - a good location, very close to most of the happenings, decently priced hotel. Needs some updating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Taz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre.
It is with great pleasure to read your review knowing that we have lived up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews