We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Istana”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #23 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Istana means palace in Arabic but it was definitely not a palace . It was a very functional hotel but the room we had was pretty standard with two single beds pushed together to make a double bed.It is only a short walk from the Petronas towers ,The Telecommunication tower and all the shopping areas.There are two free buses that go around the city and then there id the hop on hop off bus. The buffet breakfast was good with fresh food every day ,and food cooked to order.

Room Tip: Try to get a petronas towers view and go high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We regret for any inconvenience that might have caused.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,159 - 2,165 of 3,946 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have stayed at Istana hotel a few years ago with my husband and sons. We enjoyed the club room service and the lounge. The Petronas tower view from the room was a bonus too. Last week, I came back with my mother and sister for a short 2 night stay to celebrate my mum's 77th birthday. Although the room I requested was not available at point of check-in (arrived early around 10am), the staffs at the club lounge did their very best to accommodate us. We went out shopping and came back in the evening with a surprise upgraded suite room with Petronas view and a birthday cake specially for my mum to welcome us.

My mother was delighted and enjoyed her stay at the club room very much. Thanks to Suzairi, Norliza and Zul for being attentive and courteous throughout our stay there.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank JYusof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We regret for any inconvenience that might have caused.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have over the years stayed at many KL hotels. Istana did not match any of them. I was running a training course at the hotel, thats the reason for using it. The good news; hotel was clean. Personell polite and service minded.

But the hotel lacked atmoshere.

I was disappointed that the lounge allowed for smoking in the best part of the lobby lounge, with a non-smoking area less attractive.

The breakfast was below average if you do not fancy local food. The Brasserie was below my expectations. The food in the main restaurant was expensive for small portions. Taste was fine, but left as hungry as I arrive, and I was the only guest.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired43Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the effort to share with us your comments. As much as we understand your disappointments, we do our utmost best to serve every of our guest well. We can assure you, your comments are being dealt with and we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur soon.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hotel Istana in Kuala Lumpur City Center (KLCC) is usualy classifies as a five-star hotel. In my opinion, overall quality of this hotel is good. But, it is far from a five-star. Due to an 100% happyful service, and many sofisticated and beuatiful items, I agree to give it a four-star. The main problems, as a matter of fact, is not with the hotel. At the time I travel to KLCC the hotel is full, so they try to service well. But, it is really hard with too mant hostees. The second proble is the poluition of the city. People use mask even inside the hotel and other buildings. 11am to checkout is awful. And the food (breakfast or lunch) is very spice and few options. With you like Chicken curry, enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfSalomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the effort to share with us your comments. As much as we understand your disappointments, we do our utmost best to serve every of our guest well. We can assure you, your comments are being dealt with and we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur soon.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and i have this last week returned from a four night stay at the Hotel Istana enroute from Penang to Australia. We have previously stayed at other 5 star hotels in KL in the Bukit Bintang area. For value and service the Istana wins hands down. The hotel was recommended by a family member who has stayed on many occasions, both business and leisure, the hotel lived up to the expectations conveyed to us. The staff were excellent, they mirrored the persona of the smiley face badges they wore. A nice touch was to be greeted on occasions at the entry by name, no mean feat given the fact the hotel was to capacity during our visit. The relatively noiseless rooms are large with king size beds, ours on the 17th floor was facing the Petronas Twin Towers building and is indicative of the close proximity to local tourist attractions, the monorail and the fabulous Bukit Bintang shopping area. Whilst the hotel needs some cosmetic improvements, it certainly does not deter from the enjoyment of the hotel, namely the wonderful Songket lobby lounge, the great breakfasts at Taman Sari Brasserie, the pool area and the accommodating friendly staff. We certainly would not hesitate to return to the Hotel Istana, it is now our hotel of choice in Kuala Lumpur.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the twin towers on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for choosing us to host your stay and we truly appreciate your kind recommendation. It certainly brings great motivation to our fellow associates to further serve our guest with passions of Istana. We look forward to your next visit. Till then, have a pleasant stay ahead.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed at the Hotel Istana for 3 nights in May as part of a multi centre holiday. As other reviews have mentioned the hotel is well located but a little tired. We found the room to be a good size, with practical facilities - iron, ironing board, robes, the usual toiletries etc. The bathroom especially was very spacious with a bath and a separate generously sized shower cubicle. Double sinks. The toilet was also in a separate area, within the bathroom, with its own door.

Plenty of mirrors and sockets, but I would suggest you bring your own hairdryer ladies, as the one in the bathroom is one of those awful 'plumbed in' varieties that a lot of hotels install that have very little power.

The room was clean but could do with some refurbishment, especially the carpet. The carpet in the corridor outside our room had obviously had a spill and there had been an attempt to clean it, but it had left it with a funny smell.

There is a handy mini market over the road to your right, but if you leave the hotel via the front entrance and turn left, then turn sharp left again directly along a small road that slopes down, there are a lot more, better stocked shops along this road. Left again at the corner and you'll find even more local mini markets, bars and restaurants. Unfortunately we only realised this on our last night after walking the long way around. We found Kuala Lumpur an easy place to get lost in - once you've set off in the wrong direction it was quite difficult to get back on track, so best to ask before you set off to make sure you're heading in the right direction. You can't fail to miss the monorail however, which is very conveniently located 2 minutes walk from the Istana.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so I can't comment on this, nor did we use the pool. All staff that we encountered were very friendly and responsive.

I would use the Hotel Istana again, if I was on a short stay in Kuala Lumpur, it was comfortable, clean and well located. If you're looking for luxury, contemporary styling and you're quite choosy, then maybe it's not for you. If you want a handy base, good customer service and have realistic expectations then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LargoGarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing us to host your stay and we truly appreciate your kind recommendation. It certainly brings great motivation to our fellow associates to further serve our guest with passions of Istana. We look forward to your next visit. Till then, have a pleasant stay ahead.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hotel Istana is centrally located for the KLCC / central Kuala Lumpur area, particularly easily accessible by monorail (Raja Chulan), including from KLIA (via KLIA Express to KL Sentral). Good for business meetings in central KL area.
This is the most spacious outdoor swimming pool I have found in 4* hotels in central KL that is not completely overlooked by restaurant diners/hotel bedrooms/etc. And you can sit semi-outdoors for breakfast - which becomes important when you are otherwise in aircon hotel rooms, meeting rooms and airports!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda Kathari... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing us to host your stay and we truly appreciate your kind recommendation. It certainly brings great motivation to our fellow associates to further serve our guest with passions of Istana. We look forward to your next visit. Till then, have a pleasant stay ahead.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#25 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
1.1 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#17 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#22 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
823 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
3,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $64 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing