We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and good standards”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #24 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was here with friends and children. It's in a good location, in the central area with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. As ever in Asia the reception and service were first class. Rooms were a good size and well equipped. We found it expensive for food and drink with children so quickly decided our best option was to eat out. Pool area pleasant and spacious. The only major complaint I had was about the lifts, just not enough of them for such a big hotel when it's full - forgetting something in the room could cost you 15 minutes while you waited for lifts up and back down again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Petronas Twin Towers, spectacular, especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us and hope to welcome you back, soon.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,254 - 2,260 of 3,946 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at istana for three nights with my wife. The hotel service overall was very good however there were a few staffs that were unhelpful. The lobby is amazing with live music every night and the atmosphere is great. The room however were not up to a 5 star standard with no WiFi in the room and with no flat screen tv. The buffet near the lobby taman sari is a must with a wide range of variety of food available. A few changes are needed for istana to be a truly 5 star hotel however the experience staying there was still very good and recommended if staying in kl for a few nights.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us to host your stay. We truly appreciate your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back, soon. Till then, have a pleasant day ahead.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Hotell was recommended by a friend ! it was really nice to spent 2 nights there! very good location easy to walking to the main shopping malls.
My room wasnt that modern and the ac was away too cold! but i was informed that some of the rooms got some upgrated.
Breakfast was very good, the swimming pool was very nice to and sfaff super helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank semi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us to host your stay. We truly appreciate your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back, soon. Till then, have a pleasant day ahead.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

After many years stayed here now i came back and found the service still very good, the condition of the hotel is in the very good too.

In front is the monorail station, easy to go around any where in the city

To the right is shopping malls like sungei wang, lot 10, also high class pavillion mall, in the bukit bintang area

A bit walking to hard rock cafe and others nite club and disco also lots of foot massage in this area

Further down is the petronas twin tower klcc suria mall the iconic of malaysia

I was here for the F1 event and happy to stay again here

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Antonthedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

When we arrived at Hotel Istana we were greeted at the door by multiple people. They whisked our luggage away, walked us to the desk, and informed us that we had been upgraded to a suite. The suite took my breath away. It was huge, and had a view of the Petronas Towers. We had two bathrooms, two televisions, and every amenity we might need. The rooms were maybe a bit older than some, but they were amazing. It was within short walking distance to the monorail and shopping. The employees were more than helpful when we had questions. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed on the Club Floor. Arrived about 9pm, but had a tremendous welcome. Were taken up to the club floor for check in, offered refreshments, then went to our rooms. Breakfast was good, service and staff friendly and welcoming. Make you feel truly valued and special. Rooms were good, efficient housekeeping, turndown service, free internet. Only issue I found is that the room can get very cold even with the A/C switched off. Good location. Enjoyed the stay, and will definitley stay here again. I've stayed at various hotels in KL and this one seems to offer the best compromise between service, value and location.

Room Tip: Club room offers excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhian_Dobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hotel more than Raúaa very decorative and cleaners, reception and farewell, location truth of the nicest hotels
Location very, very suitable for those who visit Kuala Lumpur proximity to shopping and safety and outside the hotel available Wi-Fi network is available in hotel lobbies collection

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Damis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#25 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
1.1 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#17 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
825 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $65 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing