We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #22 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Location is excellent for KLCC, For Pavillion and generally the shopping areas. It is safe, and the atmosphere is alive 24/7. The hotel lobby is impresive, We got the suite on the 22nd Floor, the cocktail hour is nice on the 21st Floor by Invitation only, The rooms are a bit dated but acceptable. the Buffet at the Lobby is a nightmare as they cater to 400 in one sitting. Nightmare.

Room Tip: Only stay if you want Location
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us and hope to welcome you back, soon.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,837)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Istana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,215 - 2,221 of 3,838 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hotel location is the good, the staff is ok. The hotel needs renovation (bathrooms for example). You need to visit Center of Kuala Lumpur, the Petronas towers, China town, all of garneds. Alcool only in some of locations. i recommend Foot massage, full relax...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PongiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us and hope to welcome you back, soon.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at the Istana hotel for three nights from 22nd January. It look a really impressive hotel as you enter with a beautiful lobby. I have to say, from the many conflicting reviews i read before arriving ,that i didn't know really what to expect. From my own experience, the staff were really friendly and very helpfull. The food was of good quality, and had a good selection although some of the breakfast items in the buffet containers were not very hot. i had a lovely omelette at the egg station each morning. One of the best features of the hotel is its excellent location. Its only a 10 min stroll to the KL tower, the Petronas towers, and all the shopping malls ,and restaurants and bars at Bukit Bintang.The mono rail stations are also nearby. I agree with other posters that some updating of the room is required, and i had no hot water at the basins in the bathroom,although the bath water was fine. I enjoyed the evening entertainment each night as the group was very good. Overall, i enjoyed my stay and would probably return if i went to KL.

Room Tip: My front facing room on 9th floor had partial view of Petronas towers. Obviously, the higher floors...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us and hope to welcome you back, soon.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The first thing that is good about this hotel is the staffs!! Simply good, helpful, fantastic & nice. Overall, hotel is good, clean, food is good. Location is also perfect for those who like to stay near to all the hip & happening places but also with good transportation other than taxi. Rooms are ok in size, and clean also. You will love this hotel if you bring your family with you.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on top levels :)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faisal021187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us and hope to welcome you back, soon.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Hotel is very central to most things in K-L. Stayed there for 2 nights on the way from the UK to Melbourne.The free bus service is just outside the hotel so easy to get around the centre on any of the free routes, the central market is worth a visit. Turn left outside the hotel and 2 minutes away are a load of bars and restaurants to choose from. I found the lobby area very nice and the room we had was spacious and clean. The breakfast were good with a wide choice of foods to suit any taste, western, indian, malay, and chinese.

Also take a trip to the Elephant Sanctuary about 1.5 hours away, worth the trip it was amazing.

I would stay there again, maybe the rooms could do with updating a bit but were fine.

Room Tip: Use the free bus service, its easy to get around from the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InterestedHuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre.

It was truly a delightful pleasure to host you at our hotel. Your kind comments have definitely inspired us to continue to provide quality service to all our guests. Till the next time, may you have an awesome day ahead. We hope to seeing you again with another pleasant stay.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The room we were assigned had burnt mark on the carpet. The mirror in the bathroom was worn. No stand for the luggage. We asked for a room change. A staff at the Reception said they would prepare a room for us so we can change right after we came back at night. However, he didn't mark on records (nor prepare anything as said) so when we came back at night, we had to explain the whole story again and wait. After we moved into the "new" room, we found all the power outlets didn't work. 2 technicians came to fix them, without success. We gave up as it was already mid-night! The next day, we were assigned to a "better" room after I talked to the Manager but 2 out of 3 power outlets in that "better" room didn't work. Finally, they upgraded us to a suite that only 1 out of 3 power outlets didn't work. We were exhausted.

Anyhow, this hotel has a good point. That's its proximity to monorail, Pavillon, Lot 10, Starhill Gallery etc, all within walking distant. If you are looking for a spacious hotel room of location convenience but don't care of its amendities nor its look, that's OK.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre.

It was truly a delightful pleasure to host you at our hotel. Your kind comments have definitely inspired us to continue to provide quality service to all our guests. Till the next time, may you have an awesome day ahead. We hope to seeing you again with another pleasant stay.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. Very opulent foyer which is not matched by the rooms which are very tired and need updating. The staff are very helpful and the breakfasts were ok. There was always planets to chose from.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre.

Thank you for your constructive comments. We will take serious note of your feedbacks and discuss this matter with the management for further improvement.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#21 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#35 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Impiana KLCC Hotel
Impiana KLCC Hotel
#40 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $67 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing