We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #22 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I loved this hotel. I was here for 4 nights for a conference. I arrived at some ungodly hour in the morning so it's lovely to be attended to by lovely, enthusiastic staff. That lobby just screams luxury when you walk in. My room was a nice size, not as big as others I've had, but certainly not small either. What I LOVED however, was the bathroom - it was almost the same size as my room - it was HUGE! Decor a tad outdated but that's just me being fussy. My bathtub was the size of a spa bath with twin vanities - I was surprised because I'd pre-booked a "single" room - looks like I got a family room perhaps - not that I complained! It's an easy walk to local restaurants and also night-life which was handy. For the one night that I dined in on room-service, food was quick and delicious and you HAVE to try the New York style cheesecake which was easily one of the best cheesecakes I've ever had!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DancingWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,838)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Istana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,243 - 2,249 of 3,838 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is a few meters walk from the mono rail and therefore is close to everything. The rooms are small, but have everything you need. Bathrooms are a touch on the old side, but still nothing to complain about. Breakfasts were delicious! The pool was freezing, but the kids still braved it... Rooms have the most beautiful view at night. We had a lovely view of the petronis towers. Great value for money!!!!

Room Tip: The higher up the better... Make sure to stress arrival time as we were made to wait hours for our...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yayholiday_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Arrived and redirected to the 20th floor club lounge. What a nice surprise did not know our travel agent had obtained this for us. What a smooth check in. Staff are very polite and friendly. The club lounge is an oasis, teens loved the free wifi. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed. House keeping is very fast in answering any request, (extra towels, bath robes etc). The pool is clean, only disappointment was the tennis courts, they are in need of refurbishment, which we hope will happen by our next visit. The location is great, just walk down the new walk way to KLCC or catch the monorail to get to Pentaling (china town). Taxis from the hotel are expensive so haggle with the red taxis outside of the hotel. Will definantly stay here again

Room Tip: Get into club lounge. Happy hour 5.30 to 7.30pm is great.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz2153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a few issues with housekeeping here, lack of maintainence and checking of room equipment basically, but they were eventually sorted by Norman Gerard the duty manager, who was highly competent and very professional in the way he goes about it. The rest of it was great. The rooms are quite large and lobby is really something. The pool area is also great;well away from the dining room and well attended. I met a few people here and most of them were staying for the second or third time. The location is also excellent. The only down side is the crazy prices they quote for taxis. Just walk out the front and get your own.

Room Tip: Make sure everything in the room works before you accept it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaronshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hotel is lovely and the staff were so helpful and friendly
Food was great at the restaurant and value for money but we found
Drinks and food in the Lobby were a bit expensive.
Thanks to Audrey and Mifti for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: We got a free upgrade to a deluxe room which was great as we stayed there for a week. Rooms at the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have to say this will be the last time I will stay at the hotel. We have been going to this hotel due to its quality of service and the whole part of staying in a luxury and traditional hotel, however time and again during these 3 days my disappointment has been proven right.

Among these 4 rooms we had nothing was standardized. Only 1 room were provided bathrobes. The quality of bedroom slippers were pathetic. Despite booking the room from a tour agent, I really felt like the quality of service and room given was wholesale and low standard. Even the door handles were not replaced!!! Despite these in 2 rooms bedside lamp switch was stuck. I had to change the electric kettle twice because once it was either leaking or the insides were rusty. I wonder where the basic safety of the hotel went?

Also realised there were no newspapers being delivered to the rooms in the morning which i believe is a basic must in a hotel in such a popular city.

The response of staff to issues definitely lack urgency. The toilet pipes were leaking after the first night. I had to mention it to the operator 3 times. By the last time at 10pm it was too late to have maintenance to take a look at the pipes. Since the bathroom was already wet, new bathmats were required, when wanting to return the wet bathmat, the gentleman was reluctant to do so. There is clearly no ownership to any duties of the staff.

Security was clearly overlooked in the hotel. You can simply get a room key saying the room number and without any verification. My identification were not even required while checking in, hence no records of actual guests is in the hotel.

Despite all, the staff were definitely polite and courteous as always. Not one failed to wish you good day upon crossing paths. The breakfast service were definitely attentive and efficient, this goes from the cooks to the waiting staff. The staff is a good asset of the hotel but not the system. All staff encounters were pleasant. They were always smiling and had a positive disposition.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank trufflelover15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Istana for 2 nights when I visited Kuala Lumpur. I was boarded in the club room at RM335/night.

As I arrived, I found reception environment very relaxing. The staffs were very cordial and greeted with smile.

I was directed to the club lounge on the 20th floor for check in where the staff behind the desk carried out usual paper work while I enjoyed a cup of relaxing coffee in the lounge.
My club room was on the 19th floor with a cityscape view.

The room was clean and very spacious, with nice relaxing decor. The bathroom was very big and comfortable. Few lights here and there were not working; however that was not a bother.
The room did not have Wi-Fi, only wired Internet, which is ok if you have Laptop; but not so should you wish to use Tablet or smart phone. A large TV was also there; however channels were limited.

The Club lounge on the 20th floor had a relaxed environment and complementary Wi-Fi. Minor variety of complementary food and drinks during B/F, Afternoon Snacks, and evening cocktails were available at the lounge.

The breakfast spread at Taman Sari had nice variety.

But the best part of the hotel was its location. Located close to “Bintan Walk”, the most happing place of the city; the whole place could be found to be lively till very late in the night. The hotel, being well connected to the Monorail station also made travelling easy.

Overall, the stay was very pleasant and the staffs were very friendly. I recommend it.

Room Tip: The hotel has very good web site. Check out from there
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somnathk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#21 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#35 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Impiana KLCC Hotel
Impiana KLCC Hotel
#40 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $67 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing