We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Istana
Nearby Hotels
$92
$79
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$91
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$171
$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$95
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$94
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$197
$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Impiana KLCC Hotel(Kuala Lumpur)
$82
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Furama Bukit Bintang(Kuala Lumpur)(Great Value!)
$124
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$149
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,217)
Filter reviews
4,217 results
Traveler rating
1,873
1,469
533
194
148
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,873
1,469
533
194
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungetaman saribukit bintangpetronas towersmonorail stationbuffet breakfastpavilion mallrotanashoppingklsinksfoyertaxisindianasiachinatown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,625 - 2,630 of 4,217 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The best thing about our stay at hotel Istana is surly the location. Everything is just nearby and reachable in few minutes of walk. It takes only 5 minutes to reach Golden Screen Cinema at Pavilion shopping mall. Getting at KLCC Suriya in just 10 minutes walk down the walkway across the road will save a lot of time exploring the Petronus twin towers. Istana Curry House is a closeby reataurant where you can satisfy your apatite with great variety of foods at an affordable price. For those tech geeks who love gadegts the best place would be the famous LO YWAT plaza, strolling down to the Jalan Bukit Bintang 15 mins and you will find it there. The Bukit Bintang Metro Station will give less tension to catch a MRT in 10 mins. So it's highly recommended if you are looking for a Five Star place to stay and ready to take small walks to explore the great KL locations.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Terrific_Tarif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

All in all had a very disappointing stay at this hotel starting right from our check in.
We had booked this hotel instead of the Crowne Plaza as we wanted a non-smoking room and Plaza had none available. When we checked in were told that no non-smoking rooms were available, even though we had booked 5/6 weeks in advance. After 30/40 minutes of hanging around reception we finally got a non-smoking room .. so off we headed to our "Deluxe" room !!
Well I'm sorry, but if what we were shown is a "Deluxe" room in a supposedly 4/5 star hotel there's something badly wrong. Room was a decent size, but was very very basic and furnishings were quite dated.
I will be going to Kuala Lumpur around the same time next year ... but I definitely won't be staying here !!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ciaran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Istana for 2 days for a business trip. What I loved most about the hotel is its exceptionally polite and efficient staff. The room size is rather small, like most hotels located in the heart of the city. Although it was clean, the furniture looked rather old. There's no wifi in the room which is a pity. The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of choices. Getting around is easy as there's a pedestrian bridge nearby that can take you to KLCC and Pavilion.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatSik88, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us to host your stay. We truly appreciate your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back, soon. Till then, have a pleasant day ahead.

Kind regards,
Patricia Sik
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at Istana for a week. The staff is very courteous and polite. The food was very varied and delicious. Room cleanliness impeccable. I had one problem with luggage. have been confused with those of another group. I finally found the luggage, and the hotel paid for my taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cip_of_TIf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatSik88, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre. We regret for any inconvenience that might have caused.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Patricia Sik
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Check-in was slow, took almost 20-25mins. Staff could not trace our reservation and kept asking the same questions until we were quite annoyed. We had 2 twin rooms but the guy handling our check-in was confused & thought we reserved 4 rooms. Another guy came & spoke very harshly to the first guy in front of us guests, so we thought their customer service could really improve!

Room was good sized, amenities sufficient, bed comfortable. Couldn't understand how to handle the shower as there were too many knobs/levers on the wall. Room service was fast, though quite pricey. Breakfast was good with wide range, but really packed.

Overall, an acceptable & good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yenbenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatSik88, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We value your feedback as it helps us in enhancing and developing the service we provide to our guests. We will definitely bring this review to attention with our leadership team and on behalf of the team, we do express our regrets for your disappointments. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur soon.

Kind regards,
Patricia Sik
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews