We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Istana
Nearby Hotels
$130
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$144
$117
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$103
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$88
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Impiana KLCC Hotel(Kuala Lumpur)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Furama Bukit Bintang(Kuala Lumpur)(Great Value!)
$59
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,219)
Filter reviews
4,219 results
Traveler rating
1,874
1,469
534
194
148
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,874
1,469
534
194
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungetaman saribukit bintangpetronas towersmonorail stationbuffet breakfastpavilion mallrotanashoppingklsinksfoyertaxisindianasiachinatown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,656 - 2,661 of 4,219 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Istana in August 2012. Whilst the foyer and entrance are very impressive it was a shock when we entered the room. The carpet was dirty and stained the curtains dirty and the bathroom needed a good clean. The refrigerator was not working. The room was nothing like the ones presented on the internet leading to a big disappointment.
The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We had a pre-arranged trip booked and the transport did not arrive and the reception employee could not have been more helpful in finding an alternative.
We received a telephone call on arrival asking if everything was alright and when I said the room was not what we expected the reply was our comment would be noted.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClearBlueSkies007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is In a perfect location but it's expensive & desperately needs a full renovation.big swimming pool was nice but it closes TOO early as the pool attendant wants to go home for dinner.
Lobby still impressive even after all the decades.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neilmckerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Arrived here for 3 nights on 16th September. Had previously received an e-mail before our arrival inviting us to upgrade to a club room for an extra 100 MYR per night. I thought - okay wil take up the offer on arrrival. When I asked about it the receptionist asked her superior who just said - "Do you have the e-mail" to which I replied "no" and she then told us it would be an extra 150 MYR per night. Decided just to go with our original non smoking double room that we booked only to be told they only had one with two single beds that they would push together. Told them that this ws not what was booked and they said again its all they had.
Got into the room and it was quite spacious but lacking a bit in decor although it was very clean and tidy.Everything worked and seemed in good order.
Breakfast was buffet and plenty on offer for all tastes, but dont leave your tavle for too long at the buffet ot they will clear your table - happened on the first morning and would have happened the second if I did not notice the waiter heading in the table direction.
Staff were very attentive in the lobby and gave good tips on travel to nearby sites - Petronas etc and how best to get to Batu Caves by train.
Easy to walk to the main areas of Bukit Bitang and plenty of choice of places to dine etc close by.
All in all an ok hotel, but have stayed in much better for the money

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

As previous raters have noted, the cleanliness is a bit of a problem here. All the bathrooms need are a really good scrub. I didn't mind the dated bathrooms because you could see quality fixtures and I've never seen Mr Grohe's first name on a tap before! The power showers were fabulous, but again not too pleasant stepping into a shower with mould in the corners. Staff could not have been friendlier, so what the Istana lacks in refurbishment it makes up for with service. Reasonable breakfast buffet with all the usual western, oriental and Indian sub continent choices. Particularly moorish roti bread! Location is fabulous. All cab drivers know of the hotel. For the price I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank only1invillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our stay at Hotel Istana was realy great! Hotel is of a very high standard and is in a good area of Kuala Lumpur, you can basically walk anywhere you want to! We booked the "Club Room", the complimentary services/club lounge are just wonderful, it's a real treat! Will come visit again!

Room Tip: The "extras" that come with the club room are a real treat!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatSik88, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Salam Sejahtera.
Thank you for the lovely review. We do hope to host you again in the near future with more awesome experience. Till the next time, may you have a pleasant day ahead.

Kind regards,
Patricia Sik
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews