We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated but can't fault the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #10 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A bit dated but can't fault the location”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in an Executive Room on the 27th floor for two nights. From the moment we arrived at the hotel the doorman through to check-in staff was friendly and efficient. Our luggages were attended to and delivered in a timely fashion.

The room itself is medium sized, smaller than the Westin, comparable to the Grand Millennium nearby, but very high ceilings which makes the room feel bigger than it is. Well equipped but everything feels a bit dated. While there is free Internet, it's only wired Internet which is pretty much useless for tablets or ultrabooks. Wireless is available for RM50 per day or at the lounge.

The lounge on the 24th floor is quite comfortable serving breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktail. A special mention to the staff there who are very attentive and remembers their guests by names which is a nice touch. Breakfast is satisfactory but nothing that blows you away but they do change the food selection from day to day. Unfortunately there is no free option to dine at alternative restaurants if your room did not come with breakfast.

Location is really one of the biggest drawing cards for the hotel which is literally opposite The Pavilion shopping mall, which now has a connecting sky bridge (air conditioned) all the way to KLCC. However, competition is fierce in the area with many quality 5 star hotels near by which also benefits from this location benefit.

Marriott is connected to Star Hill which features mostly high-end premium fashion houses as well as a few restaurants and linking to the Ritz Carlton. Fahrenheit and Lot 10 which are malls next to the hotel are much more "general"

The gym is a bit dated e.g. no individual TV on cardio equipment but nonetheless well equipped. The separate male/female sauna, steam and spa was quite a positive as it is very spacious compared to many hotels, great way to relax.

Transfer to KLIA from the hotel in a blue taxi is RM150 while the hotel S-Class limo is RM400+

Overall, nice hotel, good location, friendly, attentive service but perhaps time to start planning a renovation program to remain competitive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contactim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,515
    651
    203
    70
    37
See reviews for
540
513
161
826
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I've stayed at the Marriot in a number of occassions, and I just love it. The food is beyond delicious. Its right in the middle of Kl at Bukit Bintang road, which makes it one of the best situated 5 star hotels in the City. If you are a shopaholic,partyholic,, you will love the fact that, Pavillion mall is just opposite the road from the hotel, plus the High end Boutiques of StarHill Gallery. Their rooms are huge, clean and very comfortable. I loved the huge double Mirrors in the Bathrooms. Definately staying here, when I come back to Malaysia!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharifaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is essentially what you expect from a 5 star hotel. Luxurious lobby and rooms, friendly and attentive service, and great location. I'd highly recommend staying here for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akbarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was our first time driving to Marriott from Penang. Things started to dive after we turned into the hotel car park. We parked in a lot on the same level as the car park entrance. We were very rudely honked at by a valet driving into the car park who also shouted at us to get out of the lot as they are all reserved. It was not written anywhere that the lots were reserved and there was also no cone placed on the lot that we had just parked, unlike some of the empty lots. We were too tired from the long drive to argue and had to put our luggage back to drive further down the car park for another lot.

Next at the front desk, the staff was very indifferent when he greeted us. He did not bother to inform us that we will not be getting a double bed or where the breakfast place was despite both request being indicated on the printed booking that we had brought along.

In the room, there was a pack of opened cotton pad stuffed into the toiletries container, obviously left by the previous guest. We also observed a layer of dust in the cupboard where the fridge is placed.

For wifi, you have to pay RM 50 a day here. We stayed at G Hotel in Penang and wifi was free. Thought Marriott is rather backward in this area and being in the capital!

The staff who showed us our table at breakfast had a really long face. He was in the middle of writing when he was asked to show us to our table. The restaurant was not very crowded yet as it was only 810am. The staff didn't even bother to inform us that we had to sign in on the breakfast.

We observed that the service staff in general appear to be more helpful and friendly towards the Caucasians.

We were really glad to have only stayed one night here and will never return. It speaks volumes when the customer fronting staff are indifferent to hotel guests in a hotel chain that prides itself in enriching relationships.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soaring_eagle_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

After our trip to Singapore we spent 3 nights at this hotel exploring KL. It has a great location on Butik Bintang and it's walking distance to most attractions including the Petronas towers. The hotel is beautiful and rooms are immaculate. We were upgraded to a suite because of my husbands Platinum status and the room had 12 feet ceilings. The toiletries were nice and service immaculate.

The executive lounge is one of the best I have experienced. The service was great and the breakfast at Shook restaurant was great. It had a ton of choices including fresh Malaysian parathas which were are real treat for my kids.

We enjoyed this hotel tremedously and would return back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We would recommend this hotel either for a city break or business travel. The location is great: right in the heart of all the city's activities, nicely commented to public transport. Well-appointed guest room with a comfortable bed, bathroom needing a bit of maintenance but a good size and with quality amenities. Friendly staff, many very fluent in English. However, very slow check-in and check-out procedures, which was disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have stayed in this hotels couple of times this year, most recently in Dec 2012. It continue to be among the best hotel in town.

Excellent Location
I would like to highlight the excellent location again, with Pavillion shopping mall just opposite.

Free wifi for Marriott Elite Member (Gold & Platinum)
Yes, I received the free wifi dongle powered by yes 4G. It's portable which I can carry it to anywhere as I like. It allows me to connect up to 4 gadgets. The speed is reasonable fast. Note that free cable internet is available to all hotel guests.

Stayed in the Executive floor, which having slightly better toiletries (Cabtree). The executive lounge is with decent size but it's often full during cocktail hours from 6pm to 8pm. Food served are in good quality although limited selection.

Excellent staff service, was greeted and escorted to my room by the Customer Recognition Officer (Amin). You can expect for service from reaching the hotel in your limo, door are opened, luggage are carried and sent to your room. Bell boy even recognize me after few stays.

Overall, JW Marriott will continue to be my first choice to stay in KL.

Room Tip: Stay on lower floor if you can't stand to wait for the slow elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,623 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
9,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
7,015 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 183 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern L-shaped Tower Hotel situated in Star Hill complex, a mixed-use development including a six-level retail mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Kuala Lumpur
Marriott Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing