We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't give 5 stars”
Review of Taps Beer Bar

Taps Beer Bar
Ranked #50 of 4,681 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Taps Beer Bar is the only pure craft beer bar in Kuala Lumpur. We import beers from all over the world (USA, UK, Japan, Denmark, Belgium, Japan, Australia and New Zealand) on tap and in bottles. We have 14 different beers on tap and up to 60 bottles available! We also have bands playing on Thursdays to Saturdays from 9.30pm onwards. Come join us for a night of craft beer and live music... oh.. and pizzas!
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Everything there is top notch: the beer, the cocktails, the food, and even the ambiance when the band is on. But I can't give 5 stars: the price is ridiculous. 40RG (after tax) for a "pint" (actually more like 350ml) of beer? Come on...

Thank Typique
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MiliTaps, Owner at Taps Beer Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Hi - thanks for the time you took to review Taps. We appreciate your feedback :)

The beers are served in a 430ml glass, and does cost a bit more than locally brewed beers, as these are independently imported from craft/boutique breweries from different countries, and also, their ABV content tends to be abit higher than local beers. Most of our beers cost between RM24 and RM30 before tax (i.e. RM26.70 to RM34.80 after tax and service charge), and between RM21 and RM27 during Happy Hour. And our bottled beers start from RM21 onwards. We do carry a number of premium beers which can cost a bit more.

Glad you liked the food and cocktails, and our band as well... Hope to see you back there soon. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 347 of 419 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

This bar has by far the largest amount of imported beer taps I have came across in Malaysia.
The atmosphere is casual and relaxing. I was there on a Saturday night, and even though it was packed, the pub still has the relaxing atmosphere to it.
If you are looking for an experiential drinking experience. Do check this bar out. Do not be afraid to try out the selections available!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
3  Thank Ida L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiliTaps, Owner at Taps Beer Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Hi Ida, Thanks for the review! Good to hear you enjoyed yourself... Hope to see you back there soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Loved the choice of beers had a fantastic Valhalla that I loved along with a mango and orange jungle beer that my wife loved. Drinks were priced pretty much the same as at home and the food the same we spent about 35 GBP on 4 drinks and 2 pizzas seemed pretty reasonable to me. Quite quiet but it was a Monday night and we left a little early as we were leaving the next day and wanted to see more of the city would definitely come back when we are next in KL

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiliTaps, Owner at Taps Beer Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Hi! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Malaysia, and maybe see you back the next time you pass through town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great selection of quality beers with good service and atmosphere. Not the best location in KL but worth the effort!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank r15xeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiliTaps, Owner at Taps Beer Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hi Thanks for the review!! Hope to see you back there soon :) Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Interesting food, nice touch with rendang pizza. Empty place when we arrived at 8pm on a Sunday. Great range of beers. There are so many fantastic restaurants in KL for food. This is really only a place for beer and snacks not authentic local food. The first time trip advisor has disappointed us with a high rating, although the choice of beer was the best we have seen in KL.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thetravelbugs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiliTaps, Owner at Taps Beer Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hi Thanks for taking the time to write the review! Hopefully, If you do come back again, give some our local food a try - such as the nasi goreng and char kuey teow, as well as some of our dishes with a Malaysia twist - such as the sambal ikan bilis pizza or our satay pizza. Have a good week! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taps Beer Bar also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Taps Beer Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing