We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
20
21
10
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
21
10
11
9
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 71 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at Eclipse. The rooms are really basic and could do with a hoover, but alright overall. There is a big lounge room with a TV and wifi which is nice to chill out in. The staff are friendly and I felt that the security in the guesthouse was really good. I think there is also a free breakfast, although I never actually made the most out of that. The hostel is in a really good location, close to chinatown and some train stations, making it super convenient to get around the city. (don't use taxis as they normally refuse you entry unless you agree to completely rip off prices, we got stranded for 3 hours outside a football stadium!) The only negative about this place is the bathroom, there is only one shower that works, so is often in use and the toilet is a bit gross. But it certainly isn't the worst I've seen during my trip-so I wouldn't let that put you off. All in all we have had an enjoyable stay and would recommend it if you're on a budget, looking for somewhere safe and central.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

really clean , didnt expect that , nice living room big kitchen , and the place is close to Chinese food , bars , national park , boss station, and train as well . i really enjoy my self spatially in the weekly living room jam , it was wonderful to watch people around the word sing in their own language . travel is not all about taking pic of nice place , is also about knowing people very well , and i was so lucky to have a chance to meet lots of nationality from Europe , south america ! and even japan.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisa67Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hostel is located very close to everything bus station, food bla bla. Staff is great ambiance is perfect and most importantly it's super clean. Not just superficial clean but real clean. This is the only hostel you can do so much here all kind of activities sports, coffee, watch movies meet many new people. I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhmadS1436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

apparently this place is not what it used to be anymore. the rooms, the toilets, the kitchen (which is not in use anymore), and the whole guesthouse was extremely dirty, even the walls. the good points: you can watch films for free in a TV room (around 75% of the DVDs I tried didn't work), and they have two computers with free internet access (which are usually busy). after three months of travel around south east asia, I can definitely say this is one of the worst accomodations I've been (talking in quality-price terms).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hector_Ternura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'm having a bit of trouble rating or describing this place. Usually hostels are really good or really bad, but this one... well read on:

Good things first:
- Staff is really nice. They are always up for a chat and recommended many places to me. They create a nice homely atmosphere and enjoy hanging out with guests. It's like staying with friends!
- As well the reception area and the common areas upstairs are quite nice.
- Free Wifi was working good and they even provide Computers for those travelling without an own device.
- Simple free brekky provided.
- Conveniently located. You can walk to the bus terminal, to Petaling Street, Kasturi Walk and the Petronas Towers. As well there are so many Hawker Stalls and Eateries around

Critics:
- One of the receptionists does hardly speak any English at all. I'm not expecting perfect English, but in a place catering travellers from all over the world,a certain level of English can be requested when handeling customers!
- Akward: You could not lock the dorm. They tell you to use the locker, but seriously... What abt my luggage? Anyone could go in and search my bags or take it. You can impossibly lock everything up in such a small locker!!
- Bedbugs. Yes it can happen anytime and anywhere, but still it seemed to be a big problem here. Several guests from different rooms (including me) got bitten.
- Kitchen was actually ok, but could do with a good clean. Needs tea towels and to be a bit better equipped in general (never seen any knives there?).
- Worst for me: The bathrooms. und down, ok nvm too much. But cleanliness? OMG... Sry but even for Asian standard they were pretty grotty. Downstairs a quite high step leads to the bathrooms which gets very slippery when wet.
Toilet Paper outside of the bathroom!? Unlucky you if you realise that too late...
The hallway to the Bathrooms seemed not to be finished, but I couldn't notice any work in progress. Worst: Bin in the toilet had not been changed in days and the floor smelled of Urine. If you shower in the same room so the floor is more or less constantly wet, it really means something if the floor gets smelly. Disgusting!! Upstairs was a bit better, but not great either.

Honestly sorry, but no matter how nice staff were, I would not return. Mostly because of the disgusting bathrooms. Management really has to do sth about that issue.
This place could turn into a great little gem with fixing a few issues!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews