We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$137
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$201
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$265
$163
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascott Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$123
$112
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$118
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$89
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$148
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
20
21
10
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
21
10
11
9
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 71 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

apparently this place is not what it used to be anymore. the rooms, the toilets, the kitchen (which is not in use anymore), and the whole guesthouse was extremely dirty, even the walls. the good points: you can watch films for free in a TV room (around 75% of the DVDs I tried didn't work), and they have two computers with free internet access (which are usually busy). after three months of travel around south east asia, I can definitely say this is one of the worst accomodations I've been (talking in quality-price terms).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hector_Ternura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'm having a bit of trouble rating or describing this place. Usually hostels are really good or really bad, but this one... well read on:

Good things first:
- Staff is really nice. They are always up for a chat and recommended many places to me. They create a nice homely atmosphere and enjoy hanging out with guests. It's like staying with friends!
- As well the reception area and the common areas upstairs are quite nice.
- Free Wifi was working good and they even provide Computers for those travelling without an own device.
- Simple free brekky provided.
- Conveniently located. You can walk to the bus terminal, to Petaling Street, Kasturi Walk and the Petronas Towers. As well there are so many Hawker Stalls and Eateries around

Critics:
- One of the receptionists does hardly speak any English at all. I'm not expecting perfect English, but in a place catering travellers from all over the world,a certain level of English can be requested when handeling customers!
- Akward: You could not lock the dorm. They tell you to use the locker, but seriously... What abt my luggage? Anyone could go in and search my bags or take it. You can impossibly lock everything up in such a small locker!!
- Bedbugs. Yes it can happen anytime and anywhere, but still it seemed to be a big problem here. Several guests from different rooms (including me) got bitten.
- Kitchen was actually ok, but could do with a good clean. Needs tea towels and to be a bit better equipped in general (never seen any knives there?).
- Worst for me: The bathrooms. und down, ok nvm too much. But cleanliness? OMG... Sry but even for Asian standard they were pretty grotty. Downstairs a quite high step leads to the bathrooms which gets very slippery when wet.
Toilet Paper outside of the bathroom!? Unlucky you if you realise that too late...
The hallway to the Bathrooms seemed not to be finished, but I couldn't notice any work in progress. Worst: Bin in the toilet had not been changed in days and the floor smelled of Urine. If you shower in the same room so the floor is more or less constantly wet, it really means something if the floor gets smelly. Disgusting!! Upstairs was a bit better, but not great either.

Honestly sorry, but no matter how nice staff were, I would not return. Mostly because of the disgusting bathrooms. Management really has to do sth about that issue.
This place could turn into a great little gem with fixing a few issues!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Pros: great location, common room with tv and films was really cool for rainy afternoons, free breakfast and computer use.
Cons: I had a bad stomach when I was there and there was only one toilet in use for about 15 people and it's in the shower so be prepared to queue for the shower/loo. the bathroom area could be a lot cleaner, the bins were rank.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deewii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stuff is very nice!!!
I love the atmosphere of this guesthouse. nice rooftop which is part of my memory of this journey with the sun was shining and elly who was working in the guesthouse and some times join us for chat .i tried some food in kitchen and I enjoy it
Some problems in toilet which I talked to owner ,
she was agree completely listened and she repair next day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokoliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

they are in renew ion, but room is clean cozy kitchen with nice lady always have something to taste , breakfast is jam and toast and living room is the best in city , big cold and plenty of moves to watch, so cool, I quit enjoy that

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews