We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home”
Review of The Bodhi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bodhi Lodge
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Actually there is nothing else to say than home away from home.
I had a really nice stay at this place and the host Gege made it even better. She knows all the places at KL and is always happy to help you out. If you dont know where to go or what to eat just approach her and she will tell you all the secrets. The hostel by itself is great value for the money. The kitchen is well equipped and she provides even free drinking water. The Bodhi Lodge is located just a 5 minute walk from the bustling bar scene of Bangsar. And if you want to go out to the city, the MTR is around 2 minutes away. I highly recommend this place and I am looking forward to stay there again for doing another cookout ;-).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Der-Bonvivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for The Bodhi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 71 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights. The place is ideal for rest and recuperation or visiting all sights in KL. Although I was unwell during my first 2 days the place was ideal to recover with the single rooms available for my needs. Clean, relaxing and comfortable accomodation with very helpful owner xox

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank YogiJogi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We only stayed here for one night, arriving late and leaving early, but it did the job for a cheap stopover. Describing this as a Buddhist retreat is probably a bit elaborate, but it does have clean basic rooms at a budget price. We had the family room next to the bathroom near reception, and although the room itself smelt a bit strange, it was fine. The shared bathrooms were clean, and the common area was quite pleasant. The location was also good, not too far from KL Sentral.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotty21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Well, I've never been to the other ones in KL but the lady(prob the owner, I forgot her name sorry :P) was superrr kind. She was really helping me to get the idea of KL, where to visit and stuff and gave me a free map, and made me an approximate route of travel. Room was clean, toilets and showers were clean, air conditioned, has own locker. 100% going back

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BossHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

British couple, backpackers, budget to mid range travellers.
We stayed here three nights.
This is a lovely hostel, the owner is so friendly and helpful, she has done some travelling, so can give advise with travel plans and plenty of recommendations.
We had a private double, very clean and good a/c, there are two shared bathrooms with electric water heaters, again very clean. You can use the kitchen area and fridge, so for breakfast we bought a box of cereal and milk, there's a 7 eleven just down the road.
Location is very good, 5min walk to the MRT, then only 20min on the MRT to the KLCC. There's also plenty of local restaurants around the hostel.
We would defiantly stay here again if we ever return to KL.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The owner GG will recommended you the place you should visit and help to make up your plan which is very good. It is walk-able to sentral station which is very convenience. The whole guest-house is clean and well design like home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KACE_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I chose this place because of reviews alone. It has definitely lived up to them all!

Bodhi Lodge is very clean, the hosts are super friendly and just want to offer great KL advice. Both Gege and Michael are travellers who know KL well and have been all over Malaysia too.

I stayed in the two bed room which was small but perfectly fine! It was clean and had everything I needed. The wifi is fast (I could Skype with a clear picture), the showers are clean, the whole place has a nice homely feel to it and its location is great! <5 mins walk from Bangsar station (which is one station up from KL Sentral).

Awesome place. Awesome owners. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parkway_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
#26 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
326 reviews
0.6 mi away
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
#12 of 278 in Kuala Lumpur
338 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreamville Hostel
Dreamville Hostel
#26 of 278 in Kuala Lumpur
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Signature Hotel Little India @ Brickfields KL Sentral
Signature Hotel Little India @ B...
#43 of 278 in Kuala Lumpur
32 reviews
1.5 mi away
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
#16 of 278 in Kuala Lumpur
171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Joy Inn Hotel
Joy Inn Hotel
#70 of 344 in Kuala Lumpur
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bodhi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bodhi Lodge

Address: 18A, Jalan Kemuja | Bangsar Utama, Kuala Lumpur 56100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $12 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bodhi Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique budget accommodation. Our Lodge offers an ideal place for travelers, friends and students who are searching for short or long stays whilst on business or leisure trips in clean & comfortable rooms and secure environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Bodhi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing