We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel but rude receptionist” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tai-Ichi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tai-Ichi Hotel
Ranked #68 of 322 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good hotel but rude receptionist”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

a very good hotel and lovely/friendly cleaner.. however both of the receptionist are very rude... both of the chinese woman (receptionist) are seems so racist as they would entertain the chinese people first even though we came first. Furthermore, they even answer my question rudely and with their unfriendly face....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nazurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    18
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
5
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Excellent location considering shopping, amenities, money changers and food
really comfy beds
amazing shower
compact rooms
However the reception staff can be more courteous

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IlikeTai-ichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

I'm writing this down as I am staying at this hotel. To book this hotel via telephone is such a horrible experience. My mum rang this hotel and was answered rudely by a Chinese woman saying that she couldn't really book the hotel for us. We need to physically be here to actually book it. She couldn't really hold the room for us just because we are bot in KL at that moment. We are a big family of 11 people including a 2 year old baby and all we want are 2 comfortable big bedrooms. The family suite costs RM299 and it fits 4 people each room so we booked 2 family suite room. Since there are 11 of us, the remaining 3 persons were charged RM12 each. I really thought that they won't charge the baby as well coz he barely takes up any space. We think that this hotel rooms are overly priced and I have no idea what makes this hotel a superbly worth I dunno how many stars.

The keys to our hotel didnt work at first and the electricity went down a few minutes when we got into one of the rooms. The wifi sucks. It kept on disconnecting. When asked about the username and password, the receptionist gave us the information but when we rang again coz it didn't work, she went, "Aiyaaaa, the username is bla bla bla and password is bla bla bla.." yes I know that's how you need to do to get the wifi but if it didn't work, surely you need to tell them and expect them to rectify it but surely we didn't deserve that treatment.

I asked for an extra key and unfortunately they don't and can't issue an extra key. Of all chip reading door hotel that I've been to, surely they can program a key at an extra price. I don't mind paying the extra price but for this hotel? Come on surely they can do better than that!

I seriously think that this hotel is crap for family and seriously not suitable. Yea its in one of the best location in Bukit Bintang but overly priced. It's clean and all but it all of it just cancels out with the treatment from the rude receptionist. I dont think this hotel deserves any stars that they are worth. For this price, they might as well have a swimming pool or a gym or a free breakfast. Some people said its quiet but believe it or not, you can hear old people singing karaoke and cars honking and loud motorbikes.

Sincerely,
Unsatisfied customer

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Al486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
277 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had a hotel booked but were given wrong directions by the booking website so after walking in the heat for 30 minutes gave up and walked into this place. We stayed in the new wing for $50 and were pleasantly surprised - a very new modern room with flat screen TV, powerful rain shower, great AC and a good quality mattress. The room was fairly small but fine for a couple of nights. Good value compared to the other 3 hotels I have used in KL, and right on the busy shopping/eating street of Bukit Bintang.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluecramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Iris Garden Hotel
Iris Garden Hotel
#259 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sungei Wang Hotel
Sungei Wang Hotel
#135 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#137 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#83 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Suites Hotel
Golden Suites Hotel
#52 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Smile Hotel @ Warisan Cityview
#116 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tai-Ichi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tai-Ichi Hotel

Property: Tai-Ichi Hotel
Address: Tai Ichi Hotel 78 & 80 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tai-Ichi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tai-Ichi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing