We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bird Nest Guest House I
Ranked #28 of 332 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Clean, cosy guesthouse in a great location. The Iguanas are really cool. We stayed just a short 2 nights on our way back from vacation in Sabah. Took the Pudu Sentral (China town) bus from LCCT for 8rmb. Bus lets off a short walking distance from the guesthouse. Great base to stay at in KL. The only downside is room walls are very thin and you hear people walking up and down the hall. But for the price, really can't complain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aiyun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    26
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
3
46
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We really loved this place it is really full of character and full of characters as well. The place is like a row of jungle huts in the heart of Kuala Lumpur and has a tropical feel. We stayed in the room with air con but the fan works just as well. It has a lovely area for sitting and getting to know other travellers and the owner of the hostel who was a cool guy. This place attracts some really awesome people to a laid back place and I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. The rooms are Clean and it has ll right elements for making a truly awesome guesthouse. Oh and it is in a great location too....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summerbeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I ended up in birdnest 1 without any knoladge about the place, but found a very home-like guesthouse. Clean, cosy, a nice little terrace and a lot of information about KL. I stayed in the dorm (four beds), which had some noise from the street but was pleasant.
Only small downside; when I arrived there was nobody who spoke english to explain me some things. But there is plenty information on the walls. And when the owner dropped in, he was happy to help me with some tips for KL.
Anyway, nice atmosphere. If I will go back to Kuala Lumpur, I would defenitly stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloon0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at this excellent guest house for the third time this past week. Owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms and common area are very clean and comfortable, really nothing but positive things to say about this place. The owner makes himself available to all his guests for help with navigating the city and around. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katebyrne21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palikbang Perhentian, Kelantan, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The birdnest guesthouse is the best guesthouse I'v stayed in so far! The rooms are clean and big enough, the owner, Willy, is an amazing guy, the location is perfect and the price is even better! Hot showers available ( and after 7 months it feels soooo good ), a terras to hang out and meet other people, the cat's cool, and staff is helpful! I would say, if you're planning to stay in Chinatown on a budget, make sure you come to the birdnest!No worries here!

Joost G.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joost13_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We are a couple with two young French 25 years it has been six months as we travel through different countries in South East Asia, our first visit to the guesthouse was July 15, 2012 for 5 days and stop us are income for 6 days in the same guesthouse. We both organizational consultants. We have done approximately 30 guesthouses in Asia at the moment, I think the birdnest is well placed. During discussion with the owner we offered to help make the point on the feedback of its customers and to report the findings of our study so that it can improve all its services. Historically, birdnest one is an old guesthouse, which does not fail to be filled with the word of passengers and tips about the city. If you are looking for somewhere new for the same price request birdnest 2 but you do not have the atmosphere of birdnest 1. I personally find the value and engagement manager at height. There are always to make investments and improvements to implement but this guesthouse is called into question and I'm sure in the near future will be even better.

Finally, I allows you to read the conclusion that we wrote with the criteria studied and the method of analysis.
I put a high note with pleasure at this guesthouse because they are really honest people and sometimes even if it is not quite the standard that you want, it does not fail to give of themselves to help you, you just ask and it's free :)

Feedback Birdnest 1 :
The guesthouse Birdnest 1 appears as an address to know about Kuala Lumpur for travelers. Good location, good atmosphere and ambience traveler to stay a few days, it is a pleasant place with a very good manager who is often praised.
However, we see that the level of expectations of travelers and offers the guesthouse, there are some differences. Reviews are quite positive and most critical are the level of quality rooms all beds on the problems of heat and cleanliness is not always up to the customer expectations. Then, it is rather a case by case like some problems with team, problems at the reception and check out.
The range of services offered to stay for guests is a positive, but does not change the order of the minimum guesthouse must be in terms of comfort, cleanliness and value for money.

Feedback Birdnest Guesthouse 1

1- Criteria when customers check-in
2- Services desired by guests
3- Staff
4- Rooms Quality
5- Cleanliness
6- Services utilized
7- Degree of satisfaction for each service
8- Quality //Feedback of guesthouse
9- Benchmark web
10 – Feedback in Tripadvisor
11 - Feedback Agoda
12- Analysis of feedback left by Internet users of Tripadvisor and Agoda

Method
We used the results of the Google form (introduced from 15 July 2012) on the Birdnest 1 guesthouse reception’s computer. We also supported our results on Tripadvisor, Agoda and various blogs offer an overview of its customers think about this guesthouse.
We built qualitative analysis to help put forward the arguments for the manager can take decisions organizational and improvement. We have make excel file which includes all extracts on the internet that could be communicate if the team Birdnest desire.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuillaumeT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked based on trip advisor reviews and as usually pretty bang on were disappointed. We thought the rooms had private bathrooms however upon arrival were shown to a tiny tiny box room with 2 small single beds and a table no room for bags or to really move around. We decided to move to the sister hotel as 2 female travellers we need a little space, we were only told however after walking to the other place it was more than double the price. Despite our tight budget we parted with the 80RM a night and checked in to LokAn (see other review)

I just wanted to write the facts so people with expectations dont make the wrong decision as we did as this place obviously really suits some people and I cant fault the friendly fun vibe.

Strengths:
Friendly welcoming staff, really helpful, lots of tips and advice etc
Roof terrace and chill out area available
Jackie the cat is adorable and the iguana pets are cool
Cheap
Excellent chinatown location right by Petaling Market and walking distance to most attractions ( map provided with directions pointed out

Weaknesses:
Unfortunately the cat leaves its scent and the whole place smells of cat pee. You have to leave shoes on the stairs and our converse stunk after just a few hours, think she may have relieved herself near them or sprayed them
Tiny tiny rooms which are very hot

As I say its a shame as its a nice vibe but if you can cope with the smell and the heat its a nice, buzzy little place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallulahPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
#17 of 257 in Kuala Lumpur
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Birdnest Collective Cafe & Guesthouse
Birdnest Collective Cafe & Guest...
#20 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Natalie Guesthouse
Natalie Guesthouse
#71 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#3 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 257 in Kuala Lumpur
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agosto Inn
Agosto Inn
#19 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Nest Guest House I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Nest Guest House I

Property: Bird Nest Guest House I
Address: 135 1st Floor Jalan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 332 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birdnest Guesthouse is a budget backpackers in the heart of Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur. We have dormitories, single, double and triple rooms, with or without AC, a communal chill-out and kitchen area, book exchange and free WIFI ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing