We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience - Eat, Pray and Love Walking Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Be Tourist Malaysia Heritage

Be Tourist Malaysia Heritage
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Kuala Lumpur Heritage Walk
Ranked #7 of 67 Tours in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For anyone who wants to understand the many facets that make up Malaysia today, start with a stroll through Kuala Lumpur's oldest neighborhood. As you discover the heritage sites of KL, a tin mining settlement that has grown into a thriving metropolis, you'll also hear stories of what brought Chinese and Indian immigrants, the trades they practiced and their traditions and beliefs, many of which endure today. Sample a variety of authentic foods and see where different communities worship. Eat with locals, experience the places they live and pray and fall in love with a city and a people!
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience - Eat, Pray and Love Walking Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My girlfriend and I took the Eat, Pray, Love tour. Although we got there 30 mins late, the staff at their office were very helpful and led us to join the group. Our tour guide was Sean who was very friendly, sincere and accommodating. He was very knowledgeable, had great command of English and opened our eyes to various aspects of Malaysian culture such as religion, food and its history. You really do need to go on this tour with an empty stomach because you will be taken to different places to try a vast selection of food which range from having breakfast at a local Malaysian diner, sitting at a food market eating a selection of different Chinese noodles and then eating with your hands at an Indian restaurant.

Sean took us to a Buddhist temple, a Hindu temple, showed us the old buildings before everything became highly modernised, took us through Chinatown, Little India and more. He was very happy to answer any of our questions and was enthusiastic the whole time. All in all, it was a fantastic experience and I would highly recommend anyone to try this tour.

Thank you Be Tourist for an unforgettable time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PatCat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    93
    13
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved 'Eat, Pray, Love' walking tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I took our 15 year daughter on this tour. We thoroughly enjoyed every single minute, and didn't mind at all that the tour ran over time. If you want to really experience KL and immerse yourself in the culture, history and food, then this is the tour for you. You eat where no other Westerners eat, with the locals. The tour is really well planned and there is no way we could have experienced this on our own. You get a taste for the diversity of culture, food and religion within a short radius of the Central Market area. Sean, our enthusiastic tour guide, was informative, entertaining and always willing to answer any of our questions. He has a passion for the historical precinct and this shone through as part of the general commentary. At no time did we feel that we were rushed in experiencing the food or sights. We could spend more time looking at things that interested us, and were even lucky enough to see a wedding underway in the Hindu Temple we visited. Sean really looked after us, navigating the group through the traffic .We even felt more confident crossing roads ourselves after being with him. Thank you Be Tourist and especially Sean! We will never forget our time with you!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank j9g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We did the Eat, Pray, Love evening tour. Hard to put into words how amazing it was. Sean our guide was so knowledgable & fun & explained & showed us all about Malay history, culture & of course foods. This is a must tour but go on an empty stomach as it's non stop eating all the way. Our whole family loved loved loved this walking tour

Helpful?
Thank LillyGorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sensory overload and I loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

On the tour 2 Austrian girls, an Aussie based Malay couple and me. I didn't need breakfast, it was so very laid on. So as not to repeat other reviews I guess KL is an onslaught of people, traffic, food stalls, construction and selling. For the westerner the morning was an occ health and safety eye opener from holes in pavements to construction, actually words won't do justice, come and try it. As a visitor I would not have had the confidence and knowing to find the eating places we went to. The temples Buddist and Hindu were so very interesting and our guide was very well informed. I think the Malaysian Gov Tourism dept are missing a very big opportunity by knocking down the old quarter, how many tourists don't want a great from the endless selling. Well done Be Tourist I totally recommend you, oh and try the live fish massage in the market, not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaneB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Eat like a local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just loved the tour. Best bits were the food. Going to local spots. Advice on the food. Eating with your hands. Fab. The Heritage bit , I am not so sure about, it's sad that there really is none other than some burnt out buildings. My advice. Go to get off the beaten track. See some fab temples and experience Sean's enthusiasm. But don't expect massive history.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank N11alo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Be Tourist Malaysia Heritage also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Be Tourist Malaysia Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing