We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Serenity Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Serenity Hostels
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great place to sleep when you are in Kuala Lumpur, clean dorms for a good Price. People working there our nice and Will help you out with questions. And The Kuala Lumpur twin tower are On walking distance!

Erwin The Netherlands

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    35
    15
    14
See reviews for
4
5
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

the hostel is near the monorail station. Centrally located in the party area of kuala lumpur. All rooms are airconditioned. You get your own bath towel. Cctv cameras everywhere so the place is very secured. Plenty of shower rooms. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff. Powerful wifi connection.

The amount you pay for is cheap but you will definitely get more than what you paid for.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisnoxfrommanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was an amazing place to stay. I could befriend a lot of people and had fun while i stayed in this back packer's hostel. They had plenty of showers and rest rooms and so you would never be late to set out even if you wake up in the last minute. They serve bread toast and breakfast, the Pakistan-origin hosts are good in interpersonal skills and are way helpful. There is a rooftop where you could party gazing at the high rises and skyscrapers. A night life so powerful that you would think it is new years night every night till 4 am. This is a great area to stay in Kuala Lumpur.

Room Tip: please ensure they have enough beds available before hand. They usually are houseful most of the tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinodgopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

this hostel was very good value for money, the staff were super friendly and it was in a very lively part of the city, close to main attractions and the metro. if i am in KL again I will certainly stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukeyboy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Clean, Good fast wi-fi, Convenient location in the middle of Changkat Bukit Bintang, easy to get to KL station via the monorail and good access to the airport, cheap, friendly staff. What more could you ask for? Thanks! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nour8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Serenity Hostel is a simple place to stay and the rate is cheaper too, considering that Bukit Bintang is centrally located, near to everything. We had a hard time locating the place because the sign board outside is too small. The sign board of Finnegan (spelling?) Club is already faded that we cannot read it at the road. The staffs at the front desk were so friendly, accommodating and would assist you of whatever queries, especially the owner's wife, Imran and Anwar. Thanks guys. There's a free complimentary breakfast at the pantry- coffee & sandwich. There's only one computer at the common area for everyone but I suggest there must be limit of time to use because other guests were also waiting for their turn to use. The room was clean but be sure to choose or request a room NOT beside the street because loud noise outside from the night clubs are annoying during sleep. The lockers are for rent MYR2/day and provide your own padlock. There were only 4 toilets functional that time. There were 6 shower rooms. Those 4 shower rooms at the roof top were so good than those downstairs with very slow shower. I am meticulous with toilets and bathrooms, and I was frustrated with the stains on the floor, lack of clean up, the toilet papers mess and the odor. I suggest they hire a staff to clean the toilets and shower rooms properly. The lights in the room will all light when you switch on, so everybody wakes up when somebody comes in. I suggest that switch would be separated so if you switch on the light, others on the other side of the room will not be disturbed. Better yet, each bed should have its own reading light.

Room Tip: Request a room NOT beside the street to avoid annoying noise from night clubs and bars during your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slazenger552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromma, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

For the price I paid, I would say, it worth it. The dorm and the bed is really nice although the mattress kindda thin but its OK, my back is not hurt. Hahaha! Only the toilet/bathroom is not that "nice". It needs some regular clean up but its OK. They also have "roof top" bathroom which I find it kindda funny. The location is just right in the middle of busy, noisy and lively place of Kuala Lumpur. The noise outside did not bothered me that much anyway and I still able to sleep peacefully.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsianEDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.8 mi away
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
#14 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grocer's Inn
Grocer's Inn
#64 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travellers Palm Lodge
Travellers Palm Lodge
#25 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Step-Inn Too Guesthouse
Step-Inn Too Guesthouse
#5 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
#18 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Hostels

Property: Serenity Hostels
Address: 20 Jalan Changkat | Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly Serenity Bed & Breakfast)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 259 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Serenity Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at Serenity, the new bed and breakfast for backpackers in the heart of Kuala Lumpur. Serenity is simplicity done right: we are clean, cozy and central. Serenity is situated in Changkat bukit bintang, off the trendy Bukit Bintang tourist belt, where nightlife life is cool and long. Wedged between classy restaurants and hearty bars, Serenity allows travelers to unwind and rest after a day in the city. We offer just what you need at a great price. Enjoy the free breakfast and wi-fi. Take your time to relax. The party is just a stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serenity Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing