We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“satisfying & comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 322 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“satisfying & comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

"Don't judge a book by it's cover" - although the neighborhood looks somewhat a bit dodgy on the outside, the place was really cool & very clean inside. Excellent location, too. The guesthouse is just minutes away by foot to the major places of interest (i.e., KL Tower, Petronas Twin Towers, Bukit Bintang area). It is also just a walking distance to the Raja Chulan monorail station making it very convenient to go around the city & nearby attractions like the Batu Caves, just have to transfer to the KTM Komuter line to go there.

The staff speaks very good English so communication is not a problem & they are very accommodating. I even enjoyed a short chit-chat with one of them, Mac.

Will definitely stay here again when I get a chance to be back in KL.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhe0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    315
    69
    9
    9
See reviews for
102
333
114
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in Orange Pekoe for 4 days and we enjoyed it.
We felt ourselves very welcome and the staff was very friendly and helped us all the time.
The 2 rooms we had, were very clean.
If we would come back to KL, we would definitely return to this guesthouse.
Well located, in a quiet neighbourhood, with highly motivatede staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an inside bathroom, The room is more spacious than the one with the private bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Small, clean guesthouse in Kuala Lumpur. Just a 10 minutes walk from the famous Petronas Towers.
The rooms are quite spacious, with new furniture, free WIFI, clean sheets and towels. The bathroom is quite small, in fact you're having a shower in the toilet ;-).
But it's sufficient, with a strong and warm radius .

The staff of the hotel is very friendly: they can give you a map of the town and lot of suggestions regarding transport etc. In the lobby you can find a TV, nice couches and some pc's with internet.

To get to Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, from the airport, we took the public bus. Price: only 8RM per person for an one hour drive. You can easily find the bus at the airport busstation in front of the airport at your left hand (if you're back is facing the airport).
The bus will drop you at the nearest busstop, in front of a shopping mall. From here you can walk to the free buses and catch one that brings you next to the guesthouse. Another option is to walk straight to the hotel (12-15 minutes) or to grab a taxi (ask for putting on the meter!! The price will be 5-10 RM. We got ripped off here by paying 20 RM for just a 5 minute drive). If you're not in for public transport, you could take a taxi straight from the airport (price: 70 RM).

The breakfast at Orange Pekoe is very simple. There's white bread, jam and some fruits. You can make your one meal and are supposed to do your own dishes..

We paid around 42 euro for a one night stay via Booking.com. There might be cheaper guesthouses in the neighbourhood, but we liked this budget-close to midrange- option.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Struggy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I feel like this hotel is my home! The rooms are very clean, and you have to walk bare footed in the guesthouse. The pantry is opened at all times, and breakfast served until 12:00. There's free supplies in the pantry and you can buy some drinks (beer, wine, soft drinks etc.) There's 2 laptops for use and a comfortable living room in which there are 3 sofas, magazines, books and TV. Their service is quite good.

However, the location is a bit far. It's really hard to find unless you have extraordinary eyes. The entrance is as big as a doorway and it's located in a narrow street. But there's some good Indian restaurants nearby and a bus stop not far from the guesthouse.

Overall I think this guesthouse is quite nice!

Room Tip: room number 27 has 3 beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chi Ching C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a wonderful three day stay at the Orange Pekoe in one of the family rooms. Best thing about this place was the friendly staff who were very welcoming, helpful and great with our three children. Place was very clean and great to have breakfast included. Would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong East, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

After calling a few hostels and finally choose OP as Mac Zarsadias earnestly confirming my single room reservation tentatively after a few more calls and e-mails as I am not used to booking online. Quite difficult to find initially walking from Grassland Express coach alighting point @ Jalan Imbi. So I called twice and was told orange guest house was behind Hotel Istana. Luckily, single room was still available and after that every thing was easy as guest house is located in an extremely convenient location that is a few minutes walk from Bukit Bintang and Raja Chulan monorail station. I ate @ Jalan Alor every evening before heading back to OP for good nights sleep with good air-conditioning. Fahmi is very professional to give directions and I enjoy chatting with the house keepers. I nearly dozed off when watching T.V. on the comfortable sofas beside reception desk. Thus definitely I will be back in 2 months time during Hari Raya fasting month.

Room Tip: Rooms without windows are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMWCHOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire, uk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here recently in standard double room with private separate bathroom. Room good size with modern look. Bathroom was down the hall outside someone else's room so I don't know how annoying that was for them!! Bathroom stayed wet whole time- not so great when the shower is over the toilet! Made for a slippery walk back to your room. Also shower very low- no good for anyone over about 5ft yo wash their hair! The bathroom wasn't cleaned whilst we were there but they changed our towels which really did not need changing. The staff were friendly and helpful; they booked food and heritage tours for us (highly recommended) plus told me it'd be cheaper to hail a taxi rather than for them to book us one. Free WiFi was good. Breakfast looked OK though we didn't try it (food tours require empty stomach plus they'd left out curry from breakfast all day....) Location between two monorail stations was good. Biggest negative for us was the lack of sound proofing. Not only was the street noisy at all hours, but you could easily hear other people in the corridor. If you sleep like a log, this place will be fine for you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_and_luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#22 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#24 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Pekoe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Pekoe Guesthouse

Property: Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Address: No. 1-1 Jalan Angsoka | Off Jalan Nagasari, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly The Nest)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orange Pekoe Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Orange Pekoe (formerly known as The Nest), our award-winning guesthouse in downtown KL. Located on a quiet side-road in the Golden Triangle area. Orange Pekoe is the perfect starting point for your KL adventure. Bukit Bintang's shopping district, famous Jalan Alor with its countless local restaurants and the hip bar strip of Changkat Bukit Bintang are all just a 5 minutes stroll away. Free Wifi in all rooms, daily change of towels and safe boxes (Sup., Deluxe, Family Rooms) are all elements of the feel-good accommodation that we offer our guests. We accept Visa/Master/Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Orange Pekoe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing