We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 351 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Since we took Air Asia to Myanmar and Laos, Kuala Lumpur was our hub. We stayed in the Nest (now called Orange Pekoe) thrice.

The guest house was clean. Everybody had to remove their shoes even before entering the reception area. Our room was big enough to accommodate two carry on bags and very clean. There was no TV in the room but who needs TV if the wifi signal was very strong and you could surf the Internet. Breakfast was adequate to start the day.

The guesthouse was near the Bukit Bintang area where there are shopping malls and restaurants. Light rail station was walking distance. A free public bus line (GO KL) passes a couple of blocks away.

Ross and Jennifer were very helpful and friendly. They were a big factor in making our stay a pleasant experience.

Value for your money. We will definitely stay here again when we pass KL.

http://refocused.1stwebs.net/tell_malaysia.html

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sockeyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Sockeyed, thank you for staying with us and for contributing this review. We maintain that no compliment is bigger than guests who decide to return and stay with us several times. We hope to see you again some day in the future. Cheers, your OP Team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 796 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

This guesthouse has it all; friendly and serviceminded staff, very central location (only 15 minutes walk to Petronas Towers), cosy common areas, free breakfast and clean rooms. And best of all, it's affordable even for a money concious backpacker. Definetely recommend it to other travellers!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor near the reception and kitchen area can be a little noisy in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korimako_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Elise E, thank you for your review. We are really glad that we could be your home away from home. When this happens, we have accomplished our mission :-) All the best from all of us here! Your OP Team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was the first place we stayed at the start of our south east asian holiday. We were a little scared but Orange Pekoe Guesthouse didn't dissapoint us. beds where good, wifi connection excelent. you can tell that the place has been well taken care of and well organized. won't hesitate to recommend it to my best friends!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fransisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear francisco M, thank you for your kind words. We are happy because you are and hope that one day we will be able to welcome your friends here as well. All the best! Take care, your OP Team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times while in KL.
Excellent beds and clean rooms, cold aircon and consistent strong wifi... top location, amazing service and great value.
We have even become accustomed to the weird bathroom/shower combo.
Cannot recommend highly enough, we'll be back again and again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeiscolour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear lifeiscolour, thanks a lot for your kind review! It makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. When travelers tell us that they want to come back and stay with us again, it is always the biggest compliment we could get. Take care and see you again in KL some day. Cheers, your OP Team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The shared spaces was nice, especially the kitchen was roomy and comfortable. The lounge and 2 computer stations were convenient.

On April 17 2013, shortly after checked-in, at about 3:30pm, the water supply was off for all floors above the reception area. For unknown reasons, those lucky ones who had rooms on the same floor with the reception area had water. The staff said repeatedly that there was nothing they could do about it. Though, it seemed the staff were trying to phone for help a few times but nothing happened. We were told that it was the third time this year they had this water problem. By 9pm one of the staff told us that water supply would be returned in 2 hours, but nothing happened.

The water returned on about 9:00am the next morning.

One can imagine baking in the scorching heat of 33C and humidity of 80%+ in Kuala Lumpur city centre and not able to wash or take a shower for about 17 hours!

Orange discounted the room for 25 ringgit as compensation.
Interior of this B&B is no doubt in top standard.

However, from one window looking down to the street is a garbage dump. We also saw rats running in the open drains along the street. Obviously the location is not the most desirable area for relaxation.

I do not know what can the operator change or improve for this establishment.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank tripfeb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear tripfeb11, thank you for your review. When you run a guesthouse, it may happen once in a while that external factors such as a power cut or in this case a disruption of the water supply spoil your attempt to be the perfect host. This is what happened on 17 April. All our guests - including you - were informed about the EXTERNAL nature of the problem which affected the entire downtown area. While other guests were understanding, you insisted that we do "something" about the problem - else you would write a bad review about our guesthouse. After being unable to make any practical/feasable suggestions yourself, you eventually demanded a 25% discount on the room rate - if we did not pay, you would write a bad review. In order to calm your mind, we agreed to this blackmail. In breach of your own words, your thank you is a 2star review in which you conceal the fact that you were fully aware of the EXTERNAL nature of the water supply problem. We respect the opinion of our guests but we maintain that a review should be about a property rather than a mishap in the urban infrastructure that could happen anywhere. We leave the verdict on this matter to our guests from all over the world who have made us such a popular address in downtown KL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

In the last 6 months we've been 3 times in KL and always stayed in the orange pekoe (named the nest before).
The first thing you notice is the very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. Also the self service breakfast is perfect start for the day. If you add the free wifi and use of computers and the good situation in city, you have a guesthouse that delivers it all.
But once again, for me it's the friendly and helpful staff that makes this picture complete.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear stefan v, thank you for your review! We are glad that our staff was able to contribute to a pleasant stay at Orange Pekoe. Please come again. Until then, all the best from your OP Team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our four night stay in a family room at this guesthouse. It was a small room with aircon, really clean, tidy and comfortable for 4 of us. The only thing is no TV in the room, but may be the superior may get one. The premise got excellent wifi signal almost everywhere. The surroundings are filled with bars and restaurants (although maybe a bit noisy at night due to the music from the nightclubs). Nice standard breakfast, but I would love to have peanut butter rather strawberry jam :) By the way, the kitchen is really cute and I really like the interior design! The location is in the heart of the city, pretty close to bus and monorail (Bukit bintang), street food (Jalan Alor), bars and clubs, shopping malls (Lot10, Pavilion) and you can walk to Petronas Tower after passing several shopping malls.
What I found great is the amazing staffs, they are really friendly and give an excellent service. We got advised that rather than taking a Hop on hop off bus, we can take a GoKL shuttle bus for FREE.That was extremely useful since our stay in KL is mainly for major attractions that this bus covers! I would definitely stay here next time I visit KL :)

Room Tip: If you carry heavy luggage, request to stay on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#100 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
#1 of 351 in Kuala Lumpur
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sahabat Guesthouse
Sahabat Guesthouse
#3 of 351 in Kuala Lumpur
668 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paloma Inn
Hotel Paloma Inn
#4 of 351 in Kuala Lumpur
166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#2 of 351 in Kuala Lumpur
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Pekoe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Pekoe Guesthouse

Address: No. 1-1 Jalan Angsoka | Off Jalan Nagasari, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly The Nest)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $20 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orange Pekoe Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Orange Pekoe (formerly known as The Nest), our award-winning guesthouse in downtown KL. Located on a quiet side-road in the Golden Triangle area. Orange Pekoe is the perfect starting point for your KL adventure. Bukit Bintang's shopping district, famous Jalan Alor with its countless local restaurants and the hip bar strip of Changkat Bukit Bintang are all just a 5 minutes stroll away. Free Wifi in all rooms, daily change of towels and safe boxes (Sup., Deluxe, Family Rooms) are all elements of the feel-good accommodation that we offer our guests. We accept Visa/Master/Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Orange Pekoe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing