We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good customer service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 344 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 28, 2013

When I first arrived to this hotel I was a bit taken a back by the location (which did not have the best looking view). However that all changes once u get inside. Reception was very warm and helpful (special thanks to Ross, Jennifer and Chris). The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. No tv in the rooms but there is one in the living room area. Complementary basic breakfast and wifi. Very central location, close to the metro, Pavilion, Bukit Bintang, Jalan Alor.

Room Tip: Only stairs so if you have a lot of luggage it may be helpful to request a room on the ground or sec...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee_AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
There are newer reviews for Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 789 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here, in a family room, for three nights in December 2012. It is an extremely clean and cozy guest house catering to the smart traveler on a budget. It is in a great location and was not at all hard to find. Our only complaint was some noise outside in the early hours of the morning. Wifi worked great and the breakfast was small and simple. Would not hesitate to stay here again, especially in the family room which comfortably accommodates four.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sr6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very clean and well maintained. Ideal location for people wanting to site see in Kuala Lumpur as its very close to the Metro, Chinatown and shopping district. We would definitely stay here again.
If you travel from Cameron Highlands on the bus the taxis will try and charge you anything from 20-40 Ringet. Pay no more than 15(max). You can get the metro from the bus station to Bukit Bintang for 2 Ringget and walk to the Nest from there in 10 minutes. Easy.....

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Brett E, thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you recommend our place to other travelers! Thanks also for drawing the attention to the fact that some cab drivers are trying their luck by overcharging tourists. Here is some general advice for taking a taxi: always insist that the cab uses the meter (cabs are obliged by law to do so). If they refuse to comply, it's best to ask the next taxi that comes your way. In situations where this really does not work (e.g. due to heavy rain or during rush hour) try to have an idea how far your destination is away - this will help you to negotiate a reasonable flat fee for your ride. Cheers, your Nest Team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Great location near Bukit Bintang and the SS3 and jalan alor eating areas. The staff are warm and friendly, the rooms are clean and tidy and the bathrooms clean with a hot shower. Great little living room area for chilling and meeting other guests and the free breakfast was basic but good as a quick full to start the day. The kitchen area was immaculate too, where tea and coffee can be made free all day. We enjoyed our 3 nights here and would definitely recommend to any traveller or backpacker. There was also families and older couples and singles there too as the place is perfect for most people on a budget. All round great guest house

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XJJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear XJJC, thank you for your feedback! You mention everything we aspire to be: friendly, clean, cosy and in great, central location. Your observation regarding our guests is also accurate: we have been blessed with an incredible variety of travelers - backpackers, flashpackers, young, old - you name it. We love this diversity as it has turned our little guesthouse into such colorful place. A place that is also a lot of fun to work at. Cheers, your Nest Team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great location with a 5 min stroll to the main hawker food street of J. Alor and about 10 min to the main shopping drag of Bukit Bintang. It took us 15 min to walk from the Nest to the upper class shopping precinct of the Pavilion.

It is however a bit hard to find and even though we printed out the excellent map from the Nest Website and gave it to our taxi driver, he still couldn't find it.

The entrance is a single gated frame door and the lobby is up two flight of stairs.

We loved the fact that they ask you to take your shoes off at the entrance so everyone was in bare foott. This helped to keep the place immensely clean. On that note, I want to reconfirm that the NEST is SUPER CLEAN.

The toilet/shower is what is considered a "wet" toilet (which I personally like) where the whole bathroom becomes a shower.

We would stay here again for sure. The staff are excellent and very accommodating.

Things to note:

1) The beds are firm.
2) Can be a bit noisy. The rooms on the same floor as the lobby and kitchen can be very noisy and the side of the Nest building is a side street where trucks are parking and reversing seemingly all the time.
3) Stairs to Lobby.

Room Tip: 1) Ask for a room in a higher floor. Level 3 is the best (although more flights of stairs) 2) Ro...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eekthecat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Eekthecat88, thank you for taking the time to write about our place! Most cab drivers are ok finding us. Unfortunately, however, some drivers are from out of town and find it difficult to locate even the most central addresses. Our tip: if that happens, ask the driver to call the guesthouse. Our receptionists will be happy to assist and to guide the taxi to our place. Cheers, your Nest Team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed in a 4 star hotel (The Boulevard, Mid Valley, KL - 3 nights) followed by 4 days at The Nest. Yes, the room was smaller, no separate shower and toilet and also breakfast was more modest but overall I would rate it at the level of Boulevard:

Clean, neat, quiet place, good air-conditioner, very friendly helpful staff, central position.

Room Tip: Do not worry about a room without window - you will probably not open that window anyway,
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Peter L, thanks for taking the time to review our place! We are flattered to be rated on par with a 4-star hotel. But addressing our future guests, we have to emphasize that we are only a simple guesthouse. What you will find here is a clean place, super friendly and service-minded people, simple rooms and a feel-good atmosphere in central location. If this is what you are looking for, we are sure that you won't be disappointed. PS: all our rooms (except the Single Room) have windows. Cheers, your Nest Team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Nest is a simple and clean place. The place is so cosy with friendly staff and 10 minutes away from various shopping complexes at the Bukit Bintang area. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziedah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Zidah, thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you like our guesthouse. We hope to see you again. Cheers and best regards from here to JB, your Nest Team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#22 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Pekoe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Pekoe Guesthouse

Address: No. 1-1 Jalan Angsoka | Off Jalan Nagasari, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly The Nest)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 344 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $19 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orange Pekoe Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Orange Pekoe (formerly known as The Nest), our award-winning guesthouse in downtown KL. Located on a quiet side-road in the Golden Triangle area. Orange Pekoe is the perfect starting point for your KL adventure. Bukit Bintang's shopping district, famous Jalan Alor with its countless local restaurants and the hip bar strip of Changkat Bukit Bintang are all just a 5 minutes stroll away. Free Wifi in all rooms, daily change of towels and safe boxes (Sup., Deluxe, Family Rooms) are all elements of the feel-good accommodation that we offer our guests. We accept Visa/Master/Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Orange Pekoe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing