We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suprising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 344 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 13, 2011

the place is very close to Bukit bintang . hardly five mins walk .
good price . staff superb . place spotless , very cosy and friendly atmosphere .
I would blindly recommend the place . security is very good and the surrounding always joyful and full activity , clubs , pubs and restaurant .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
There are newer reviews for Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 593 of 789 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2011

I arrived here last Tuesday, and while my original request for a room was not available, they provided me with a cheaper alternative and gave a discount on top of that again.

If you are not familiar with Kuala Lumpur, it can be difficult to find. Thats the drawback, however, that means its quieter, and there is much less noise disturbance.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazygweilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Clean, welcoming and modern, the guesthouse itself is a nice refuge from the city (don't be deterred by its side street location). Helpful and friendly staff with good local knowledge.

Located just down from shopping hub Bukit Bintang, it is also surrounded by fantastically good, cheap, local food options and a nearby street of nightime food stalls. The nearby monorail also gives easy access to Chinatown or the area around the twin towers.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I'm actually doing an internship at Singapore and have visited Kuala Lumpur twice so far.
Each stime I have stayed at the Nest in KL by now and I think I'm going stay there at my next trip to KL, too.
The rooms where really clean and comfortable with their private toilet and shower. The rooms look more like in a hotel than in a hostel.
The staff was always nice to us and the only thing I can say to some KL-visitors, that don't want to spent as much money in a hotel but living in the heart of KL instead. Choose "The Nest".
You'll never reget.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

It was my first time to KL and i now i have returned 3 times and feel like I found a real gem of a place to stay at The Nest, http://www.thenest.com.my. I emailed them before my departure and they answered all my questions and with easy to follow instructions on how to get there i found it easily. I was traveling with a surfboard so was grateful it was easy enough to find and that they had storage facilities.

The staff and owner are so welcoming. The big bonus is it being a new hotel and everything is new and clean with tasteful decor. And the neighbourhood is excellent for wandering around, great side street full of restaurants where you can eat outside but it is better than 'street food' - an outdoor food hall. Also great massage place near by.

Staying at The Nest made my short visits to KL totally enjoyable.

Room Tip: There are quieter interior rooms options, just ask.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulamoystrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

トリップアドバイザーやHPで受けるイメージそのままの素敵なゲストハウスです。
とにかく快適。
外観はパッとしませんが、一歩中に入ると別世界なのでご安心を。

まず階段の踊り場で靴を脱いで、それを持って上にあがります。館内は全て土足禁止というのが日本人には嬉しいところではないでしょうか。

ファミリールームは広くて、寝心地も大変よいものでした。
このベッド3台(うち1台はダブル)というセッティングは、ありそうでないので有り難かったです。バスルームは広いです。アメニティーはハンドソープのみ。人数分のバスタオルが置いてあります。

デスク横のアロマはオーナーの一人で元外交官の方が経営されてるブランドです。
今回買いそびれましたが、かなりお買い得なのでお土産にはもってこいだと思います。

雨などで外出できないときは、ピザやマックのデリバリーをお願いできます。
私も一度頼みました。ドミノでレギュラーを2枚頼んで30リンギ。
館内は水が1リンギ、ソーダ類が2リンギ、ビールが9リンギでした。


朝食はシリアルとトーストがあります。
コーヒー、紅茶、ココアは1日中自由に飲む事ができます。ただ牛乳は朝食以外は飲み物に入れる時のみ利用できます。(ジュースを売ってる冷蔵庫の下にあります)

雨で外出しなかったとき、受付のゾーイさんにピザをオーダーしていただいたのですが、その時の対応が大変こまめで特別な印象を受けました。話をきくと、何と彼は元有名ホテルのコンシェルジュ!色々と細かい事を調べたい人も納得の行く対応が得られると思います。

またここのオーナーは大変センスが良い方で「色」から感じる癒しを大切にしています。タバコを吸うベランダはオレンジ、キッチンはブルーなど、どこにいても心地よく感じられます。

ここに泊まる前日は5つ星ホテルに泊まりましたが、私も子供達も断然the nestが気に入りました。自宅以上に寛げる心地よさがあります。ファミリー、カップル、一人旅、全てにおすすめ。私も今から次回が待ち遠しいです。

we really loved the way you are. this is not a guesthouse, a real nest for us, the littel birdies who need a rest in downtown kl. hope to see you very soon!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kay2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

You never know what you're going to get with brand new accommodation but The Nest didn't disappoint. It really doesn't look like much from the outside but the rooms are immaculate and reasonably well sized. The staff are friendly and helpful. Very comfy common room. Good wifi in the rooms.

My wife and I had a Standard Double room with private bathroom and it was great. Comfy beds and pillows. Very quiet even though it's right in the middle of the busy tourist area. The location makes it very easy to go out for food and drinks. Lots of choices within a 5 minute walk.

The breakfast is included. It's the usual SE Asia fare of toast and jam but they did have cereal as an option. With so many great places nearby, we decided to go out for breakfast anyway. You can get good roti canai at the Indian restaurant just around the corner, which was one of the best meals we had in 3 months of traveling.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StewMac369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,889 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#21 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
755 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#22 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Pekoe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Pekoe Guesthouse

Address: No. 1-1 Jalan Angsoka | Off Jalan Nagasari, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly The Nest)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 344 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $19 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orange Pekoe Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Orange Pekoe (formerly known as The Nest), our award-winning guesthouse in downtown KL. Located on a quiet side-road in the Golden Triangle area. Orange Pekoe is the perfect starting point for your KL adventure. Bukit Bintang's shopping district, famous Jalan Alor with its countless local restaurants and the hip bar strip of Changkat Bukit Bintang are all just a 5 minutes stroll away. Free Wifi in all rooms, daily change of towels and safe boxes (Sup., Deluxe, Family Rooms) are all elements of the feel-good accommodation that we offer our guests. We accept Visa/Master/Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Orange Pekoe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing