We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 351 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Located very close to Raja Chulan monorail; Bukit Bintang and even closer to good eating places - but in a dark, grubby and seedy little street. Entrance up a flight of steep stairs was a little difficult for an old man with a couple of cases and no help. Reception/lounge area is bright, cheerful and well furnished. Our "de luxe" room was spacious but the bathroom was tiny. Self-service breakfast in dining-room/kitchenette was simple cereal and toast. Good wi-fi. Owner/managers very friendly and informative. Very clean and well kept place. A good "flash-packer" option.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Popnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Dear Popnorm, we are sorry to hear that it was difficult for you to walk up the stairs to the 1st floor reception. When you stay with us next time - as we hope you will - PLEASE ask for help. We have an intercom at our entrance gate on the ground floor. Everybody here, from owner to caretaker, will be happy to give you a helping hand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 796 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

Great to meet you in your new environment. You have achieved perfection in cleanliness, from the entrance stairs to the reception/lounge area, pantry and the rooms, which most travellers are looking for. Everyone makes you feel at home !!!!! I agree with all the other reviewers comments and all I can add is to maintain the standard you have achieved. Well done guys see you when I am next in KL.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Dear Sparrd,
thank you for the great review. We appreciate every single comment as this greatly helps us to maintain what is good already and to make improvements where this is necessary. By taking all reviews - good or bad - seriously, we are confident that we can achieve our goal of providing "feel-good accommodation in downtown KL".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

It was our first time in KL. Clean room and bed. Plenty of water and hot water for shower. Nicely situated, walking distance to shopping center where you can shop and dine. Close to monorail station to go on to other places in KL, but not too close so the surrounding is reasonably quiet and cozy. There are restaurants near by to go for brunch or late dinner. And the people are nice too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nilam_djamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We were a group of 4 who stayed there for 2 nights on 4th/5th November 2011. Finding the place was a little hard at first but if you tell anyone Hotel Istana, you could come there and it is almost directly behind it.

The location is good with a lot of great places to see, eat at etc. nearby. Its about 5 mins from Petronas and nearby buildings. The building is very well maintained and rooms super clean. The beds are also very comfortable.

The caretaker, Hassan, is a great guy who will help you with anything you have to ask him.

Overall, would recommend this place to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in a good neighborhood.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankitcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Dear Ankitcc, thank you and others for the great reviews that you have given us since we opened our business a few weeks ago. Of course, we are glad to hear that our beds are comfortable and that our rooms are clean. But what makes us even happier is when our guests experience the spirit of The Nest which is indeed friendly, warm and helpful. As a team we love what we are doing and it's great when our guests feel that as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

it was very claen place to stay made me fell like home close to everything ill be back soon

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakedcupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This hotel was so good I extended my stay here. So many places in Asia let the experience down with either bad service or cleanliness. This place is new, well run, spotless and well priced for the value you get. The breakfast of cereal and toast included is great and really helps with the budget and there is free tea and coffee at all times you can make - a nice touch. The staff are friendly, knowledgable about KL and very helpful. Security was excellent too. The location is a 10 minute walk to Bukit Bintang (main shopping street) and monorail. Cabs are cheap to places in town from this location. Happily recommend to stay here and will be staying there again when come back to KL.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My husband and I originally booked four nights here but extended our stay. The room was fresh & clean with great decor and excellent wifi signal (free!). The staff are really knowledgable about KL and are more than happy to help with any queries. Breakfast is included in the price where you can help yourself to fresh bread and a selection of jams or cereal. And there's free tea and coffee provided throughout the day. There's a great communal area with a flat screen TV/DVD player and internet which is a great place to meet other travellers. We really enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend. A real home from home.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#102 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
#1 of 351 in Kuala Lumpur
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sahabat Guesthouse
Sahabat Guesthouse
#3 of 351 in Kuala Lumpur
668 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paloma Inn
Hotel Paloma Inn
#4 of 351 in Kuala Lumpur
166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#2 of 351 in Kuala Lumpur
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Pekoe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Pekoe Guesthouse

Address: No. 1-1 Jalan Angsoka | Off Jalan Nagasari, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly The Nest)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $20 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orange Pekoe Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Orange Pekoe (formerly known as The Nest), our award-winning guesthouse in downtown KL. Located on a quiet side-road in the Golden Triangle area. Orange Pekoe is the perfect starting point for your KL adventure. Bukit Bintang's shopping district, famous Jalan Alor with its countless local restaurants and the hip bar strip of Changkat Bukit Bintang are all just a 5 minutes stroll away. Free Wifi in all rooms, daily change of towels and safe boxes (Sup., Deluxe, Family Rooms) are all elements of the feel-good accommodation that we offer our guests. We accept Visa/Master/Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Orange Pekoe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing