We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm place like your own home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 333 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
“a warm place like your own home!”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

With clean environment and rooms and also very nice kitchen and living room you can feel like your home. At first we reserved a room for 2 nights because we want to go to other cities but we were so comfortable there, so we decided to stay there for another 7 nights and go around the KL and see Genting, i-city, Putrajaya, Serdang ,... and come back to the nest every night.
The staffs are also so kind.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faezeh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    318
    73
    10
    10
See reviews for
104
342
117
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

It's not often you can find an establishment of this quality for a very good price AND smack bang in the central area of a city.
We found The Nest on a booking website, booked for 2 nights, but when we arrived extended it for a further 2. We stayed in a duluxe room which has a comfortable bed with white linen, duvet and soft pillows, air conditioning and an en-suite bathroom.

The guest house is located in the centre of Bukit Bintang, the central shopping, eating, drinking district of Kuala Lumpur, but is on a quiet back street so it's not noisy. We are travelling with our baby so it was an ideal location to reach everything easily with our buggy.

The owners were very friendly. On one particular evening when a huge thunder storm had hit, the owner kindly drove us to the restaurant we wanted to go to so that we didn't have to pay the over inflated taxi fare for the short journey.

My only criticism would be that the bathroom was a little bit too small, but amongst all of the positives this is a minor point.

This is a great find and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vintagestyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed at the nest for a week. Just opened at the beginning of October so everything is new, (towels, bed linens, bathroom facilities, public computers and kitchen supplies.)

Staff is very friendly and helpful. The nest has a chic hostel atmosphere. 2 minute walk from street hawkers and 5 minute walk from monorail

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naradexal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lipe, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This what the owners modestly refer to as a guesthouse was the definite top-five-star-accommodation compared to any of the hotels in the area. Their motto seems to be "make it so cozy you'd want to live there yourself". For once did it look exactly like in the online pictures. Surely was the staff busy with running a hotel, but it never showed. We got the most personalized help whether it was local breakfast (delicious roti), touring around the city or tips for next destination and how to get there- without any of the "I give you best price"- selling hazzle that backpackers so easily get tired of. In conclusion: no negative comments, only warm feelings. All the services that you'll need, but done a bit better than usually. Best pillows you'll find, guaranteed. Thank you so very truly much for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SannaOctober2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your great review. We treasure your feedback as it motivates us to work even harder for our guests. Having said this, we are and will always be a guesthouse and not a 5-star hotel. Things at The Nest are simple and casual. And we want to keep it this way. If our guests attest us excellence for the way we define simplicity, then we have reached our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Me and my friends stayed at The Nest for 2 nights and it was awesome. The Nest was so clean and very cozy, it was like being home. The best part of it is the facility that is provided such as breakfast, Wi-Fi, most of the rooms have personal bathroom and also personalize service. I will always come back to The Nest and also recommend my friends to always choose The Nest. Good job Lupo and Thomas.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranbir293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stumbled upon The Nest by chance and it turned out they had just opened and I was their first guest. It turned out to be a great place to stay! Clean and modern, run by super friendly people and in an excellent location. I would definitely recommend staying in this guesthouse and will not think twice about staying here again next time I am in KL.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at The Nest for 4 nights during our visit in Kuala Lumpur. Everything is great in this place! The guesthouse it self and the rooms were very clean and the decoration was very nice and more like of a western style. They had two computers with internet in the lobby and a breakfast area where you can enjoy bread, cereals, coffee and tea for breakfast. The price was also good for us because of the promotional rates because of the opening but I think that the prices are very reasonable on other times too.

The staff was friendly and helpfull and we got lots of information about the city, things to do and transportation from them. They even booked us a table from The Skybar where you can enjoy the views to Petronas Towers at the evening!

Maybe the best thing about The Nest was the location. It was few minutes walk from Ismail Sultan street where are all the big shopping malls. On the other direction were local food street and another street crowded with bars, restaurants and nightclubs just a few minutes away. Even though everything is near, The Nest is located in a quiet little street and is a peaceful place to go from the crowded and hectic citylife. A monorail stop is also just within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L11SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
9,730 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#21 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
3,761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Pekoe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Pekoe Guesthouse

Property: Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Address: No. 1-1 Jalan Angsoka | Off Jalan Nagasari, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly The Nest)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orange Pekoe Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Orange Pekoe (formerly known as The Nest), our award-winning guesthouse in downtown KL. Located on a quiet side-road in the Golden Triangle area. Orange Pekoe is the perfect starting point for your KL adventure. Bukit Bintang's shopping district, famous Jalan Alor with its countless local restaurants and the hip bar strip of Changkat Bukit Bintang are all just a 5 minutes stroll away. Free Wifi in all rooms, daily change of towels and safe boxes (Sup., Deluxe, Family Rooms) are all elements of the feel-good accommodation that we offer our guests. We accept Visa/Master/Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Orange Pekoe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing