We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place in KL”
Review of Homestyle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homestyle Hotel
Ranked #109 of 353 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Lovely little place, just near Bukit Bintang monorail station. Still has that new smell. Very clean, thoughtfully decorated. Our room was exceptionally tiny - a queen bed, small desk and a mini-bar sized fridge left very little space to move around. But, there was natural light from a small window (that you could open!). Other rooms may be bigger with their own en suite bathrooms. We had a bathroom "allocated" to us - which was essentially a toilet cubicle with a shower. But this is pretty standard for a lot of places we have stayed in - and at least this one was modern, new and very clean. Toiletries and towels are provided free of charge. There is a lovely enclosed courtyard at the front, with access to tea and coffee. Generous free breakfast every morning from 7-11 am, offering your standard sugary cereals plus toast (although here wholemeal is on offer too!). Plus a couple of local dishes - nasi lemak and a fried noodle dish, both individually served in the lokal custom of wrapping it in a brown paper pyramid. And the banana bread was freshly homemade - yum! Overall, a great little find.

Room Tip: They have a range of different rooms with different amenities (some have a proper en suite, while ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nonina33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

After several weeks in KL, this place remains the best I found. Beautiful, calm, extremely clean, and excellent value. The rooms are great, the breakfast too, and you DO feel like home. Very comfy overall. Once you found in a place like this, your standards rise... Oh, and it's super central. 20 minutes walk to the Petronas, 2 minutes to some very nice restaurant/bars streets, 5 minutes to Times Sq Mall, 10 minutes to Bintang Mall, and so on.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed there last September for 1 week in a double room: really nice room with good bathroom, clean and stylish. Breakfast was fine and on time, got to know Mr Jack quite well and he's a bit of a character! Good location for monorail, shopping etc - bit run down in immediate area but never felt unsafe. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank MattAndSamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaini Z, Owner at Homestyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

thank you so much mat and sam - we constantly tries to improve our services and quality of the hotel. As we are quiet new, we appreciated any comments..Yes..as for breakfast, we are trying to have more variety of local dishes as well as home made breads and cakes! Seee you again soon..!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I go to malaysia the frist.I have memory bad because homestyle hotel is very bad.He name is mr.jack as manager.he look So bad.Is true story,the morning I come down to eat breakfast.The while I think of I forget wallet in my room.I go upstairs to terrenganu room.I see mr.jack in my room.he say that we don't close the door and he will check to bed.He is fake.I come in room.I so sad because my money loss 100 rm.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siripornp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

They promise, all in but you get ; no water in the toilet, no toilet paper, no light in the shower, no breakfast, no showergell and a VERY rude (mr Jack) as a manager.
the manager was not even availeble for any discussions !!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gekko1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Every room is different here with art work on the walls representing the country. One receives a warm welcome and security is good. Electronic tags are required to get in. Wifi is available in the hotel and is very fast. Continental breakfast is provided. Rooms may be small so a double is really suitable for one because more than one case and you won't be walking on the tiles. Those on the ground floor have a small 'balcony' to add a little extra space. Bathrooms are perfectly adequate but ask for soap etc because this is not provided as a matter of course. I would stay here again because it was comfortable, centrally located and near enough to Bukit Bintang Monorail Station to make many other parts of KL accessible. If arriving from Sentral Station go upstairs to the budget taxi office. The fare to the hotel is 13MYR. If you try and haggle with a taxi driver he will not go lower than 20MYR and give you a multitude of excuses as to why: traffic(there is always traffic in KL), the roads are blocked(rubbish - there are many cut-throughs and they know them all) or, in my case, an anti-government protest in a completely different part of town that meant the roads were clearer than usual.

Room Tip: NO lift so anyone with heavy luggage, choose a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasafiOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

It's a close taxi ride to everything but that's about it.

Situated at the end of a small dark street our taxi driver had some time locating it.

Our deluxe room was big enough to step in. The larger suitcase had to stay outside. Tiny doesn' begin to describe it. The bed literally touches both walls. Of course there's no room for the so-called bathroom, you will find a stall at the other end of the hallway with all the other 'bathrooms', which is a toilet and a shower head over it.

Nothing was provided we had to ask for shampoo (which was so old it was discoloured) towels, even the toilet paper. The hot water was shut off so was the main water valve. Took 20 minutes to wake up the sleeping guy downstairs and set everything up.

The staff had less knowledge than other guests couldn't even tell us how to get to the bus station for Penang which was only ten minutes away. They also didn't have a single map.

Don't be duped by the pictures, This place makes the hostels I've stayed at seem like 5 star resorts.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.8 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4,304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
10,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
7,328 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
1.8 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#16 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
3,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestyle Hotel

Address: 13 Jalan Rembia | off Tengkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $20 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestyle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old 2 story shophouse creatively renovated as tourist ALTERNATIVE LODGING in Bukit Bintang, KL. It is a unique haven for guests to feel relaxed and comfortable. Visitors are treated like invited friends and looked after with warm Malaysian hospitality. A stay in Homestyle is an experience to relish the Malaysian rich heritage in a stylish contemporary environment..come stay with us.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Homestyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing