We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No facilities & dirty”
Review of UFO Capsule Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
UFO Capsule Hotel
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Checked in last in Mid Jan 2013 for overnight stay.
The price much higher than advertised when I did online booking, I paid almost RM40 for a night. I booked for female section, but I saw it clearly it was not female only section as a mid age man staying at a capsule nearby mine.
The sinks were dirty, not even drinking water available for guests. Locker too small. No breakfast too, while in KL we can many backpackers' hostel offer basic breakfast and free flow water for around RM 20++ per night.
This capsule definitely not for claustrophobia.
Only good point is its location nearby Imbi Monorail and Berjaya Times Square shopping mall.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cinnamon3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 32 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was there for 2 nights, at capsule number 18. A nice stay and a new experience for me. Like an outer space station's bedroom..hohoho

The capsule is SMALL and totally a capsule and not a room. However it is a private space. There was a bamboo curtain that can be lowered and act as a "door" for your capsule. The capsule is clean and air conditioned. There was a power point inside the capsule. Ask for the nearest capsule to reception, for a good WIFI connection. There was a fold-able mini table inside the capsule.

Shared bathroom is clean, but the sink a little dirty. Some sort of algae can be found on the sink. Toilet and shower was placed together. Hot and cold rain shower with good water pressure. The hotel do provide shower gel but there was no complimentary towel.

What else? the room rate is so cheap, quiet environment, friendly and cheerful reception (Alisha and a Filipino lady), and the main point : location. Just behind gigantic Berjaya Times Square, 2 minutes walking to Imbi Monorel and 5 minutes to Hang Tuah LRT station. Bukit Bintang also within short walking distance from there. Lots of cafe and restaurant (halal as well as non-halal) within same row of the hotel.

Recommended for backpackers and for short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rezzqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

When I booked the female dorm, on Agoda and discovered that it was closed so was put in the male dorm. The sinks were full of hair from men shaving. The capsule was spacious and comfortable. The free wifi can only be used near the reception area and extremely slow, might as well not bother. The TV advertised on the web site does not exist. When I had trouble finding the place, I rang the reception and she just said it was at the back of Berijaya Times Square. She could not speak English very well to instruct me how to get there, I ended up putting her onto a shop keeper and he actually nearly took me all the way there. I was impressed. They didn't show me to the capsule or the toilets and I ended up using the mens toilets and showers by mistake as the female toilets and showers were on a different level. Some people didn't get lockers with keys either. These little things I don't mind but they should update their website. The mattresses are thin also.

Room Tip: Choose one as far away from reception as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twobigfeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I am a backpacker, so small spaces are my bread and butter, but the service I was given was pathetic. I had checked in and was basically pushed around while the staff ran around me to sort out whatever random chores they had to do. Once I paid the deposit and the fee, no one showed me to the capsule, lockers or showed me where the bathroom was. They simply headed outside to smoke and chat with their friends. When I requested an extra night, I was told to fill in the registration card another time. I told the receptionist that I was here last night, can she not use the same details and she merely replied: "Yesterday was yesterday and today is today!" whatever that means! Great location, great place, but the staff can definitely use an upgrade or an attitude adjustment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AkesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Why i like capsule hotel is that it is near Berjaya Times Square and there are many 24hours cafeteria along the hotel.Security is a problem here as at times felt like any robber could just walk in and demand all the guest money with a gun as there are no security guards and stuff.

other than that it could be 5 stars!

Room Tip: Take the lower capsule for heavyweight people as going up and down might tire you if 100kg like me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iskandaryoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

It cost me MYR31.80 (MYR28 plus tax) on non-peak (Mon-Thurs) and MYR41.80 on peak (Fri-Sun) days plus a deposit of MYR30 (which will be returned upon checking out). Fariza, lady cashier/reception area was nice enough to answer travel questions.

Don't expect it to be a three to five-star hotel because it's definitely not. It's a capsulized enclosed 1meter X 1meter X 2 meters. It's like a box with a mattress, a pillow, light, mirror and ventilation inside. For it's price, it's highly recommend for solo travelers (however, if you have a company or two, there are some other cheap hotels offering around MYR70 for a room). There are two layers, top and bottom, to choose from. There are no doors, just blinds which you can see the inside if lights were on so I just cover the opening with my towel. And since it's a very small cubicle, you may find it difficult changing clothes.

The toilet and bath are one and in cubicle types (around 10 cubicles for the men's floor) with hot/cold jet showers at each cubicle (very good water supply). Beside each toilet is also a mini-water sprouter to clean you behind (I forgot what it's called). It's not really that dirty but if you're somebody who just settles for an ordinary toilet and bath, this will do. All cubicles are provided with toilet paper. There is also some liquid soap on a very long sink with mirrors.

Some lockers do not close properly but just let the staff know and they will get you another one. All big luggages can be placed along the hallway just in front of your capsule.

Location is superb. If you're going to this place via taxi (cost me MYR20 from KL Sentral Station), tell the cab driver it's just right at the back of Berjaya Time Square Mall. If you're taking the Monorail, you can easily find it by dropping off at Imbi station where Berjaya Times Square is. It's just a few steps from Berjaya Time Square and a few minutes walk to other malls like Low Yat Plaza, Sungei Wang, BB Plaza and Lot 10. And since I am a walker, I managed to walk from places like Petaling Street and Petronas Towers all the way back to UFO.

It has a couple of tables in front of the building if you decide to eat a packed lunch or dinner. It also serves as a good area just for relaxing for smokers or browsing via Wi-Fi (which is free but very weak whilst inside your capsule).

Also, dont' forget to ask for the free maps at the reception. This is very helpful finding you way around the city. Overall, this is a different travel experience for me.

Room Tip: location and value is still what i consider first in a hostel/hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GNOBGNOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is by far the cheapest accommodation available in KL if you're travelling solo. Great thing is you will get privacy through individual capsules, but don't expect much space to move around. Security is a concern though, as the guys' dorm is just curtain away from the main door where everyone can pass through.

Staff are warm and approachable, but they had perhaps taken it to the extreme by inviting their own friends over during Friday nights or public holidays and extending their own party till very late into the night (beyond 12am, perhaps 1am or even later?) which affected my sleep. Noise barrier is virtually non existent.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stituss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Sim Hotel
Sim Hotel
#136 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
13 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#71 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
667 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riccarton Capsule Hotel
Riccarton Capsule Hotel
#141 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Container Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Container Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 351 in Kuala Lumpur
223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.7 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UFO Capsule Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UFO Capsule Hotel

Address: No. 30 Jalan 1/77a | Off Jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 296 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $11 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — UFO Capsule Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UFO Capsule Hotel, is base on Japanese concept. Our hotels brings you comfort cleanliness and is very economical.UFO Capsule Hotel is located within Kuala Lumpur’s Golden Triangle. Our hotel is just behind Berjaya Times Square, one of the biggest shopping malls with an indoor amusement park. UFO Capsule Hotel is also located near public transport such and the monorail station and is also near several shopping malls, such as Sungai Wang and Lot 10. The famous Bintang Walk is just a few steps away, where there are pubs and disco clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your UFO Capsule Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing