We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little gem for a short stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Arenaa Mountbatten
Ranked #101 of 328 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice little gem for a short stay.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Now either the people who give places like this have most likely been rival hotels or people who have fallen out with management and are bitter.

Now this isn't the Ritz or anything but for the location it is a great little place. Its close to all the major sights in KL and yes it doesnt pamper to your every request however the room has fantastic aircon, nice bed and very decent shower facilities for a south east asian nation. Yes bit rough around the edges and their laundry was rather sloppy but dont let that turn you off. The rooms are large and are very relaxing to stay in.

Very affordable price and free wifi which runs a treat with no issues.

Then again why would you be staying in a hotel for so long when you are on a holiday?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geanaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    55
    55
    27
    21
See reviews for
18
46
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Riau, null, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We really disappointed with hotel services and its facilities, there no Hot water for bath, there no water pot for boiling water, No telephone in room. Very noisy room. Free drinking water also not available. No laundry service, have to go out side hotel by myself for laundry. Wifi also JOKE low connection and only 2 hours have to go back and fort from room to reception to have password. Really not recommended to stay. Only the place is strategic near bus station and many food around. WE REALLY DISAPPOINTED WITH HOTEL SERVICES...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batamsound H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel website boasts that it has a security safe, well according to the front desk and previous reviews, the safe still does not work. Another few reviews from months ago can confirm this. I regret not heeding the warnings. Stay the well away from this place, and your western currency is better off somewhere else.

I had to shower in cold water because the hot water was broken, there is no light bulb in the lamp and one of the lights is not working.
I can here next door having a conversation at 1am in the morning, being drunk and having a shower to light switching on and off.
The towels reek of vinegar and what appears to be dark tanning stains. ewww.
The only up side is the functioning aircon.
It is so noisy, that I am going without more than 4 hours sleep for the last past 5 day stay here. Mc Donald's crap coffee, here I come

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JojoZhenzuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawau, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nice internal decor. Towels and blanket was not ready and nothing to drink in the room but I would still come back next time because the reception staff (I think her name is shanti, I am not sure) is very nice and accomodating. I think patient would also apply.
Yes, I would come back next time I come for my marathon. Actually I chose this hotel because of its location which is very near to the Dataran Merdeka where the KL marathon was supposed to start and end.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blues_dm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Rude and unhelpful staff, who when told that the bed was broken tried to change the subject by accusing us of having an extra guest!

Centrally located, however lots of noise due to being on the freeway and the train track being behind.

The wifi connection is a joke. The signal is poor at the best of times and you can only connect by a code that expires after 2 hours.


This hotel was more like a bad hostel. Room in a bad state of disrepair. The promotional pictures must have been taken when the hotel was first opened. The ensuite showers and toilet have no privacy as the screens are not floor to ceiling, so roomies can hear everything! The rain shower has low pressure and the two cannot be used at the same time so completely useless.

This is not a 'boutique' hotel and I would not stay again or advise others to stay. Avoid. Avoid. AVOID.

Helpful?
Thank djjojojuice
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff is helpful and nice even if don't look like at first.at the same time they are left alone by the management and they have to tell the "standard" answer that their boss instruct to when customer like me are not happy about the state of the room.

Location it is great for transport (near bus and mrt station) and for food (plenty of street options); near chinatown, walking distance from changkat and bintang.

The shower it is very nice but could do with a deeper cleaning (corner for example).
The hotel it is perfect if you plan to visit KL and to spend most time out of room.

Towel could be changed for new ones, some are quite "rough".
TV it is quite poor on channel available, internet doesn't work at the higher floors but you get less noise (all fine with me as I didn't care about tv or wi-fi)

Condition of some of the rooms I viewed were not good. most of the room safe box are not working; the electric plugs don't fit room appliances (use one at the time); the lightning of the rooms it is quite annoying.
In the end some little details made it look cheap and run down (like tv connection, table leg broken, shaving mirror missing, etc).

I wish they would ban families with kids. walls are thin and parents clearly don't care about other hotel guest.

Overall I had a good time there and I even stayed an extra night.

Room Tip: top floors are good to avoid train and street noise but no good if you need to use wi-fi. ask to ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alebrekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Ok, it is a budget hotel but still... Stayed in a Junior "suite" with jacuzzi. Front desk personnel was terrible and not helpfull at all (prob depends who is on duty, girl in the evening was very nice). "Suite" size ok but tub was very dirty and had not been cleaned. Only "amenities" are fixed to the shower wall (soap and shampoo) so you have to hop out of the tub if you want to use them. 2/3 of the lights were not working, room safe broken (housekeeping told me no room safe was actually working), wifi is free but you have to collect new password every 2 hrs. Electronics keys not working so needed to be accompagnied each time to re-enter the room and this apparently had veen going on for some time.
24-hour diner only serves part of the menu at certain times and is not that appealing to eat. Good places just across the road.

For public transportation it is conveniently located, just a block away from subway station. The airport shuttle does not stop right in front of the hotel, so if you don't know which direction to walk you can easily get lost. (For those using the Star bus from KLIA, stop at Medyn store and keep on walking straight ahead for 5 minutes, hotel is on your left). Quite noisy next to a busy road and with a train going by every so often but that is part of being in a city like that.

I thought overall the place to be quite dirty and not well maintained, even the basics. I would not recommend this place nor stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyingBird13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuala Lumpur
5.4 mi away
V Hotel
V Hotel
#154 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
12.0 mi away
e.City Hotel @ One City
e.City Hotel @ One City
#8 of 10 in Subang Jaya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
6.3 mi away
Manhattan Business Hotel
Manhattan Business Hotel
#223 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pudu Bintang Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Pudu Bintang Hotel Kuala L...
#29 of 328 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hulo Hotel & Gallery
The Hulo Hotel & Gallery
#30 of 252 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suasana Suites Bukit Ceylon
Suasana Suites Bukit Ceylon
#44 of 252 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenaa Mountbatten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenaa Mountbatten

Property: Hotel Arenaa Mountbatten
Address: No 23, Jalan Tun Perak, Kuala Lumpur 50050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenaa Mountbatten 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arenaa Mountbatten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing