We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fair and not hospitable”
Review of Joy Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Joy Inn Hotel
Ranked #65 of 331 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Ahlhorn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not fair and not hospitable”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I made my reservation about seven month in advance via AGODA. I´ve got a confirmation about Room with window, which is more expensive than the inside rooms. When I arrived, I got the key and entered a non-Window-room. When I complained that at the reception, I was told, that someone payed for the room earlier than I did. May payment was made with PayPal, the same day I did the reservation seven month before. When I asked, how can You confirm that room, when someone paid earlier, she sayd, the payment was made earlier at the same day, without checking any list or register. When I requested to pay back the difference in the room rate, she told me, that nothing would be paid back, because she already had given a bigger inside room. No offer, of changing the room next days, or something, no excuse. Only when I asked for the possibility to change the room next day she checked the system and agreed. So, never pay in advance for that hotel, because they obvious try to cheat guests in that bad way.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelkappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
7
18
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

suitable for a nite or two. Close to KL sentral (5 mins walking)
clean and provide with simple breakfast. only problem is during nite time alot of man looking at u when u walk around, mayb bcos there is a few adult hotel nearby, try to avoid late outing.

also the room has very thin wall. so get a room which is at the back.

Room Tip: 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank songst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Rating has to be relative to the cost and at such central location (beside KL Sentral monorail) and about 5-10 min walk to the KL Sentral Station, with numerous eateries along the main road, this is good.

Apparently, the hotel was first runned as a minimart and owners probably extended the floors upstairs. Check in was a breeze and rooms was about (est about 2.2 meter by 3.2 meters) with a bathroom. A flat screen TV, a kettle, 2 bottles of water and bath towels, bath soap are provided. Was surprised when told there is breakfast.

Saw some reviews that it looked like some streetwalkers roaming. No, its true, its just beside the hotel, and there are red lights. Still, my wife and I felt safe and it is really near the main road with police cars patrolling the area. However, for women travelling alone, guess, makes sense not to venture out too late.

If you take cab, its easier to drop beside the KL sentral MONORAIL as some may not know where Jalan Thambipillay.

The minimart is wonderful and stocks just about everything. Think its open 24 hours.

Great stay although I saw some MYR60 hotel rooms along the main road as well. Left at 10.00pm at night to catch the midnight train to Singapore. And the room was mainly used to put our bags and have a quick shower. Overall, wonderful room and area.

Room Tip: Dont be choosy, most rooms should be quite alright, as there is controlled access from the minimart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalvinOng1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

5 mins walk to KL Sentral so handy for early journeys - hence the reason we stayed here. So on that front the location is good, it's also in Little India which is nice & authentic with good eats. However, when the lights went down we realised that there was a brothel next door & straight across the road with dodgy characters everywhere! Also, the hotel is above a 24hr newsagents so extremely noisy at all hours. Through the very thin walls we could hear people going to the store room, clicking up & down the stairs, if the door opened we could hear din from the shop - overall, not fit for purpose! The room itself was very clean & well finished but extremely small - not a room for lingering in! The staff are pleasant but overall I wouldn't recommend due to the seedy nightlife & noise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LulaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Macktz
Hotel Macktz
#191 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Hotel at KL Sentral
My Hotel at KL Sentral
#115 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Signature Hotel KL Sentral
Signature Hotel KL Sentral
#269 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
NU Hotel Sentral
NU Hotel Sentral
#87 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#92 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Westree
Hotel Westree
#17 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joy Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joy Inn Hotel

Property: Joy Inn Hotel
Address: No.22-1 Jalan Thambipillay, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Joy Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Joy Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing