We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs, Mice and Cockroaches?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hostel is the WORST hostel I have ever stayed in and I have been travelling for 9 months!! I was awoken with guests urinating in the bins, mice crawling in the lockers and bed bugs and cockroaches in the beds!! DO NOT believe the ratings on hostelworld as this hostel cancels your booking if you complain about your stay so that you are unable to leave an honest review. The breakfast is awful and the staff did not seem at all bothered when I raised the points above with them. This place is ridiculously over priced and I would like to prevent anybody else from going through what we went through at this place. AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 830 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend turned up here on Saturday 13th April. Nearly an hour after we said we would turn up, expecting them to mention something they were completely understanding as we had travelled for 6 hours on a bus from Singapore. When we arrive we had already paid a deposit online and had to pay the rest of the stay. The total worked out to be £11 a night which for us brits is pretty good. We got a free drink on the rooftop bar from 11pm and the restaurant that was connected was still open for food at 10pm which we were very grateful for as we were starving. The staff were a bit slow but were polite and offered a discount off our bill. The dorm we booked was an 8 bed but we were give a 6 which we didn't mind, we had quiet roommates though which were boring. The rooftop bar is amazing. It has a lovely view of the twin towers. The music goes on until about 3am and being in the dorm right underneath called the party dorm it was quite loud, but reception were able to give us ear plugs which were perfect. We haven't expeirienced breakfast yet as we slept in too late after being on the rooftop bar until 2am. Nice atmosphere here with a lot of other young travellers. We have a laundry service which cost around 8 ringgit and there is free wifi. There are door codes but that's for our own safety so I'm happy to type in a code like twice a day.

Overall I would recommend any travellers to stay here if they enjoyed Night life and socalising.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amylora30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hostel is a perfect place to meet other travellers and great base to explore the city. Its targeted at younger travellers who like to mingle. Don't be put off by reviews that claim it as a 'Party Hostel' because the rooftop bar is far away from most of the dorms and you can have great night sleep. Building is very stylish and i loved the decor very much. Pods are really comfy, with your own light, cupboard and locker. All the doors have a security code, so it feels safe overall. Private rooms are available as well. There are two lovely courtyards, perfect for making new friends. It was one of the best hostels I ever stayed while backpacking.

Pros:
Lovely specious Pod beds
Very beautiful building with wooden floors and decor
Perfect location, with a metro station 3 mins walk away
Great restaurant is attached to the hostel
Immaculately clean all over
You can rent an iPad to browse the Internet
Lovely common area downstairs
Nice roof top with a view at petronas tower
Very spacious great showers with cold and hot water, and many of them!
Drinking water tap on every floor
Smoking shisha in the rooftop bar is a nice addition

Cons:
Overpriced watered down drinks
Guests from some asian countries are discriminated. I witnessed it myself.

Room Tip: Lower pods are so much easier to get into.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ksymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This place was hilarious! You sleep in 'pods' instead of bunk beds like in other hostels and it meant you got a really good night's sleep! Rooftop bar was really nice and it is a party hostel but you are still able to get some sleep! Nice location and the breakfast was incredible!!! All you can eat buffet included within the price! Unbelievable! All in all, a fab place to stay!
Thank you! x

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank 743KATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The name kind of put me off at first as I thought it sounded a bit 'wanky' but this place is Fantastic!

The location is perfect, with a metro station 3 mins walk away, 2 stops to KL sentral and 10 minute walk from China Town Markets.

There is a restaurant attached that serves really great western food if you need a break from Asian and drink specials everyday if you fancy a tipple!

The breakfast here is free and is very good and varies each day, eggs, noodles, fruit, beans, toast and real juice.

The staff are super friendly and knowledgable and the whole place is immaculately clean.

Don't be put off by reviews that claim it as a 'Party Hostel' the rooftop bar is a great party spot but if you want something more mellow the courtyard and bar / restaurant downstairs are great. We never heard any noise from the roof top at from our rooms either.

One tip, if you are staying in a dorm, request a bottom bed as the top ones are a fair hike especially in the dark!

Really great place, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nixident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

one of the best hostels I ever stayed while backpacking, nice roof top with a view to petronas tower, very friendly place with night-outs, hostel tours, and nice bedrooms with a curtain for privacy, they even hold a restaurant on the ground floor

Room Tip: the party rooms are for nuts, you dont need them really
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marco_zoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It is definitely a party hostel with a bar and roof top dance club. It is quite loud. The interior of the hostel is very modern and sleek. My only problem with it is that night I had terrible sleep from the noise of a rat running around in the walls or ceilings of the dorm. It kept me up half the night. I would recommend this hostel if you're looking to make friends and have a good time in a posh setting. However, if you want some peace and quiet, don't stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mc17724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
0.7 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#71 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BackHome Kuala Lumpur Hostel
BackHome Kuala Lumpur Hostel
#1 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paper Plane Hostel
Paper Plane Hostel
#3 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur

Address: 53 Jalan Tun H S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 296 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $14 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by towering skyscrapers and buildings in Kuala Lumpur, Reggae Mansion is a colonial style building which invokes a sense of nostalgia both to locals and visitors which is scarce these days. Happily, these nostalgic feelings are now captured by Reggae Mansion KL with its unspoiled, colonial charm reminiscent to days gone by. The Reggae Mansion Hostel, Kitchen and Bar is the newest and most funky place in town. We are located in the heart of bustling China Town in a beautifully renovated 3-storey building. This is KL’s most happening and atmospheric hostel for international travellers. Our bar serves a wide range of *ALCOHOLIC drinks and the kitchen offers our famous WESTERN and ASIAN food menus *NON HALAL. Our comfy outdoor terraced area and garden is a hub for travellers from all over the world to meet, share stories and party. We have so much to offer, you will never want to leave!! Our facilities include: Internet station with skype headphones• Free WIFI throughout the mansion• Safety deposit box at reception & in private rooms• Filtered drinking water dispenses on every floor• IDD call phones• Door card access key• Coin operated Laundrette• Bar & restaurant• Guest courtyard with BBQ area• Sky bar on the roof (Unobstructed view overlooking the Twin Towers & KL Tower)• Transfer service to Airport (chargeable)We even bring you a 40 seat cinema room (Equip with latest high-tech THX sound) for your entertainment experience. In-room facilities feature 2 power points and reading lamp for every bed, free lockers (padlock for sale) in the dorms, AC in all rooms. Universal adapters, irons, hair dryers/straighteners available for free rental. Free shampoo/shower gel, linen, blanket and towel. Cable Satellite LCD TV in private rooms. Our Reggae Tours help organise and arrange all sorts of exciting activities and tours around Malaysia. We also operate an exclusive city tour for our in-house guests. PLEASE TAKE NOTICE BEFORE MAKING A BOOKING• Wheel chair is not accessible since our hostel has no lift. • Reggae Mansion is a backpacker and party hostel. We have an age limit to 60 years old above.• We do not accept online bookings from Malaysia, India and middle east countries. Bookings made and paid online by these countries shall not be refundable. We accept walk in check in only for these countries and it is subjected to the room availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing