We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value and awesome staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good value and awesome staff”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I had a great stay at Suzie's. The staff is warm and friendly, and they make great effort to ensure guests are comfortable. My four night stay was very comfortable and I felt completely safe the whole time. In addition, the facilities are cleaned throughout the day. Another bonus is the close proximity to the subway. Definitely a home away from home! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    78
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
8
57
52
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

For those arriving early in the morning(5 am), it`s good to know a place where you can check in, only paying a little extra, contrary to other places, that would charge you for a full night, arriving before check-in, and at the same time, being on a good location, near public transportation, in this case the sky-train(Pasar Seni), markets and bus-terminal(Jalan Puda).
This will be helpful for those who wish to be near the central station(KL-central), for transfer to airport, and if you want to go sightseeing and shoppng(KLCC), all by use of sky-train.
This is a hostel or guesthouse, and not for couples who seek privacy, but for budget travelers.
It`s clean and convenient, flexible and friendly staff and affordable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crawlingken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Suzie's offers dorm beds and double rooms with bunk-beds. For an average price around Chinatown this place is not bad. The room provided a bunk-beds with clean sheets. Although I did not pay for air conditioner (very) cool air came into the room through the fan connect with the common area with air conditioner. The place is cleaned all day long and the 3 toilets/ shower-rooms where also clean during the day. It was a pity that all the cleaning tools where blocking the emergency exit. Overall a place with friendly staff and good internet WIFI.

Room Tip: If you want a dorm bed and don't care about airconditioner ask for a fan room and you might end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Pay extra for a private room and copped the tiniest space with wafer thin swaying walls and a long walk to the bathrooms...toilet issues and a kitchen area riddled with cockroaches...mosquito spraying everyday throughout this establishment and it still did nothing to rid the place of mosquitoes...noisy late night folk will have you a terrible sleep; smoking in the corridors in the wee hours and an owner that blurts racial slurs towards certain foreign customers who apparently are not permitted to stay at Suzies!! (I could name the countries that he mentioned)....Very sad indeed! The Malaysian and Bangladeshi reception staff are helpful all the same...but sadly overall a disturbing experience and much much better guest houses on offer nearby with genuine management and a good nights sleep

Room Tip: Try another place...after all it's all about the sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wardysworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at SUZIe' guesthouse twice. I have to say that SUZIe's guesthouse is very charming guesthouse with a great location and positive vibe. The staffs are a wonderful, caring and very helpful and really helped me with good suggestions and made me feel at home. Also, they are always happy to chat with you. The breakfast is free and nice and the tea and coffee are available all day along! Importantly, the hostel is so clean and well-organized constantly. I will definitely come back here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjcho1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Ive stayed here a few times and yes the rooms are small without windows but unless you want to spend over the odds all the places are like that in the city centre! The place is squeaky clean, the owners are lovely and really helpful with good knowledge of the area and good english. The locations great. Close to where the buses drop you off if you are coming from thailand, also close to the rail links to the main shopping and where the towers are, although a cab is cheap. Theres markets on the doorstep and some great places to eat!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this GH and was very satisfied with the standard, cleanliness and service at this place. The location is also very convenient, very close to the free purple buses as well as sky trains stations, yet quiet enough for a good sleep. We also appreciated the help and friendliness from...(we forgot his name, sorry!), who has been working there since two days only. Ideal for a budjet stay in KL.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#50 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
992 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 256 in Kuala Lumpur
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 256 in Kuala Lumpur
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 256 in Kuala Lumpur
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
#17 of 256 in Kuala Lumpur
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
TravelHub KL
TravelHub KL
#14 of 256 in Kuala Lumpur
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel

Property: Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
Address: 179, 1st floor, Jalan Tun H.S.Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 256 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A BACKPACKERS MECCA. A New Hostel In Kuala Lumpur.A Fresh and Modern Central Kuala Lumpur Accommodation.Just open early February!!!!!! Great Vibe,Hip,Friendly Staff,Clean&Secure, Location & Beds For Everyone.Suzies Guesthouse KL is only short stroll to all major tourist attractions and also within easy access(2 min) to the Putra LRT station,Central Market(Pasar Seni) bus terminal, business centers. We make you feel at home!Feel pleasurable with the homely atmosphere. Our guesthouse located within walking distance to everything you may need. Next door to famous reggae bar recommended by Lonely Planet. With Chinatown on your doorstep you will never run out of things to see and do. Sights, restaurant, bars, shops, the local market and public transport are all at your disposal. This is an ideal tranquil spot to take a break from all the action. Our aim is to provide you with a personal service, modern, clean and comfortable rooms in an urban, funky and contemporary atmosphere. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff are on hand to help you 24 hours a day always maintaining our standards. Whether you want socialise with fellow travellers or just chill out in our comfy lounge are we want to make you stay in Kuala Lumpur as memorable as possible. ** We provide 4 PRIVATE room Queen beds and twin beds and 7 room Twin type Bunk Bed / Double Decker and Mix Dorm-6 bed and Female Dorm- 6 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing