We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hotel by Masjid Jamek LRT Station”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lotus Family Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lotus Family Hotel
Ranked #163 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Hotel by Masjid Jamek LRT Station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Room: Booked a Superior Double room and to my surprise was the largest room category over there. The room was small but it did have a wonderful bed and clean tiles flooring. a perfect room for couple of day of stay,

Minibar: coffee, tea and biscuits available in the room.. funny though.

Bathroom - Bathroom was spacious and clean. no amenities available except shower cap.

Location: located just 2- seconds walk to Masjid Jamek LRT Station (Kelana Jaya Line) where it was an interchange station to Ampang Line and Sri Petaling Line. lots of markets and shops nerby. A few minutes walk to Dataran Merdeka and Sultan Abdul Samad Building. BUT, if your flight depart early in the morning, try pre-book a taxi before staying at this hotel as there are no taxi available at hotel nearby and the LRT service only started at 6am every morning.

Service - Staff is friendly and smile always. Check-in takes less than 10 minutes. So far everything was good and the housekeeping did their good job in cleaning my room.

Value: Value for money as the hotel location just 2 station away to KL Sentral via Masjid Jamek LRt Station... KL Sentral was KL main transportation hub.

F&B: This hotel does not have restaurant.

Room Tip: higher floor provide better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kennyahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    54
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
33
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

After the terrible experience at Citin Hotel, Masjid Jamek (read my review on trip advisor)--this place was so much better.

Helpful staff (you never realize how important this is unless you've had a bad experience), location just outside Masjid Jamek LRT, bigger rooms (all my comparison based on Citin Hotel). Post that experience, this was oasis. It's absolute value for money, decent sized rooms and amenities for the price you pay. Did not eat anything here, so can't comment on that, but there are enough eateries nearby if you want to eat out.

We hadn't booked the rooms in advance and were extremely grateful to get a good room and service in extremely short notice.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Located just outside Masjid Jamek station , very convenient for business travelers who looks for a good sleep after a hard day's work. Room was simple and neat . Free Wifi ! speed was average, though not very bad. Many eateries nearby at walkable distance serving Indian food. Recommended for simple business travelers who look for an easy accommodation without any luxury . Can't expect great amenities and view of the city. Don't expect great concierge but good value for money !

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank prafilaash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

For the price that you pay you get great value for money. It is located in Little India just a short taxi ride to KL Central. The room we stayed in was clean, tidy and spacious. Some street noise but that is part of the experience. A small trade off for staying so close to the action.

The staff were very friending and were happy to help at any given time. We can not fault our stay at this Hotel.

The average cost to KL Central in a taxi varies between MR5 and MR10, don't pay anymore. We found if we did not agree to a price the taxi driver drove around until he got the amount on the metre anyway. The taxi's are a major issue , however that has nothing to do with the Hotel.

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and will be back. Regards Jen and Phil

Room Tip: Beware when dealing with the taxi drivers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havenfunin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had stayed here 5 nights during may last trip to KL, i like the hotel location because just a few step to LRT and at the heart of Masjid India. The staff also very friendly and helpful . I would love to come here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HosenTuananh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Not a pleasant stay. Stayed in room 201. Room had mosquitos. Bedsheet was stained with what looked like pink highlighter streaks. The wall by the door had a big shoe print on it. Sink faucet was leaking. Room is pretty small. Trashcan top in the bathroom was broken. On the upside it is near the LRT. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank justanotherfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had stayed here a few times since its opening in 2011 (if not mistaken). Room is good size for 1 person but 2 person is a bit small. Paid extra RM20 for a room with a window which I shouldn't have bothered as it was a small window with a view of the building/parking next door. No breakfast is provided as this hotel is without a cafe. All in all, would recommend this hotel if you wanna be at the door step of the LRT station. Otherwise, there are cheaper hotels with better rooms and with breakfast just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eva865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Lotus Family Hotel
Lotus Family Hotel
#183 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek
Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek
#175 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De' Grand Orchard
Hotel De' Grand Orchard
#237 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Orchard
Hotel Grand Orchard
#189 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.2 mi away
T-Hotel Jalan Tar
T-Hotel Jalan Tar
#192 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#240 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Family Hotel

Property: Lotus Family Hotel
Address: No. 45 Jalan Melayu | Off Jalan Tun Perak, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Family Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Masjid India, you will be pampered with the abundance of shops selling traditional clothings and soveniers.The Masjid Jamek LRT Station is right beside our Hotel.Guests will be able to tour attraction spots such as the Twin Towers, Merdeka Square, K.L.Tower, China Town,National Monument and many more places with public transport that is so very easily avaialable right at our doorstep.At the Lotus Hotel, you will experience "HOSPITALITY IN A TRUE MALAYSIAN WAY" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lotus Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing