We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Lotus Family Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lotus Family Hotel
Ranked #155 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed January 21, 2014

For the price that you pay you get great value for money. It is located in Little India just a short taxi ride to KL Central. The room we stayed in was clean, tidy and spacious. Some street noise but that is part of the experience. A small trade off for staying so close to the action.

The staff were very friending and were happy to help at any given time. We can not fault our stay at this Hotel.

The average cost to KL Central in a taxi varies between MR5 and MR10, don't pay anymore. We found if we did not agree to a price the taxi driver drove around until he got the amount on the metre anyway. The taxi's are a major issue , however that has nothing to do with the Hotel.

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and will be back. Regards Jen and Phil

Room Tip: Beware when dealing with the taxi drivers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havenfunin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 109 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Not a pleasant stay. Stayed in room 201. Room had mosquitos. Bedsheet was stained with what looked like pink highlighter streaks. The wall by the door had a big shoe print on it. Sink faucet was leaking. Room is pretty small. Trashcan top in the bathroom was broken. On the upside it is near the LRT. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank justanotherfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had stayed here a few times since its opening in 2011 (if not mistaken). Room is good size for 1 person but 2 person is a bit small. Paid extra RM20 for a room with a window which I shouldn't have bothered as it was a small window with a view of the building/parking next door. No breakfast is provided as this hotel is without a cafe. All in all, would recommend this hotel if you wanna be at the door step of the LRT station. Otherwise, there are cheaper hotels with better rooms and with breakfast just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eva865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We moved to this tiny hotel after a night stayed at Premiera Hotel as the Premiera has been fully booked once we wanted to stay for another two more nights. We have looked reviews before booking and unfortunately the overall rating on tripadvisor is a bit misleading. The double room is packed with only a very small mini window. Room itself is not clean even by the minimum hostel standard. Our bed sheet seems hadn't been changed from the last guests. The only thing good is just off the metro station. KL is not that big as you may imagine. If you got a hotel not close to metro, you could easily grab a taxi which is cheap (3 RM to start and 0.1 RM for every 125m after 1KM). Taxi is a good and economic choice if you travel in a group of 3 or 4. The complimentary breakfast seems a scam from some other feedbacks and for us even no voucher has been given. Be aware!!!!! Some rooms have no window!!!!!!! We booked from agoda and the room costs 48 USD a night and for just few more dollars (less than 10), you'd get a quite decent room in central KL. And also, the walkin price is cheaper, which costs arround 130 RM. Take my advice and find another place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sihao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

After staying two days at the V Garden Hotel, we moved to Lotus Hotel at Majid Jamek. I booked a double room and a single room through Booking.com and upon check-in we were told by this nice Indian lady that we were given a single room with window while normally they only give rooms with no windows to booking.com guests. That was a relief as I wouldn't want my mum to stay in a room with no windows. However, it turned out that the single room is much better than the double room, except the bed is smaller.

1. Room size - The double room is the same size as the single room, the only difference is the size of the bed, so the single room looks much more spacious while the double looked very packed.

2. Window - The double room has a small window on the back of the building, facing a garage of the building in front, and the closet was just next to the window half way in front, so even if you open the window there is not much light coming in. It was also too noisy as the ventilators of the A.C are just right outside, so it was impossible to keep the window open.

3 Inside the room - the light in the room was badly designed, there is only one big light, no lamps on the bedside nor desk. It was too bright to keep the light on, and if switched off it's too dark as there is no natrual light in the room.

4. In both rooms we found lots of tiny ants on the desk and on the bed

I quickly called the reception and asked for a change of our room, and after 5 minutes we were given a room on the street side for an extra of 15RM. Well it was worth it, the 2nd room was so much bigger and better, with two windows overlooking the river, so lots of natrual light.

For 145RM I think you can find better hotels in the city center but this one does have an excellent location as the Majid Jamek train station is just in front, which is really great for visiting places.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so impossible to judge on that.

There is another downside of this hotel is that there were only Indian chanels, no BBC or CNN, or Star Movie, etc. We got these chanels in every hotels in Penang, Langkawi, Melaka and Kuching but not in Kuala Lumpur.

Room Tip: If you book on booking.com, they will always give you a room with no window, ask for one WITH window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeyaruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Their room rates are incredible and by early 2013 the hotel is still habitable, though barely. Rooms are very small, so book their biggest offers. Everything is still relatively clean (on a minimum quality standard), staff is friendly, service is adequate. Never tried their food. Their hotel seems to have degraded with use since last year, and no improvements are visible to counter this trend. By early 2013 it's still habitable, but if they don't invest in some renovation soon, in a year or more it could pretty probably degrade to a hell-hole. Hope it won't happen.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elias77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We got an incredibly good deal for this hotel on booking.com (around $15) that we thought was too good to be true at the time, and it was.

The room itself was nice, good layout and modern decor. However, no window and stench of stale smoke let it down for us. The air con was poor and very noisy.
The hot water only stayed luke warm for about 3 minutes and then became cold.

Free water and biscuits were a bonus.

The biggest thing that let this hotel down for us was check out. On settling the bill the staff tried to charge us full price for the room (around $72)! We showed them our booking confirmation and instead of appologising for their mistake, the staff began a huge drama. The manager told us that it was our mistake and "did you really think a hotel of this standard would cost so little!?" "It will be taken out of our wages so you should pay the extra". He tried to emotionally blackmail us into paying the difference. When we refused to pay the full price, he just walked off in a temper. We were shocked and found his rudeness hilarious, and so unprofessional.

Beware- The "free breakfast" was a scam. You get a complimentary voucher to spend in a choice of 2 local cafes. The value of the voucher, however, only gets you a plate of rice. The prices for foreigners are twice if not triple that in any other food outlet in KL. We ended up paying more for our breakfast than we would've spent without the voucher.

For these reasons and the stuffy rooms, I urge you to look elsewhere for accomodation is KL, you can find better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Letsseetheworld86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel De' Grand Orchard
Hotel De' Grand Orchard
#242 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#246 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek
Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek
#184 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lotus Family Hotel
Lotus Family Hotel
#181 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Orchard
Hotel Grand Orchard
#160 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avenue J Hotel Central Market KL
Avenue J Hotel Central Market KL
#107 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Family Hotel

Address: No. 45 Jalan Melayu | Off Jalan Tun Perak, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $24 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Family Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Masjid India, you will be pampered with the abundance of shops selling traditional clothings and soveniers.The Masjid Jamek LRT Station is right beside our Hotel.Guests will be able to tour attraction spots such as the Twin Towers, Merdeka Square, K.L.Tower, China Town,National Monument and many more places with public transport that is so very easily avaialable right at our doorstep.At the Lotus Hotel, you will experience "HOSPITALITY IN A TRUE MALAYSIAN WAY" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lotus Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing