We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Furama Bukit Bintang
Ranked #51 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We arrived at 4pm but our family room was still not ready. Staff was not apologetic and only told us to wait another 30minutes. Behind us in the queue there were 3 other guests who all seemed flustered.
Rooms were big and clean. Location was good as hotel is only a 5 minutes walk from Times Square and Bukit Bintang area. There is a mamak stall just 2 minutes away from hotel which served great tea tarik and local food. Breakfast buffet was sumptuous.
Wifi was not stable on our second night. Will only stay again if we score the same price.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RinaKairena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Rina Kairena,

First and foremost, we thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at Furama Bukit Bintang.
We are very delighted to hear that you found our rooms spacious and clean, good buffet breakfast and it's location towards your liking.

At the same time we also apologize for not having your room ready upon arrival at 4pm. I've addressed this issue with our housekeeping team and so that we will speed up in our room delivery timing. Thank you also for highlighting on the instability of the WiFi signal on your 2nd night. We have checked and made amendments with the portal.

We hope to continuously deliver the warm hospitality of our hotel to our guest and we awaits for your return in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,391 - 1,397 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Arrived and was upgraded to a bigger room which was a bonus, Hotel was nice and close to city centre but wasn't worth what I paid and bought a bottle of water from reception area and it cost 18MR, gym aways very small and basic, staff were nice aswell, never arrived at hotel until 12am having paid for the full day, I asked if I would be able to stay in hotel for extra time the day I was leaving but I would have had to pay extra money, also had to pay for wi-fi which should be free in this day and age when you are paying top dollar for a hotel

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Frazsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Frazsim,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your stay.
We appreciate you kind feedback on courteousness of our associates and the hotel's location which is close to the city center.

We do symphatize with the situation and frustration you have gone through for your request on the extension for a late check out. On less peak days we do allow our guest for a complimentary late check out but very much depending on the hotel's occupancy but unfortunately we were running at our peak occupancy during the day of your departure.

All rooms are provided with complimentary WiFi facilities (except for Superior Rooms) however internet facilities are available at no charge (cable)

We do hope you would return to Furama Bukit Bintang with a more pleasant experience next time.

Sincerely,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

A nice, spotless and quiet place located at the edge of Golden Triangle (The tourist district in city). Less than 5 minutes walk to the Imbi Monorail Station. The service was of average standard but the breakfast is excellent. The panoramic view from my room is fantastic day and night. I stayed for 3 nights, only first 2 days having internet access but not the last day. The jug kettle couldn't function using the plug-in socket in the minibar (only used in the one in the bed-side table. This is a little bit overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lui w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Lui W,

Firstly, we would like to say thank you for the effort in writing this review. We appreciate the positive feedback especially on the hotel's location and breakfast spread / service.

Following that, we deeply apologize on the malfunctioning socket in your room and the internet connection on your last day. We have discuss on this matter during our operations meeting and our team have attended to the issue.

We thank you very much again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in Furama Bukit Bintang in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Upon arrival at check-in counter, all the receptionists looked so "busy" even no guest check-in at that moment. No greetings at all, not to mention a smile or eye contact from them. With my booking confirmation & IC ready, I was standing in front of them for 10 mins till the receptionist served me. It took her some times to tell me that only twin bed room available (I did request for a double bed room when making online reservation 1 month earlier). I insisted to have a double bed room & after 10 mins only she gave me the room card without mentioning what kind of room was provided to me. What an unfriendly receptionist! And my room card was disabled the next day, 4 star hotel standard?

Other than that, the room is spacious. Housekeeping guy is friendly. Free shuttle to nearby shopping malls is ideal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mon_0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Mon_0624,

We thank you very much for staying with us and for taking time to highlight your concerns to us. It is only through these comments that we are able to review guest concerns and address the issues, thus implementing necessary procedures to ensure that our guests are comfortable during their stay.

We have met up with the Front Office team, and they have again been briefed and reminded on the importance of providing prompt service. No matter how busy they are with their daily tasks, guests’ expectations are not to be compromised. Immediate remedial actions have also been taken accordingly.

We take this opportunity to apologize most sincerely to you for any inconvenience you had experienced during your time of check in. Rest assured, we are continuously putting in more effort to train and develop our people, to improve the standard of service and achieve excellence.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality and look forward to welcoming you back to Furama Bukit Bintang.

Sincerely,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 3 days in early Jan 2014. Family room on the 23rd floor with a view to the city. The views were beautiful both during the day and at night. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful and service was excellent. Very close to everything, 5 min walk to Times Square. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirl_rap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Shirl_Rap,

Thank you so much for your reviews as well as for choosing Furama Bukit Bintang as a preferred hotel in Kuala Lumpur.

Great to know that you have enjoyed staying with us and we will definitely look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you once again for supporting us and we look forward in welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed here in late Dec-2013 for 3 nights in a deluxe room. Wall paper was torn, carpets had stains (in the room & hallways) & there were marks on the room walls - definitely not 4-star in my opinion. About half an hour after checking in, I had to call the concierge to ask for my bag to be brought up as I wanted to freshen up straight away. I was annoyed that there was no power outlet in the bathroom, but then I found this to be the case in all Malaysia & Singapore hotels I stayed at. There's only a shaver outlet next to the basin, so perhaps they think females are too silly & will get themselves electrocuted while using the hair dryer. Apart from that, I had a nice stay at Furama, the pool was great with poolside food service & they had an extensive buffet breakfast.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Nuzza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Nuzza11,

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review Furama Bukit Bintang.

It was with deep regret that we learnt of the challenges that you have experienced. Having read your feedbacks there was indeed no excuse for the inefficiency shown by our team but to extend our most profound apologies. Please rest assured that all matters raised will be dealt with swiftly to avoid further recurrence.
In fact, we would like to thank you for your time in giving us your feedbacks as this will enable us to monitor, maintain and upgrade the standards of service to our guests as expected of us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed on 26 - 29 Dec'13 with two kids & elderly mom. First 2 nites in 2015 Family Room and last night in 2109 on Club Floor.
HOtel is clean but needs some renovation. Family room was OK, it's two adjoined room with small living room in the middle. Bed quite comfortable.
2109 has toilet problem. We just aware on the day we were checking out. too troublesome to inform hotel staff. But apparently the hotel know that the toilet was stuck before as 2 hotel staff checking at 2 different time whether the toilet is blocked or not. The shouldn't give us this room if they knew this problem before, especially on the Club Floor.

Breakfast was disaster. You have to wait for everything unless you came earlier than 9 o'clock. Glasses, cups, spoons, food and drinks! Tea & Coffee always run out. On next day i brought our bottled water from room as it was too long to get just a water. Kids won't wait. With high occupancy, hotel should be able to make forecast for sufficient supplies during peak hours.

Be careful if you walk after dark. A lady stayed in front of our room almost get robbed and got hit on her head. She was in shocked as we shared same lift to our room. The hotel already give precaution on small paper inside key card envelope on safety issues.

Taxi is at reasonable price but a bit annoying as some would not use meter and refused to take you if the distance is near. Download MyTeksi application if you stay longer in KL.

Hotel is just 5-8 mn walking to Berjaya Times Square & Imbi Monorail Station. Quite convenient actually. just be careful with what you bring & wear. During my 3 days in KL, 3 gentlemen I met on the tour warned me re. safety issue.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing KL Tower & Twin Tower for better view. Other side is dull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetnoNiekno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear RetnoNiekno,

Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay with us at Furama. On a positive note we are glad to hear that you found the hotel's location good, clean, spacious rooms and comfortable beds.

However, we express our deepest regrets for the inconveniences caused during breakfast. We have taken note on your comments and will make improvements to ensure a consistent and efficient service is delivered to our guests at all times.

Kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
#30 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#40 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Suites Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#16 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
904 reviews
3.8 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
1.1 mi away
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#46 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Bukit Bintang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Bukit Bintang

Address: 136, Jalan Changkat Thambi Dollah, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#47 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $45 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Bukit Bintang 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Furama Bukit Bintang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Bukit Bintang Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing