We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor showing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Furama Bukit Bintang
Ranked #51 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel from 23th December to 27 December 2012 booking an Executive Club room. I was very disappointed with my experience staying there. The rooms were not cleaned very well and mould had accumulated in the bathroom and other parts. I had to complain before it was cleaned properly. The floor lobby areas suffered from a lack of maintenance and for a new hotel the wall paper was torn in several areas. Service was also not of a good standard and should be improved. The eggs were cold at breakfast and the service wanting.

The club lounge was good but again only one person stood out with friendly service. Her name was Feitz and others should emulate her service personality. The Hotel also was a fair walk to the shopping areas with taxis charging exhorbitant rates for short distances constantly complaining of traffic jams.

Room Tip: Higher floors to take in the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irv789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear irv789,

Greetings from Furama Bukit Bintang!

We are pleased to have you in our care & your positive comments on our dedicated team members especially Ms Fieza - will be our inspiration to keep us on the right track in giving the best possible quality of service.

We take into serious consideration each comment and suggestion and we value your satisfaction and patronage. We have well noted your comment specially regarding the housekeeping & maintenance issues.

Please be assured that necessary measure will be implemented to improve concerned areas. It is always through your constructive feedbacks that we can serve our guests better and make your next visit with us a more enjoyable one.

Kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,707 - 1,713 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel was nice and modern, though it was still under refurbishment when I stayed there in early 2012. Location is great and right next to Times Square. The staff at reception were most professional and we were always greeted with a smile. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. However, there was plaster falling off the ceiling of the bathroom, most likely due to the humidity. Otherwise, overall it was a pleasant stay. Great hotel for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room as the road traffic can get pretty noisy given its location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Ms Sharon N,

Thank you for your continuous support towards Furama Bukit Bintang and for taking your time to share your staying experience. We are glad that you have seen the progress of the hotel since the initial opening.

The hotel location is certainly one of our hotel strengths as it is strategically located in the heart of Malaysia capital city, Kuala Lumpur. Thank you very much for providing us with your positive feedback. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful and very accommodating.

We had shared your comments to our employees and on behalf of our associates we would like to thank you for the recognition as well as the compliments given. On the other hand, I've noted on your comments regarding the plaster ceiling at the room's bathroom and will ensure that corrective measures is taken to rectify it.

Once again, thank you for sharing feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Furama Bukit Bintang in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Booked at Furama in Feb 2012

Rooms
- spacious
- clean
- comfortable, felt rested after a day of going around KL

Food, breakfast buffet
- wide array of choices
- lots of fresh fruit
- got my fill, satisfied with the taste

Location
- have to take a short walk from train station

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keoki-Cervelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Keoki-Cervelo,

Thank you for selecting Furama Bukit Bintang as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur.

It is certainly delightful to learn that you were happy with your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and we will certainly continue to strive towards achieving excellence!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay soon!

Warmest regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had an awesome experience of the Malaysian hospitality at Furama Bukit Bintang, when I went to KL to spend my Christmas holidays with my 8 year old son. The front desk personnel are professional yet warm and helpful, the concierge desk informative and proactive in sharing useful tips, every single member of the staff had a genuine warm smile on his/her face and patiently answered all queries. The room was a pleasant surprise as I received a free upgrade to an Executive Club suite though I had booked a Superior room and this was all thanks to the Malaysian gentlemen at the front desk who checked me in. The rooms are spacious, beds awesomely comfortable and being on the 16th floor provided a bird's eye view of the city and its constant happenings! All in all it was a great experience and one that will make me go back to Furama hotel each and every time I am in KL.

Room Tip: Ask for the top level floors as they provide an amazing view of the city around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shireen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Ms Shireen,

Thank you for taking the time in posting your valuable comments on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Furama Bukit Bintang.

We were thrilled to have your whole family during the Christmas break and are pleased to have exceeded your expectation. Your positive comments on our dedicated Team Members will be our inspiration to keep us on the right track in giving the best quality of service, with a smile.

On behalf of the Management and Team Members of Furama Bukit Bintang,we wish you and your family a prosperous New Year 2013, and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

stayed 28th Dec to 1st Jan 2012 with 2 children , check in & out was a breeze staff at reception friendly & helpful , its all about the location at Furama close to Bejaya Times Square , rooms of an acceptable standard , breakfast foods could do with a rotation policy !!

the highlight of the breakfast the Danish Pastries still warm from the oven !!

The complimentary bottles water were greatfully appreciated !

Room Tip: higher floors are better view KL Tower & petronas Towers ,ask for rooms away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilly022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Gilly 022,

Thank you for taking the time in posting your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Furama Bukit Bintang.

We were pleased to have you in our care and are extremely happy to have met your expectations. We are very grateful for the compliments, about our hotel. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay overall.

We are definitely looking forward to welcome you back again should your future visits brings you to Kuala Lumpur.

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Booked & stayed from 25th Dec- 29th Dec.

Check in- was a pleasant and the staffs at the counter were friendly and helpful.

Room- stayed at #903- asked for the non-smoking level, king size bed- they fulfiled my requests. Well-done! & Thank you!

Location- 5-7 mins walk to Bejaya Time squares and few good eateries opposite and around the hotel except for that" Gui Zhou" resturant- expensive and food wasnt that good.

Room service need to be improve. First day on arrival, face towels , shaving kit wasn't available.
Second day, toothbrush sets were not replenished. We had to ask for it on the 3rd day when our toothpaste were used up. Im not sure if the carpet were vaccummed during my 4 day stays, as we were around when the room was making up on the 4th day. The room service guy need to pay more attention as he forgotten to wash the glasses and cups. I wonder if we the cause for his distraction.

Swimming Pool - relatively small and water was super cold.

Spices resturant - was disappointed when we went down for our dinner on 25th Dec. We saw and asked for the 4 course dinner was avaliable during the noon and was told yes. But when we were there in the evening, it wasn't avaliable as it was X'mas and there were other program.Since so, why werent the staffs told and gave us the wrong information.

We were very disappointed when there's no WIFI available and it needed to pay. Oh! Come on, a small eateries can afford customers to use free WIFi why cant a International hotel do?
It doesn't make sense.

Overall, the stay was pleasant but i hope to see improvement.

Room Tip: Always ask for a smoke free level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginger-tea-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear 131295,

Thank you for selecting Furama Bukit Bintang as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur and for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am very disappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincerest apologies for your disappointment and the inconvenience caused during your stay with us in particularly with the inconsistency of the housekeeping service as well as the communication error on the Christmas dinner arrangements. I have addressed the issues that you have mentioned with my department heads concern for immediate action and improvement.

The hotel provides free internet cables to all rooms but as for wifi service, it's for deluxe categories and above. We value all guest comments as these will help us to right all the wrong. I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Booked and stayed in room 1612 from the 14 dec - 17 dec 2012.
Plus points - Good location for shopping and good food within walking distance.
Minuses - Room was smelly and looks dirty. Shower cubicle had mold on walls. Hinges on
the toilet sea had broken off. Hotel was supposed to be a
non-smoking hotel - how totally untrue. The odor of cigarette was a
permanent thing as soon as one steps out of the lift on the floor I was
staying on. Which did not help with my asthma.
Staff were not as friendly as described in the trip advisor reviews.. Should
have gone into the Booking.com website before I made my reservations as the
reviews were more realistic.
I will definitely NOT recommend this hotel or consider it on any future visits to KL city. Once is more than enough.

Room Tip: Cannot make any recommendations because based on the room I stayed in which was dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chengsim_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Cheng Sim_28,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us at Furama Bukit Bintang.

I would like to take this opportunity to express my sincere apology in regards to your unpleasant experience. Rest assured that we have taken note of your feedback and comment on our hotel. Please also note that, we are conducting assessments and training for our entire team member throughout the year. Through from your constructive feedback, we make sure that we will conduct a higher standard of training and assessments, in order to meet with our guests’ expectations.

Once again, thank you for expressing your feedback. As a valued guest, it is very upsetting to hear that you had an unpleasant stay. Through your feedback it will help us to provide the high level of services and accommodation to all guests.

Kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
#30 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#40 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Suites Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#16 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
904 reviews
3.8 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
1.1 mi away
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#46 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Bukit Bintang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Bukit Bintang

Address: 136, Jalan Changkat Thambi Dollah, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#47 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $45 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Bukit Bintang 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Furama Bukit Bintang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Bukit Bintang Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing