We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 - 3.5 Star Hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Furama Bukit Bintang
Ranked #49 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I've recently stayed in Bukit Bintang for 2 nights in their Executive Room facing the Petronas Towers. Its not a 5-Star hotel, but there are some negative points about this hotel that I think makes it not worthy of its 4-Stars...

1. Swimming Pool is super cold, no warmer or heater?
2. Only shower in Bath room, no Tubs. Its actually okay for no tubs, but its heater is not working properly. The water temperature will change from cold water to super hot water then cold water, etc although we never change the tap settings. This makes it very hard to bath in peace and this is in an executive room which I paid a premium for...
3. Breakfast selection in the Executive Lounge is limited. Its basically the same food served in the restaurant on the 3rd level, except that its a bit cold. Well, at least the Executive Lounge is not crowded...
4. Room Service... I came back to the hotel room finding that the room was still not cleaned after 2pm despite my instructions that I will be out in the morning and asking them to clean up the room in the morning around 9am.
5. Parking... Yeah, its free parking but you need to bring the parking ticket to the concierge for them to process the free parking 15mins before you leave the hotel. This is very disruptive and the front desk people at the concierge always seems to be busy helping new travellers with their lugguage, thus I am probably waiting around 10-15mins every time I need to drive out.
6. Lift. Only 4 of them is available means I see the lift full especially in the peak hours. In addition to the packed lift, there are a couple of times after the lift arrives, I can only select to go down although I pressed for UP. I've also tried to scan my card but it don't work...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasonsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,255)
There are newer reviews for Furama Bukit Bintang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,858 - 1,864 of 2,256 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2012

This hotel opened in July 2011, only 6 months before we stayed here. Location could not be better, only 5-10 minutes by taxi from anything in the city center!

We got a nice and helpful welcome by the door men, and a small gift in the reception when we checked in.

We are a family with children aged 5 and 3, who spent 3 nights in # 1317, a family room on the 13th floor with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a large living room in between. We could have lived here for a month without any space problems :-) The view was fantastic, and we loved every minute we spent in the room!

To our big surprice there was wallpaper missing behind our entrance door, and it seemed to us that the quality of the interior work was quite sloppy, with bubbly wallpaper and in general a mediocre impression. We could not find a map with fire escape route in the room, at least not near the entrance door where you expect to find it.

However, the size of the family room and the quality of the furniture was very good and elegant.

The breakfast had a lot of options, and the service was good. A person followed you to a vacant table. On our check out day we arrived to breakfast 20 minutes before closing time, to find that a lot of things were no longer available. This is of course nothing to make fuzz about, but it is a little annoying because this is in any way such a high class hotel where you should expect more.

We must say a few words about this hotel's fantastic concierges! They could inform us about everything, and their recommendations for food were as excellent as the dining experiences! They know for sure what they should about their town when it comes to giving good recommendations! We also liked this hotel's cooperation with Ecoregion Holidays, a tour operator for smaller groups.

Room Tip: We stayed in # 1317, which is perfect for groups of four, or those who need some extra space
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KEGillesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Hotel is relatively new, rooms are spacious, but already showing signs of maintenance neglect. Cleaners are polite and courteous, but staff in lobby, especially in the concierge, are rude and think a whole lot of themselves. Checkin staff need to learn to smile. Communication skills were poor and checkout documentation was non-existent even when asked. Lifts are quirky to operate and malfunctioned more than once. Value for money for now, but I wouldn't go back as the maintenance continues to slip. Location is also misleading - in the tropical heat, it's a long walk to the proper Bukit Bintang shopping areas.

Room Tip: Expect traces of cigarette smoke and musty carpets
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tianung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Was upgraded to a suite room which had the usual room items, bathroom very poorly finished, toilet seat hanging off, cheap tiles and poorly grouted, just felt low class for standard of hotel.But the shower was good with an overhead rain shower. Free LAN internet was the best point of the hotel.

Its the largest Furama I have stayed in and no free evening drink, no fruit in the room, but the worst point of all was the breakfast - Furama's before have a buffet but take your egg order alcarte. The hotel was busy for Chinese NY, the breakfast room itself more resembles a staff canteen in a factory than a high class hotel, row upon row of tables and chairs, tiled floor and just an overall cold atmosphere,they need a decent F&B manager. The food selection was more Asian which is OK being in KL!, egg station precooked fried eggs and omlettes which were cold and not nice at all. Most of the western offerings were sadly not even warm, cold baked beans are not nice! A general waste of good food.Very poor standard indeed.

Having stayed twice at the Sathorn Furama and Asoke hotels this hotel was a huge dissapointment at every level. Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

we were a family of 8 and took up Furama from 27th Jan 2012 till the 29th.
1. Our first interaction with the receoptionist, we realise she is a grumpy little lady. After that we avoided talking to her and preferred the other 2 at the desk.
2. though we had booked 2 double and 1 twin bed rooms, we were given one double and 2 twins, reason being quoted as "we are fully booked!" and ti think we had paid for those rooms in advance.
3. of the three rooms taken, one would get locked from inside and we would not be able to open it from outside.so much so on calling maintenance he had to unscrew the lock altogether!
4. in one room the phone wouldnt work and in another the faucet wouldnt.
5. the housekeeping wouldnt do the rooms, inspite of hanging out indicators to do so!
6. the front desk, house keeping nor the restaurant staff know anything about service with a smile. All look grumpy.
7. I must say the concierge was the most helpful there, Anwar, Shankar, the nepali security were the best of the lot.
8. At the restaurant "Spices", Menakha was helpful

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I am appalled that after discovering that sunglasses & jewelry were stolen out of my suitcase while it was in the secure lock up. Following this my many phone calls and emails about the matter went unanswered.
Absolutely disgusting customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ShannaRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I booked this hotel after reading all the fab reviews on TA, and overall, the standard of the rooms was very good as most reviewers suggest - however, there were some issues with this hotel which are worth considering before you book.

The rooms are very large (the largest I have seen at this price in SE Asia), and the beds very comfortable (fabulous pillows!). For TV watchers, the choice is very limited (a few Malaysian channels, one Chinese, and 2 Western channels - no BBC!).

While the hotel does have a pool, it is pretty small, and surrounded by tables from the restaurant which means that there is no relaxing, private swim - instead you are watched by the restaurant go-ers and staff alike!

The breakfast is a fairly standard buffet - fruits, rice, noodles, curry + an egg/bread station - however because this is a large hotel, the restaurant was completely packed with guests every morning (I tried both at 8am and 10am - same result!). As another reviewer noted, there is then a 5-10 minute wait with another 10 or so people for an elevator back to your floor so it does all feel a bit 'herded'. On the plus side, breakfast begins at 6.30am for those travelling, and ends at 10.30am for those that want a sleep-in, which is a nice touch.

The location is the primary issue that people may want to consider - esp those travelling alone. It is a 5 minute walk to the huge Times Square Berjaya (where you will find anything you need plus good food courts and a supermarket which also sells alcohol) and a 10-15 minute walk to Bukit Bintang (the main location for shopping, eating, etc). You can also get a monorail from inside the mall (Imbi station) to Bukit Bintang.

However, the hotel backs onto slightly derelict "Pudu" district and is fairly isolated. As a female solo traveller my instincts told me it didn't feel right to wander around at night - yes, there can be risks anywhere, but there is something about 'safety in numbers' that doesn't apply to this hotel's location. There are a few Chinese restaurants across the street (which were probably very good) but they are surrounded by derelict lots, mechanics and spray-painted advertisements for massages.

Overall, if you want to be in the heart of the bustling Bukit Bintang, it would be best to book elsewhere - but if you are looking for a comfortable stop-over, or travelling in a group, this hotel would be a good choice.

NOTE - if you are worried about the notorious KL taxi drivers, the Times Square Mall has a prepaid taxi counter (like the ones at the KL airports) - you will walk past it as you head to the entrance of the mall from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bex2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
3.8 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#41 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pacific Regency Hotel Suites
Pacific Regency Hotel Suites
#73 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#55 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#27 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,081 reviews
1.1 mi away
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#45 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Bukit Bintang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Bukit Bintang

Address: 136, Jalan Changkat Thambi Dollah, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#45 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $45 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Bukit Bintang 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Furama Bukit Bintang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Bukit Bintang Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing