We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good restaurant in bad area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyderabad Recipes

Hyderabad Recipes
Ranked #1,286 of 3,998 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: Famous Hyderabadi Dum Biryani, Haleem, Seek Kabab.......... PH - 006 03-40447786
Gdansk
Level Contributor
366 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in bad area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Tasty food, big choice, nice service, clean tables and floor, english speaking, air conditioned space, cash only, nice prices,

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank expat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    31
    13
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very dirty area not suitable for dining at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Though i like their Biryani much but still cant go and sit in a area full of 3rd class prostitutes and drug additives. ofc courses its very expensive for a dirty place like chow kit.
its better to take away your food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saqibsandhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Poor Service-Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Service is extremely bad. Do not order any fruit juices. Most likely you will be regretting it. There was no proper filteration of seeds and hard pulps for all 12 of our juices. Our drinks and food were served very very late , what else when it was served wrongly. That wss really a turning off factor. We also realised that other customers were experiencing quite a similar situation. Some even cancelled their juice and drink orders and we saw our next table (foreigners who were grumbling) over the service. On the other side, the food (briyanis) was good especially mutton briyani according to our group of 12. The vegetarian briyani was quite bad and not worth the price at all. Glob jamun, brown color sweet desert was good. Rasagulla- a white sweet desert was not enjoyed by many in my group. Overall disappointed with the service, though we made an early reservation for 12. Food is good.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VijayaratinamRamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“a bit expensive for Chow Kit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I live near this restaurant, but never went there due to the harassement of the staff on the street who encourages the passing people to enter the restaurant. But friends of mine wanted me to join them in this restaurant. The several vegetarian items we ordered were tasty and good, but not really big in size and a bit expensive in the 14 RM area. I do not compare with cheap hawker stalls, but one can have much cheaper food in the very dirty and very run down Chow Kit area. Indeed, Hyderabad has some better priced set dinners and lunches. Drinks were not cheap taking into account that one is in Chow Kit and not in KLCC. Sitting outside on Jalan Putra is too noisy, inside its better , but the ambience is a bit cool and really cozy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ansrichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious, good quality food in KL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I loved this restaurant because the food is delicious and good quality. The mango lassi was great, as were the curries, especially the palak paneer and butter chicken (very good quality chicken pieces). Instead of ordering the pricey Biryani specials just get the side dish of biryani rice (8 ringits) rather than the white rice, it is delicious and not as much 'stuff' in it (which kids liked more - there were fights for it). On the downside the prices are quite high by KL standards, however still ok for a family of 4 (average spend was about $25AUD for lunch which included drinks for all, 2 curries, 2 rice and 2 naan breads) and you need to be aware of what you are ordering as the staff make 'suggestions' towards the higher end products on the menu. Also, no alcoholic drinks available, not even a beer. The naan bread with cheese was a bit average, especially for the price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ausbamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyderabad Recipes also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Hyderabad Recipes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing