We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely mushroom risotto...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nathalie's Gourmet Studio

Nathalie's Gourmet Studio
Ranked #465 of 3,998 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely mushroom risotto...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A friend brought me to their outlet at Menara Taipan, off Jalan P. Ramlee for lunch last week. Apart from us, there was only 1 other table and you can't help but wonder whether the food is gonna suck or too overpriced people are avoiding it like a plague. Anyhow, both of us decided to go with their set lunch which consists of a main, dessert, coffee or tea - all for RM50. I went with their mushroom risotto and it was delicious. Would definitely go back again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“High Expectations but,......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Strange I can't find this restaurant but only Nathalies Gourmet, well this is the restaurant near KL towers, used to be High Tide

Before I went, I was told by 2 people, don't go, you'll be disappointed

despite numerous attempts to book online, almost impossible - my fault I suppose!!??

Spoke with the owner to organise a booking for 6 last night, a special occasion. RM70 corkage for a special bottle of champagne, no worries can cope with that. Restaurant looks nice, and a good seating, they probably have 50 seats and it qwas quite full so good for them

Ordered a second bottle of champagne, an excellent white and a superb red, we were prepared to spend

Other than the fact we had to raise our hands and almost beg ever time we wanted our glasses refilled, the servers were quite good, it was actually a nice service experience

The food came out, all tables (not just us) were given a complimentary amuse bouche, nice. Appetisers were good, and main course nice too. RM70 for a Black Angus steak, I thought pretty good, until it came out and it looked about 4cm in diameter and about 100g at best, the night before I had a 200g black angus in Pampas on Changkit Bukit Bintang for RM90

We brought our own cake (which was superb - made by The Westin actually (naturally)) which was served as dessert, nice and then we ordered some digestives

All in all I do recommend the food but don't you think that given there are apparently 2 French chefs and the owner in the restaurant, at least one of them would come out of the kitchen and, in such a little restaurant, say hello to their guests - npope, not once, not a hello, not a goodbye, nothing

now if I owned a restaurant I think I'd take the time to know all my guests and at least have the common courtesy of greeting them at some time during the evening

that just proves, being a great cook doesn't necessarily make you a restaurater, shame, it would have been nice for some interaction with someone cooking (especially if they are expats) and perhaps there was even a daily special - guess we won't know

Well, we actually spent a LOT of money, food and beverage it was worth it, just haven't got the whole hosting thing right

I would recommend it though, an overall nice place

Sorry, I don't normally write these things but lots of people write them to us so may as well share my thoughts

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MBJ400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Modern French Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

If you are visiting Kuala Lumpur and staying at the Shangri-la Hotel this restaurant is only 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

Food is excellent, well presented and staff are knowledgable. Dishes were innovative, the Tart Tartin pictured is just an example.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank travellerAust2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, good unobtrusive service but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Love the food, great service from waiters that actually know what is being served. The cost of eating there is very expensive but worth it as they seem to use good quality ingredients and you can tell that time and care is taken over the preparation of the food

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moveaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

2 girlfriends and I decided to give NGS a try and it did not disappoint. Since it was our first time there, looking at the price, we decided to order a couple of dishes and share. Had the scallops (RM33) for starters which was a good mix of fresh scallops,grapefruit and avocado. We each had 2 portions of scallops each. 2 mains, the beef and cod. The cod tasted ok - would have liked the skin to be a little bit more crispy, but the potato puree/mash that accompanied was divine. The beef - oh the beef....cooked to perfection! the 1 starter, 2 mains and 3 drinks cost us about RM200++. would go back for a splurge soon!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank becksangel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nathalie's Gourmet Studio also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Nathalie's Gourmet Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing