We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best House Design Hotel!!!!!!”
Review of Villa Samadhi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Samadhi
Ranked #1 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

OMG this hotel is making me speechless.Best design and great location of the hotel.This hotel is at the best environment which less people live beside it.This hotel got a great pool and nice facilities in it,for example : pool house,bar house and others.Can't believe the service too,the waiter are nice and you can ask anything about the hotel.The room was unbelieveable nice,i choose the deluxe room and find out the bed was big and comfortable,room is clean and tidy,and even got ASTRO for the television.In the morning,the buffet was set with a lot of food which can make you eat whatever you want till you full to death.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DannyTheLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
There are newer reviews for Villa Samadhi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 817 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

I could finally relax in midst of the stress of KL and found it so great that there was a hotel that was able to offer true relaxtion. The bar impressed me the most because it has such an amazing view making me always want to go up and have a drink. For my next stay in KL I will definetly come to the villa samadhi again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilya101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I was amazed that we were in KL. You could escape the hustle and bustle. The staff here were brilliant and gave a very personal service.

On the first night, we ate at the hotel. The food was delicious and so were the cocktails. We asked for recommendations on our second night and they recommended their sister restuarant, Tamarind Hill. They booked us in, then drove us there and back free of charge.

The reason I only gave 4 stars was the cleanliness was not the best. The jacuzzi was awesome, but we asked for the water to be changed because there was a line of dirt and a few dead bugs in the water. We were told that they only change the water when you have checked in. So we were stuck with the same water for the duration of our stay.

It would be good if we had control of the times of the jacuzzi was put on. I felt it was a waste if we were out during the times that it was on.

If we stay in KL again, we will definitely stay again, but I will check the water first to make sure it's clean at the start of my stay. Otherwise, the friendliness of the staff and the level of service makes up for the jacuzzi. Oh and the ample amounts of tea. Great tea. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expressiveelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

For a couple of Kuala Lumpur city slickers, Villa Samadhi was the perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle of Malaysian life. An oasis in the middle of Ampang, an upscale KL suburb full of embassies and 'old money' mansions, we were greeted by lovely staff and a beautifully kept room.

The suite we stayed in (Luxe Crib) was spacious, with a huge bathroom, bedroom and comfortable anteroom - not forgetting the huge balcony! The jacuzzi was a wonderful touch, in addition to the huge ceiling showers. Perfect to relax and chill out after a tough week of traveling or work.

The staff were helpful to any requests. I was quite stressed out upon arrival after a busy week of work, so I chose to get a traditional Malay massage in my room. The masseuse was easily the best I've ever had in Malaysia, and left me so relaxed that even more than 24 hours afterwards I feel fantastic.

Unlike many hotel restaurants, the food they offer is fantastic: we ate there for lunch, dinner and breakfast (in sequential order!). Every meal was wonderful and service by the restaurant staff fantastic.

Overall, an unparalleled experience of luxury and relaxation. Whether you're a Malaysian or a tourist, Villa Samadhi truly deserves to be called a 'retreat'.

Room Tip: We had a second floor suite, which was wonderful for watching the world go by and relaxing from the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank los_antipodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Pardon me for borrowing the title of Luis Bunuel famous movie,but it is so fitting for this oasis of calm in the middle of a bustling modern South Asian city... A wonderful,accommodating, staff and feast for the eyes,thanks to the refined decorating taste of the owners. Some rooms open directly to the swimming pool. A delightful cocktail hour on a loggia at the top of the main building,hosted by the elegant hotel manager,Chérie,is a must to attend and afford a great view of the surroundings, while being cooled off by the gentle evening breezes. We stayed 3 days and did not want to leave...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanFranciscoPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Did Edina design this? Will Patsy fall in the pool? Well, you would have to be familiar with UK Tv programmes from the 1990's to get that joke. This is a great place to stay in KL. This extraordinary hotel, just so chic in the diplomatic quarter of the city is so exclusive it doesn't even have it's name on the door. Actually no door, of course but an automatic gate in the perimeter wall. How have they found this secluded site in this frantic highrise city? Not many hotels can truly be called 'boutique'. Such an overused term, but this hotel really fits the description.
An oasis of peace and calm. So beautifully appointed it is nearly a parody of that which this hotel aims to achieve. Glossy magazine image in reality. The rooms are lovely and ours was honeymoon perfect, not that there are many youngsters staying. Think middleaged affluent. Soho House. Closet hippie. Breakfast is excellent and is served to midday, get the mood? Not cheap for Malaysia but worth every penny of the rate. Would be 5 times, Yes five times the rate in London or New York.
Manager Cherie defines your stay with her close supervision of your needs. Where will you eat? She'll recommend and arrange the car. Need a boarding pass? She'll print it off for you.
Nothing is allowed to prevent your stay from being perfect. Need anything, just ask.
So what can I report that isn't on the hotel website. The hotel is only a small way from the centre and a five or ten minute taxi ride from where you wish to go. No passing cabs, so reception ask for ten or twenty minutes notice to call one to the door. But KL is humid hot so nobody is rushing here. Some taxi drivers hailed for your return don't know the place but it is 100m from the US embassy and the hotel give you a little map to show the taximan.
We didn't eat in at night. Villa Samadhi are affiliated with a handful of restaurants. If you have no other arrangement they will recommend one of these to you. Having decided, they will pour you any cocktail in their pleasant bar and offer a tempting amuse bouche while you await your car. The drinks are included in your room price. The car is included in your room price. Off you go to dinner and when you are ready the car brings you back. An excellent system. The restaurants are a little expensive we thought but not after you have factored in the drinks and the car. And there is no pressure to use this service.
Stay here.

Room Tip: Check the hotel website. Some of the poolside rooms are a little exposed
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indefatigable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We recently booked this room for a night as a nearby and quick getaway from the kids. The location of this property certainly lends credence to it being a secret retreat as it is coolly tucked away in the hustle and bustle of downtown Kuala Lumpur.

A well designed property with above average fittings, design and furniture, the service staff are well trained and provide a personal experience during the stay. Food is mediocre at best, but definitely palatable if you wish not to leave this retreat during the duration of your stay.

Our major gripe has to be the description of its loft room, which we stayed in. Directly quoting from their website - "This 'nest' sits on the highest floor of the villa with a spectacular feature of a shallow lap pool-sized dip pool". This statement, to me is misleading as the loft is not really on the highest floor of the villa, with the hotel's bar sitting on top of the loft room.

If you are expecting the plunge pool of the loft room to be private and away from prying eyes, you will be hugely disappointed as the bar on top of the room has fantastic views of the surrounds AND the plunge pool that comes with the Loft room.

Maybe the management can find a way to keep the pool private and shielded away from the bar?

Room Tip: Plunge pool is not private and can be looked into from the bar on top of the loft room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cinemaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,783 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
2.6 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
0.8 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,895 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
7,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Samadhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Samadhi

Address: No. 8, Pesiaran Madge | off Jalan Madge, Kuala Lumpur 55000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#14 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $182 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Samadhi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best described as Kuala Lumpur's ultimate treat to nest in. This ravishing villa-in-a-room boutique hotel is one-of-a-kind in the capital city. Tucked within an upscale locale just 10 minutes drive from town, Villa Samadhi becomes an immediately accessible respite to restore soul into one’s exhausted self. Its collection of 21 contemporary Asian-inspired rooms, with each spanning from 600 square-foot to over 2000 square-feet of living spaces are accented with a collage of elements to create a raw yet sophisticated Asian dwelling. Discreetly recede from street view, the most distinguishing feature of Villa Samadhi is the massive, soaring grass thatched-roof that shouts 'Malaysia'. But most eye-catching is the mysterious-looking multi-layered thatched roof structure of the rooftop bar-lounge ‘Bumbung’ which is floating above all else. Open the bamboo-clad gate and the surprise is over, a facade in absolute russet harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Samadhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Samadhi Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing