We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Samadhi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Samadhi
Ranked #1 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed luxe sarang room for 3 nights and was amazing, the service and the food were great, and the manager tops it off. Well done can not wait for the Singapore one to open. If it wasn't for this place we would have been disappointed from Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariamoskiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    122
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
53
544
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Beautiful property, friendly and knowledgable staff. Only 10 minutes form the city (Petronas Towers) and $3 (AUD) in a cab. Try one of their restaurants called Tamarind springs. You wont regret it.
The room itself (Luxe Crib) was perfect with our own outdoor jacuzzi. The shower heads were the best I have experienced. The room itself was huge with a walk in dressing room and all the mod cons. Definitely worth staying here if you are in KL.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bunts77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Booked into this hotel for our last 3 days in Malaysia based on Tripadvisor reviews. Really wished we hadn't. I booked 6 months in advance and at the time of booking requested a ground floor room as I have mobility difficulties. I confirmed this request 2 weeks before arrival. When we arrived we were shown to a room up 3 flights of stairs and told that the ground floor rooms were of a "different category." Well had they told us this before we would have paid the extra, but it seems like they wanted these rooms for someone else - no apology, they just didn't care.

The idea of the hotel is good - natural design, lots of wood, well set out. But it doesn't quite work. Feels like an obsession rather than an attempt to provide a good service. The wooden doors don't fit properly, leaving lots of gaps to let the mosquitoes in. During rush hour the room filled with traffic noise and fumes. There were no comfortable chairs to sit on - the old wooden one which I guess was supposed to look antique was broken and the arm fell off. Worst of all was the jacuzzi in the bathroom - so hot, given air temperature was already 31 degrees, and could not be turned off from the room. It came on automatically every afternoon and evening and stayed on until 11pm. This turned the bathroom into a sauna, it was unpleasant to go in to use the loo and certainly I would not stay in there long enough to apply make up in front of the mirrors. Also the hanging space was in this room, which meant that clothes got damp.

The evening meal we had was good, but it seems that food quality depended on which chef was on as breakfast was quite poor - under-cooked eggs and thick heavy pancakes. The staff were unhelpful - we asked for a restaurant recommendation and were told "I really wouldn't know." Ordering taxis from reception meant a wait of 50 minutes on each occasion - no one warned us of this in advance though. At other times staff were pushy and in your face.

They don't expect you to stay around during the day at this hotel - there is no lunchtime menu. During the evening there is no bar outside the 'happy hour.' Service generally was hit and miss - our family members staying in another room got turn down service and chocolates, we did not.

We had been looking forward to our stay in this hotel based on reviews on this site. What a disapointment. Next time we will go to a modern hotel.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BJQRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Villa Samadhi is located in a more upscale residential area of KL, with many embassies around. It is less than 10 mins in a taxi to Suria KLCC (mall) and Petronas Twin Towers. The hotel is especially recommended for couples; rooms and common areas are beautifully decorated and there are many small personalized touches such as chocolates on the bed, complimentary snack, ginger ice tea drink, cookies, fruit etc. All staff, incl. cleaning staff + guard at the entrance of the hotel were very friendly. The manager seemed a bit strict, but I suppose that's just because she's the manager... Breakfast was good; there is a buffet with bread, cheese, salmon, cereals and fruit + coffee and tea. Fresh juices and any cooked items can be ordered from a menu. These items included potato rosti, omelettes, or even nasi goreng if you would want to. The restaurant also offers evening dishes which were mainly European/Italian (pasta's, meat etc.) rather than Malaysian, but the quality was very decent. The pool is kept immaculately clean at all times and is very attractive looking. Same goes for the whole hotel and the way it is decorated. A big plus is that Villa Samadhi feels very safe and secured - a real hideaway. This is not only due to the location, but also because there is a gate out front with a guard so only guests can enter the property.

All in all, very recommended. Go with your partner and you will have an amazing time here :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

When studying the Relais & Chateaux catalogue from 2012 we saw the Villa Samadhi and thought this would be a unique property worth staying at. Of course we knew by 2013 most Asian Relais & Chateaux properties had left and joined Secret Retreats, local competition to Relais & Chateaux. Villa Samadhi was not an exception. We were still interested, though, and booked it for one night via Hotels.com.

Secret Retreat could be the right name for this property. We took a taxi from the Grand Hyatt (see also review). Our driver had a general idea where the hotel was located, but had difficulties finding it. We had to ask for directions. Finally we arrived after ten minutes searching. Lesson learned. My advice would be to go to the website and print out the directions to avoid any problems.

Samadhi is Sanskrit and means journey. We definitely entered a different world. The compound was completely walled in and had a high gate with a discreet Secret Retreats plaque. There was a security hut with a guard. The guard had a list of guests and only those on it were allowed into the sanctum. Having established we were rightfully there, the gate opened.

The taxi parked right in front of the entrance. The hotel was stunning and completely different of anything we've ever seen in a city location. The building was completely made out of bamboo, salvaged timber and dried grass for the roofs. The hotel states on their website it's modern Asian design, I thought it was Chinese inspired, while my better half thought Thai.

The security guy was adamant he needed to take our backpacks and suitcase. Amused we humoured him. Inside we were greeted by the manager Cherrie. She is very capable, making sure guests are well taken care of.

We were invited inside. which meant using a few steps up. Underneath them was flowing water, leading to a small pool with Koi. There were also large vases as decoration at the side of the steps. Cherrie didn't ask us to sit down at reception, but brought us to the outdoor terrace, where we had beautiful views over the stunning pool scape, cabanas, loungers and the Mandi Mandi, the restaurant.

There were magazines on the salas waiting for us and soon Cherrie served us cold ginger tea as welcome drink. We relaxed while she took care of the check in formalities. She also brought us to our room, a Luxe Crib - there are only 21 rooms in total. Cherrie explained how to lock the door from the outside and inside (There are real keys, a lock and a key card for the air conditioning), how to use the TV, which drinks and snacks were for free and which ones weren't. She showed us the Jacuzzi on our large balcony and advised that we could use the bath salt in the Jacuzzi if we wanted to, but not the shampoo or the liquid soap/shower gel. If using them it would foam like mad and cause chaos, so it's understandable not to put any of those in the bubbling water. After having explained all the features, she left us alone.

The room was huge. There was a throne bed, a rocking chair, a very large wardrobe (suitable to move in permanently), a TV on a credenza in front of the bed, a mini bar and a safe. All the furniture was antique or second hand and made from dark wood.

There was a remote control for the air conditioning, another one for the TV and one for the receiver. There was a lot of zapping involved to find a program and it was only a small selection of channels but it was sufficient.

There were some holistic magazines, but no telephone.

The mini bar wasn't filled with your usual things. It was stocked with organic soft drinks and snacks. They were very good.

There were also dried fruits, bottled water and biscuits for free.

The bed was super comfy and we had a restful sleep.

The bath room was as large as our room with toilet, bidet, the largest shower ever - I would say there fit in four people easily - with a huge rain forest shower head and double sinks.

The amenities were made in house and were ginger based. We liked the smell and that it didn't dry out the skin.

Our balcony was long and narrow. We could overlook the upscale residential area and an embassy.

Access was possible through the bedroom and the bathroom.

We had two seating areas; one was a bench, the other two chairs with a coffee table.

After we had settled an employee knocked on our door to deliver an afternoon snack. It was sticky rice and tasty. It was a surprise and not expected.

Of course we used the Jacuzzi and enjoyed it tremendously.

We also went to explore the grounds.

While exploring we met the gardener, who noticed we were interested in the sign at one of the ponds with a warning not to put in hands or feet, because a snapper turtle lived in the pond. He asked if we wanted to see T-Rex as the turtle is named. Naturally we wanted, so he stuck his hands in the murky water and soon he was struggling with T-Rex, who had reacted to the movement. We were surprised how big and aggressive the turtle was. He had his mouth wide open, made hissing noises and tried to bite. We thanked the gardener, and T-Rex was released again.

We loved strolling along the pool and spying into Madi Madi, which means dip in Malay.

We encountered our favourite security guy again. I told him I liked watching the Koi, so he offered to show us what they eat. He went into the security hut and returned moments later with fish food.

Later we went down for dinner. A new employee was at reception and suggested: "Why don't you go up to the top floor to our bar Bumbung? We serve complimentary drinks... I'll also let the restaurant know you are on your way." We followed her advice.

We went up the stairs, since there weren't any elevators. The property might not be suitable for fellow travellers with walking difficulties or breathing problems.

The hotel also recommends to bring children from 12 years. I personally believe it is best for adults only as it is more of a retreat - very peaceful and quiet - and doesn't offer any amenities children might be interested in.

Staying here with small children could also pose a danger to them, like drowning, since some rooms have direct pool access and nearly all have a Jacuzzi.

During our stay we encountered only couples (One was same sex.) of different ages and nationalities.

The climb up was worth it. The Bumbung bar is directly under a grass roof and offers stunning views over KL and the Petronas Twin Towers. The Villa Samadhi is on the one side very secluded but on the other hand not too far from the action. Taxis can be easily arranged.

The space was open air, made of wood and offered a small bar with bar stools in the centre and a seating area along the walls.

We were handed a menu by Cherrie and advised we could order as many drinks as we liked. My better half had an alcoholic cocktail. I choose an alcohol free, because I took medicine against my cold. Both were very good.

We then moved on to dinner at Mandi Mandi. There was a selection of three or four starters, main courses and one dessert.

The decor was minimal and the tables were widely spaced, so it was very private even though everyone was visible.

We had fillet steak in cream sauce and chicken fricassee. Both were extremely delicious.

We shared the cake as only dessert available on the menu. It was very large and satisfying. The restaurant and bar are not open to the public.

The staff was very attentive, ready to give advice and interested in the guests.

There was no bill to sign. The dessert was free, so we had to pay only for our drinks and the main courses, which came in at 150 MYR (ca. 33 Euro or 45 USD).

After a good night’s rest we went to breakfast at the Mandi Mandi. It was included in our rate.

All cold items, tea and coffee were served buffet style, while hot items were made to order. Nothing was signed, so it was a bit difficult to make out what was coffee and what was tea. Both were in the same pots and had the same colour. We wanted coffee but ended up with tea. It wasn't a big problem since we like both and this one was really strong black tea.

There was a wide selection of fresh fruit, cheese, pastries, yogurt and others.

We choose French Toast and omelette from the a la carte menu. It was delivered promptly, hot and with a smile.


Soon it was time to check out. The check out was pleasant and Cherrie and I chatted about how we found out about the hotel and other guests. It seems to be rare that first timers of Kuala Lumpur are staying at the Villa Samadhi and most stay only for a few days. Cherrie recommended that we should stay next time at the sister property Japamala. She also encouraged us to write a trip advisor review. She was very personal and friendly. This was our third visit to Kuala LUmpur.

Our taxi arrived on time as ordered and brought us to KL Sentral, where we took the KLIA Ekspress to the airport and checked into our last hotel the Sama Sama KLIA was was known in an earlier time as the Pan Pacific KLIA.

The stay at the Villa Samadhi left us relaxed and calm.

We loved that every employee had time for us and was responsive to what we told them, i.e. showing us T-Rex or feeding the fish, recommending hot ginger tea for my cold and other things.

We also like that it was totally different from anything else we had ever experienced in a city location, the good food and the comfort of the room, plus the overall resort setting.

Next time we are going to stay one or two nights longer.


Would we stay again at this hotel in the future? YES!
Would we recommend this hotel to a friend? YES!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are preferred, but we enjoyed our room which overlooked embassies in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flyers007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Wonderful experience from start to finish. Stayed 2 days and enjoyed the property. Had the Lux Crib room with plunge pool, this is on an automatic timer for the jets to come on, the noise did not bother us, you could ask for it to be turned off. Great Happy Hour each night and you get to chat to the other guests. Short walk to KLCC one you know the way. Looked after by Cheri the manager through to the breakfast by the pool and the dinner there at night. If you wish for a few relaxing, chill out times away from the hustle and bustle of KL city this is the place to come. Will be back. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Every room is different, all very large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagcarriers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

A stone's throw from the Petronas Twin Towers, it is hard to imagine that Villa Samadhi is actually in the heart of KL. With its resort feel and very relaxed setting, it is certainly a great place to get away from it all, without going very far. Service was great, staff are certainly friendly and ready to help. Do have cocktails (free) at the rooftop bar which is a great way to end the day, or start your evening. I loved the very large room with fish tank (and 4 resident fishes), jacuzzi and great rain showers. The rooms are all non-smoking as the villa has a lot of old wood and bamboo.

Breakfast and dinner is served at Mandi-Mandi which is by the pool. The breakfast buffet offers a decent selection of cereal, fruits and carbs, and you order your hot food so that it comes freshly cooked. The fresh juices were very refreshing. The dinner menu was limited but offered local and Western fare.

My only gripe - there should be electrical sockets by the bed for charging phones (or at least I did not see any), unless I unplugged the bedside lamps.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitwanlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
2,423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
6,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
9,463 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
2.6 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Samadhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Samadhi

Property: Villa Samadhi
Address: No. 8, Pesiaran Madge | off Jalan Madge, Kuala Lumpur 55000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#14 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Samadhi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best described as Kuala Lumpur's ultimate treat to nest in. This ravishing villa-in-a-room boutique hotel is one-of-a-kind in the capital city. Tucked within an upscale locale just 10 minutes drive from town, Villa Samadhi becomes an immediately accessible respite to restore soul into one’s exhausted self. Its collection of 21 contemporary Asian-inspired rooms, with each spanning from 600 square-foot to over 2000 square-feet of living spaces are accented with a collage of elements to create a raw yet sophisticated Asian dwelling. Discreetly recede from street view, the most distinguishing feature of Villa Samadhi is the massive, soaring grass thatched-roof that shouts 'Malaysia'. But most eye-catching is the mysterious-looking multi-layered thatched roof structure of the rooftop bar-lounge ‘Bumbung’ which is floating above all else. Open the bamboo-clad gate and the surprise is over, a facade in absolute russet harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Samadhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Samadhi Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing