We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All I want to say is "Awesome"!!”
Review of Villa Samadhi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Samadhi
Ranked #1 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All I want to say is "Awesome"!!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Wonderful villa in KL. The best getaway place to stay. All the staffs are very nice and friendly. The manager Cherie is a superwoman, she is superb energetic one! It's the dream team can help whatever you need whatever you want. The location is very nice, just 10 mins to the city centre. The place is quiet and high in privacy! Only thing I can say is "Everything are Awesome". I will no doubt to visit here again soon!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimyKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    127
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
56
584
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Situated in a calm district of KL, villa Samadhi is a true oasis in a hectic city.
Staff makes you feel at home, service-minded and helpful.
The rooms are spacious, maybe a little too dark. All amenities are present. The jacuzzi is very relaxing.
From the crib one can directly enter the relaxing swimmingpool.
Breakfast was ok. The hotel has other restaurants of which we visited Tamarind Springs (situated in the "jungle"), where we had a fantastic and romantic dinner.
Because we were on a late night flight back home Cherie allowed us a (very) late check-out.
When coming back to KL I would certainly go back to villa Samadhi

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khik Hoo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My friend and I decided to stay a night in Villa Samadhi because we fell in love with the photos of the place, and when we found a heavily-discounted deal, we booked immediately although our homes are barely 30 minutes from Villa Samadhi.

The villa is beautiful in photos, but when we arrived, the place wasn't as well-maintained as we expected. Dead branches from trees needed pruning, and the jugs providing free drinks by the pool was filled with many dead flies, and the staff didn't seem to bother about the flies when she showed us the jugs during our tour.

The villa is very well-hidden amongst the luxury condominiums around the area (part of the villa's Secret Retreats promise) so a quick phone call to reconfirm its exact location is advised.
The noise from speeding cars does ruin the ambiance of the villa, and it goes on even at night.

On another note, the attentive staff was very helpful, even bringing the pizza we ordered to our room. We weren't keen on driving out to have dinner because the traffic jam and the hunt a parking spot would be a nightmare. We had our breakfast in the villa's restaurant, Mandi-Mandi, but the food was bland and underseasoned.

The Crib room is indeed huge, definitely the biggest room we've ever stayed in. Even the ensuite bathroom (almost as big as the bedroom) could easily fit a small bed for an extra guest.

I do wish I've highlighted these issues when we were there, but we were too busy just trying to relax.

I was definitely a little disappointed in Villa Samadhi, but perhaps that's because we've stayed in a more beautiful, much cheaper villa tucked away in the lush Berumbun Forest (1.5 hours away from Kuala Lumpur, worth every minute) and have raised our bar.

The highlight of my trip was seeing the owner's happy and friendly dogs, although they were only confined to their pool-facing room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AgnesLYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We descended on Samadhi after a stay in the Cameron Highlands. While the villa was a feast for sore eyes, and the crib room for two, quite vast and all in Malay timber decor and muted lantern lights, our room had no balcony and this was disappointing, as the residence is not a high rise hotel so a balcony would not have broken the bank in terms of the architectural plan.

One other setback was that there was no phone to call for reception and you had to go down to the desk to ask the staff anything! Even late at night...

The staff were friendly enough - we loved Yanti the best who was always attentive and friendly, but Bou had some attitude depending what mood she was in. The manager was professional, and she was very kind to give us a luxury room after we checked out because it is their policy for guests to check out at 11am, instead of the usual 12pm, as our flight out was not due till 6 pm that day. Being able to stay in another suite and have a shower and keep cool was very welcome, but luckily it is not peak season.

As far as value goes it was an expensive place to stay. The food was delicious at the restaurant but a small lunch set us back 88 MR, and that was with no alcohol.

If I went to KL again, I would not stay there again, personally speaking. It was all a bit rushed we thought and not quite as Zen like an atmosphere as we would have liked. We would definitely return to The Majestic Hotel instead.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Myriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Truly a unique place in the middle of a busy city centre. A place for relaxation away from everything else. Quiet, tranquil, romantic and beautiful resort style stay. Ideal for a weekend getaway for locals and for tourists who wants to enjoy both the city scene but with a relaxing kind of stay after a hectic day shopping and touring.

It's near the Switzerland embassy and the entrance is at a junction. You might miss it because of its almost hidden entrance but look out for resort like trees and rooftops which are visible from the outside. We were ushered to a waiting area next to the pool with welcome drinks and magazines provided while the check-in paperwork is done. So we were pretty impressed by the service and hospitality from the beginning. The room we took (Luxe Crib) came with our own jacuzzi and few steps from the balcony leads you directly into the pool. Not ideal for young children. Bed was comfortable. The room package came with afternoon snacks and cocktail drinks. Was a bit disappointed with the afternoon snacks but since there were biscuits and TWG tea provided in the room already, we couldn't complain. Cocktail drinks in the evening were lovely too with sufficient choices.

Service was warm and friendly and since we mentioned we were celebrating our birthday early, the staff went to great length to decorate our room with rose petals and presented us with a slice of birthday cake. How sweet!

Breakfast was made to order from a menu with a small buffet spread. Just by the pool. Perfect end to our stay.

Worth every cent spent and would recommend it to anyone wanting a break in KL city. Awesome experience. Wouldn't mind going back to try out a more luxurious room.

Room Tip: If you want a room with direct access to the pool (literally just jumping into the pool from your ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jan1ce_csh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Even though we are from Kuala Lumpur, we didnt want to fly out of the country, and we checked in for 3 nights. Excellent service by the in-house Manager Cherie and the rest of the staff. On the 3rd night we dined on the island. It was the best experience my wife and I have ever had. The food was delicious. Don't forget to dine at Tamarind Hill. Another experience all together. We must say we did not feel like we were in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: All rooms have been thoroughly thought thru. Each rooms have different layouts, different sizes and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarrod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Villa Samadhi is indeed one of the very few places in the heart of KL, where you don’t feel like you’re in the big city at all. They have gone through great lengths to shield the villa from the city noise and pollution, thus it’s a great place even for KL residents like me to have a romantic weekend retreat. Parking was free so it was really convenient for us to drive into the city whenever we wanted, security was well taken care of as well thus we could really relax during our stay. There are even a few highly trained dogs that guard the area, and it was really fun playing around with them at the poolside.

The overall design is simplistic yet elegant; nothing feels cheap here. Upon checking in I was impressed by their hospitality and the paperwork was done swiftly and without hassle. I was told that each of the rooms have a different design, but I highly recommend getting the rooms that have direct access to the pool via the balcony. The view is great; even the experience of just dipping our feet in the pool while enjoying the night sky was worth every penny that we spent.

Besides the stay, you could make dinner reservations for their group of restaurants at the reception desk. They have the menus and the staff was really helpful if you have some plans to make the experience a special one for your partner.

In conclusion, Villa Samadhi is a great place for couples. For families with children however, it might not be that safe as the pool can be rather deep. Nevertheless, we will definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a quick weekend getaway in KL.

Room Tip: Highly recommend getting the rooms that have direct access to the pool via the balcony, better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sufen424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,683 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,799 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
7,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Samadhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Samadhi

Property: Villa Samadhi
Address: No. 8, Pesiaran Madge | off Jalan Madge, Kuala Lumpur 55000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#14 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Samadhi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best described as Kuala Lumpur's ultimate treat to nest in. This ravishing villa-in-a-room boutique hotel is one-of-a-kind in the capital city. Tucked within an upscale locale just 10 minutes drive from town, Villa Samadhi becomes an immediately accessible respite to restore soul into one’s exhausted self. Its collection of 21 contemporary Asian-inspired rooms, with each spanning from 600 square-foot to over 2000 square-feet of living spaces are accented with a collage of elements to create a raw yet sophisticated Asian dwelling. Discreetly recede from street view, the most distinguishing feature of Villa Samadhi is the massive, soaring grass thatched-roof that shouts 'Malaysia'. But most eye-catching is the mysterious-looking multi-layered thatched roof structure of the rooftop bar-lounge ‘Bumbung’ which is floating above all else. Open the bamboo-clad gate and the surprise is over, a facade in absolute russet harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Samadhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Samadhi Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing