We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet and great staff”
Review of Villa Samadhi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Samadhi
Ranked #1 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Loved it.
From the moment we got there and were offered a drink and a refreshing towel.

Everything that could be done to make us comfortable was done quietly and without being intrusive.

We swam in the pool and food and water miraculously appeared while we relaxed.

Lovely cool air con and a huge shower!

As other reviewers have said this is really a great choice if you want some peace and quiet in KL

If you dont indulge in the tea and preserved fruit cocktails that they make themselves you are a crazy person!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Bill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 830 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed between christmas and New year... we are not really city people but wanted a break on the way back to oz. This was wonderful. If you like quiet, attention to detail and friendly staff... this is the place for you.

Also all the added extras are free, like internet and laundry service.

Sorry it took so long to write this update... but honestly its the perfect little place..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

From the moment the gate rolls back to let you enter to Cherie waving you goodbye you are cared for in lots of little ways. We stayed in the crib which I think is one of the smaller rooms but with it's daubed and dressing area was plenty big enough. The bed was comfortable, the special teas and homemade biscuits welcome. The only thing we didn't like was the window to the loo but I think plans are afoot to change that. Breakfast was a la carte and interesting with a variety of choices from local nasi lemak to smoked cod with poached eggs. Everything was beautifully served. Another bonus was happy hour in the rooftop bar with cocktails which sound weird and tasted delicious. The villa is within walking distance of KLCC but you need to take your life in your hands crossing the roads! there's a metro station 10 minutes walk and access to the whole of KL. Staying here was like staying as a personal houseguest especially as there were only 4 others staying at the same time. only other thing which could help is a sample menu from each of the restaurants. We will certainly come again and wish Cherie and her team lots of success.

Room Tip: each room is different but facing the pool was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lasatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

If you are looking for a marvellous place to stay in Kuala Lumpur then this is THE place to stay!
It has recently been admitted to the Relais et Chateaux group, which is a huge accolade in itself, but they are not resting on their laurels as they going for perfection.
KL can be an extremely hectic city, thus the Villa Samadhi is an oasis of calm situated in the Embassy area of KL.
It has a unique for KL home feel and one it treated and spoilt by the staff who extremely accommodating. Here I should mention Cherie, the resident manager, who went the extra mile to make our stay perfect. She arranged a fabulous birthday dinner for ourselves but also for 6 extra guests which I invited at the last minute! She came to the rescue again to find a hotel for us in Langkawi - again all last minute.
The marvel of this hotel are the rooms. All huge, authentic wooden fixtures with very modern fittings like a magnificent bathroom with Jacuzzi and free internet throughout the hotel, not to mention free laundry service.
Extremely spacious and comfortable, from the bed to the balcony.
The pool area is a very relaxing place to be.
There are only a few rooms thus it is a cosy place to stay.
The food, both a superb breakfast and fine dinner is excellent - a great variety and well cooked and presented (in fact my complaint was that the portions were over generous!). The wine list needs to be improved.
Cherie was magnanimous enough to recommend some great restaurants in KL.
By European standards the price is very democratic and worth every cent.
As a tourist I loved it and the KL residents who I invited to Villa Samadhi were also very impressed.
The only thing I regret is leaving!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I made a confirmed booking with Villa Samadhi and paid the required deposit it was only by chance that i asked them if i could leave a bag with them the evening before my arrival that i found out that they would not accept my booking unless i paid another Rm900 (£180 not a small amount) for my stay using the said they had entered the wrong rate on the website,

Yet i had to wait to have the booking confirmed it was not a automatic booking so they must have known at the time that the rate was not correct or so they say.

However if i had wanted to make any changes or cancel this booking i would have been charged the full amount of my stay it was tied up so tight although i had a contract with them in the form of a confirmed booking it was okay for them to cancel my booking or make whatever changes they saw fit on their part.

This seems to be a common occurrence in Kula Lumpur if they think they can get more money for your room they will just dump you especially if they find out your from Europe or USA they really stick it on or if in my case its F1 week.

If i had not emailed them regarding my bag i would have turned up with my booking to be told either find somewhere else or pay up.

I would recommend to stay well away from this hotel as even a confirmed booking its not worth the paper its written on it means nothing to these people.


.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
12  Thank Ken-Salmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaSamadhiKL, Owner at Villa Samadhi, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

We fully understand and accept the guest's frustration and disappointment over his booking, however we would like to take this opportunity clarify exactly what transpired with respect to this situation. The guest made his reservation online through the website of an Online Travel Agent (OTA) that sells our property. After he had made his reservation online it was consequently discovered that an unknown 3rd party had in fact “hacked” into the Extranet system of the OTA and had fraudulently loaded incorrect rates for Villa Samadhi that are 10% of the value of our normal Published Rates. We immediately notified the OTA about this situation and an investigation was initiated.

It was further found that there had also been other reservations made with these fraudulent and incorrect rates within hours of them being illegally uploaded. A notice was also sent to the guest by the OTA with regards to the issue, and a full refund was made by the OTA under our instructions.

Under any circumstances had a problem occurred due an internal mistake of ours we would most certainly have honored the reservation. However these are unfortunately not normal circumstances as fraud has been committed and a breach of security took place. Due to the severity of the matter we have lodged reports with the Police who are currently conducting an investigation into this matter.

This is of course a very serious issue as it not only affects the reputation of Villa Samadhi but also inconvenienced our guests as is the case with this guest. We once again wish to reiterate that it was never our intention to upset or disappoint the guest in any way. We have always managed Villa Samadhi with the utmost integrity and it is very disappointing for us that this guest feels so let down by this unfortunate situation. We take this matter very seriously and are initiating legal action against the perpetrators.

Due to the fact that the “hacking” of the OTA’s Extranet system and the loading of the fraudulent rates is completely out of our control, we are unfortunately not in a position to honor the reservations that were made under these circumstances. We wish to apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused the guest, but please understand that the fact of the matter is, this situation was completely out of our control.

Sincerely,
Villa Samadhi Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Some girlfriends and I decided to take a weekend break at Villa Samandhi in October 2011. To sum the stay up, we had some good and bad experiences here. You cannot fault the service. I arrived a little earlier than the scheduled check-in time and the room was not ready, but was promptly invited to relax by the pool while they prepared the room. Once the room was ready, it was really nice to see that they had taken the initiative to prepare the extra bed, as well as provide an extra set of toiletries in our room.

The only thing that marred the stay was 2 things:

1. Their constant reminding that smoking was not allowed in the rooms or room balconies. While I applaud this policy, the constant reminders (I counted 4 in total) for our one night stay felt a bit like policing.

2. Our plunge pool was quite dirty, there was some sediment on the pool floor, which prevented us from using it all together.

Overall, a nice getaway destination with great attention to detail; if they cleaned the pool and toned down the enforcing of their hotel rules it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank myWei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Villa Samadhi is a wonderful retreat.

I use the retreat word because it's not an hotel, it's not a set of villas, it's not a B&B..it's Samadhi retreat.

The entire experience was great.

We loved the service, the attention to details, the design of the rooms (we stayed in room 18 while our friends were in room 21) and the entire decor.
Cherie, the manager, and her staff were very attentive and helped us with restaurant bookings, transportation etc.

We preferred the bathroom of room 21, with much more natural light, but we loved the pool view and daybed of our room.

Breakfast was included in the package and was very good.
We also had lunch at the villa the first day, the quality of the food and the service were excellent while the price very reasonable.

The pool area is a slice of paradise.
Luscious, relaxing, quiet..

We also had drinks in the bar at the 2nd floor (FYI, during the happy hour only the first cocktail is free) and it was a great warm up for the dinner to come (we went to NEO Tamarind, another wonderful experience).

Since all the restaurants that we went (NEO and Treetop) were part of the same group, all the transports were for free, very nice indeed.


A couple of notes:

If you like the bedroom cold make sure you leave the key to reception and ask them to insert the card in the room one hour before your return since the AC switches off when the key card is not inserted.

The lack of light in the bathroom made it hard to get ready to go out, a make up mirror would be a great addition.

Not sure why the jacuzzi in the rooms are active only at specific hours of the day, I suppose it's like that to try to be energy conscious, but in that case I would add a timer that switches it off after a while and let the guest decide when to have a bath and not the opposite..we never managed to be in the room at the right time..

These are very minor points on an otherwise fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Room 21 is facing the garden, it's much brighter than room 18 and we did prefer the bathroom of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xavier__Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
2,849 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.6 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
7,229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
9,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Samadhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Samadhi

Address: No. 8, Pesiaran Madge | off Jalan Madge, Kuala Lumpur 55000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#14 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $166 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Samadhi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best described as Kuala Lumpur's ultimate treat to nest in. This ravishing villa-in-a-room boutique hotel is one-of-a-kind in the capital city. Tucked within an upscale locale just 10 minutes drive from town, Villa Samadhi becomes an immediately accessible respite to restore soul into one’s exhausted self. Its collection of 21 contemporary Asian-inspired rooms, with each spanning from 600 square-foot to over 2000 square-feet of living spaces are accented with a collage of elements to create a raw yet sophisticated Asian dwelling. Discreetly recede from street view, the most distinguishing feature of Villa Samadhi is the massive, soaring grass thatched-roof that shouts 'Malaysia'. But most eye-catching is the mysterious-looking multi-layered thatched roof structure of the rooftop bar-lounge ‘Bumbung’ which is floating above all else. Open the bamboo-clad gate and the surprise is over, a facade in absolute russet harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Samadhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Samadhi Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing